We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this boutique hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2011

The staff was professional and helpful. Check-in was fast and easy. The suite we stayed in was very spacious with COMFY BEDS!....And our room was very quiet....plus fun, artful, modern decor. We enjoyed a quick bite and coffee in the Bistro off the lobby, but the Prahran Market is just across the street and worth at least a walk through.....a giant market place with all the foodstuff you could want. The property is in an artsy area and out of downtown (and the traffic) which is what we love about the location. The view from our room wasn't much to look at, but the room is so lovely we really were not at the window. The hotel is close to the bus stop or the front desk will get you a cab if you prefer. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

927 - 933 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2011

The Cullen Hotel is in a perfect location very close to public transport, shops, supermarkets, Prahran Market, Jam Factory. Most friendly hotel staff members, plenty of restaurants nearby, some magnificient city and sunset views from room balconies.
Please make bookings with the Cullen Hotel for your future stays

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuffy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2011

My partner and I spent a Saturday night here last month in a Deluxe Studio Suite and wished it could have been longer. The room was great. Big comfy bed, awesome selection of nibbles & drinks, books & magazines. The TV was well positioned for in-bed viewing and finally .... the correct aspect ratio on a widescreen! Yay to the Cullen! Only minus mark would have been the too-soft pillows.

PS For the first time ever I locked myself out of the room wearing just underwear in the middle of the night and the staff were very sweet.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldo123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Stayed here in a first floor room on a Saturday night in February for a birthday party on the top level. Immense views across the city from the top floor and roof terrace, especially when the sun was setting. Whilst the views from the room where not so hot this is to be expected given the excellent location.

Fantastic value for money, would be at least triple what we paid for the same location and quality and spaciousness of the room in London. Art work both in the rooms and communal areas, including the cows, was immense.

Slight issue with the surliness of one of the reception staff when we first checked in, although someone else had booked our room for us. The rest of the staff were helpful and friendly.

Not sure if I would want a room near the top floor when there is a party going on, although the party we went to was particularly good with a number of very lively attendees.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nagasaki74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

My husband and I spent 6 nights in total at The Cullen - we liked it so much we went back for more! The staff were all so friendly and helpful and we loved the rooms. The hotel is conveniently located near Chapel Street and is close to a tram stop that will take you everywhere else. More than just your average hotel stay. An all round great experience - we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LouW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Our family recently stayed for a long weekend 4 nights. We have 2 daughters, aged 9 and 11 - they shared the 2nd bed. The room has 2 flat screen tv's which came in handy at times. Great location readily accessible to Prahran markets. Not alot of cookware in the room but enough to make bacon and eggs for breakfast. Bathroom was quite small with limited storage - a bit too clever with the lighting -the light comes on in the bathroom as soon as the sensor detects movement. As the room is enclosed by glass it was a bit annoying when the girls went to the bathroom during the night, lighting up the room. We would definitely return, we loved the whole feel of the place and the efforts they make to offer bicycles for hire and funky little cars are available to guests too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank killiansonthemove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thanks for your review!
Great to hear your family long weekend was enjoyable.
The famous Prahran Markets are located just across from the Hotel, and is a great place to go and explore. A lot of our guests buy some amazing food (and wine!) from there to enjoy in their rooms.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2011

Like other Art Hotels the rooms are beautifully appointed, and this one in the heart of Prahran is a great location for shopping/restaurants. We stayed there as they offer rooms w 2 single beds, but they are too small for this. The beds were very close together w one up against the glass screen of the toilet/bathroom. You would want to be very close to the person you are sharing with.
Fine for couple sharing a bed. But the glass screens of bathroom don't leave a lot to the imagination.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thebrewerswife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2011

Thanks for giving us a review!
We are very lucky to be located in the heart of Prahran and be able to offer our guests a true local Melbourne experience.
We do offer a few rooms with a couple of single beds, however for a few extra dollars we also offer twin rooms with two queen size beds which might be more suitable configuration for you.
Thanks again, and look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,573 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £103 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing