We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, nice rooms, too small for singles” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Cullen

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
153 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Great location, nice rooms, too small for singles”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2011

Like other Art Hotels the rooms are beautifully appointed, and this one in the heart of Prahran is a great location for shopping/restaurants. We stayed there as they offer rooms w 2 single beds, but they are too small for this. The beds were very close together w one up against the glass screen of the toilet/bathroom. You would want to be very close to the person you are sharing with.
Fine for couple sharing a bed. But the glass screens of bathroom don't leave a lot to the imagination.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thebrewerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thanks for giving us a review!
We are very lucky to be located in the heart of Prahran and be able to offer our guests a true local Melbourne experience.
We do offer a few rooms with a couple of single beds, however for a few extra dollars we also offer twin rooms with two queen size beds which might be more suitable configuration for you.
Thanks again, and look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,032 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    595
    302
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
111
415
94
252
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Key West, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2011

We had a night at the Cullen during a family get together. The service and friendliness from the front desk at arrival to check out was excellent. The rooms have a great feel to them and the location is great, close to public transport, great cafes and restaurants, as well as the great shopping along Chapel Street. I would highly recommend a stay here. Great for both work and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5weekTravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thanks for your great review!
Fantastic to hear the team at the front desk took great care of you. They are a pretty fun bunch to deal with, and are always up for a chat!
Thanks for making our Hotel the place for your family get together, and hopefully see you all soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2011

My partner and I have stayed here several times when I come to Melbourne. We always try to go for different places as I come to Melbourne every 2 months, however, as a result of our fantastic first visit to the Cullen in 2010 I have booked there every time since. The staff were well presented, the rooms were immaculate and the location was perfect. Our favourite stay was in the penthouse, the apartment was roomy and had an amazing terrace balcony with an even better view ! I could not fault this hotel, however others might find the bathroom doors an issue, as they are basically transparent. Nevertheless thumbs up to the art series hotels !

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sydneylover89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
It is always great to hear from our regular guests. We really appreciate what you tell us, and always try to make every stay a standout.
I have to thank our amazing housekeeping and maintenance teams for the upkeep and presentation of our Hotel. We are coming up to our 2nd birthday, and the Hotel is looking as good (if not better!) as the first day we opened.
Thanks again – and I’m sure we will see you soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
164 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

You cannot fault the location. It's near the corner of Commercial and Chapel Streets, Prahran, and directly across from the markets. Lots of cafes, clothing stores, coffee shops, bars, supermarkets and trams going in all different directions.
The staff at the hotel are very accommodating. The room was clean, furnishings up to date. And a wonderful surprise - a collection of books on various Australian artists.

However there are some not so great surprises about this accommodation. The television is on a swivel (wall) base on the same wall as the lounge. So the lounge has to be moved if you want to sit there and watch television. Next, internet was $3 an hour. And the big surprise was at check-in - $100 a day is held against your credit card and released up to 5 working days at the end of your visit. If you can get over these minor issues this is a great place to stay just out of the city of Melbourne.

For coffee lovers - there is a free trade coffee stall right inside the markets opposite. Seriously good coffee (and heaters directly above the seating area)! And at night we found an excellent Modern Thai restaurant on the opposite side of Commerical Road almost up to the intersection with Chapel St.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mayaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We love being located in Prahran!
It is such a local area, with everything that makes our city what it is; art galleries, amazing coffee, shopping….and only a stone’s throw from Melbourne CBD (or 8min Tram ride!).
Like most Hotels, we do a pre-authorization on guest’s credit cards on arrival. This is released on departure if you use the same card to pay. However if you do use a different payment method it can take 3-5 working days to release.
We appreciate your review, and hopefully see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Very funky hotel - with all the added luxuries - porter service and airport limos. These guys are one classy bunch. The art work on the walls is fresh and the rooms surpassed our expectations! We will definately be back

Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank danielm606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
Thanks for the short and sweet review!
Thrilled you loved the stay – can’t wait to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

Great hotel with beautiful big bed and bath. Perfect place to go back to after a chilly winter's day in Melbourne. Friendly staff. Perfect location. The artwork all by Adam Cullen made for a vibrant surrounding - very cool.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rara90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 August 2011
We love that you loved it!

Adam Cullen’s work is pretty bold and is amazing to be surrounded with everyday. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great footy, shopping & catch up play week and as always, the Cullen did not disappoint.
Exceptional staff, exceptional and super comfortable suites and the most divine beds & pillows known to human kind.

Such a fantastic vibe and ideal location for a weekend/week or month!

Highly recommend the Cullen - to fussy pots even.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karts09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#15 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,971 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,164 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#26 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing