We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My expectations were a bit high....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My expectations were a bit high....”
Reviewed 29 January 2012

As it was voted one of the trendiest hotels in Australia by Tripadvisor my expectations were quite high before we got there.
Pros: -
Check in was good.
Location is great near train station, tranms, cafe and shops.
Very comfortable beds.
Loved the shower.

Cons:-
The frosted glass of the bathroom did not provide any privacy for a group of 3 that were staying. You could hear everything.
The bathroom door made a loud noise every time it was shut. We requested this to be looked at and was advised that maintenance was there that day, however after coming back after a day out the door was still the same and we were not advised what the outcome was from maintenance.
We had requested a room on a higher level as I am a light sleeper and didn't want to be woken by the trams that pass in front. At check in we were advised that the room on the higher level was "not up to their standards" and had to be recleaned? We ended up with a room on the second level.

For the amount of money that it cost per night I expected a bit more. I would not be staying again.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paras81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Paras81,

It is true that two years in a row we have been voted the Trendiest Hotel in Asia Pacific by Tripadvisor, and I agree that with a title such as this comes a high expectation of service and facility. I'm sorry to hear that on this visit your expectations were not met.

I will certainly investigate the issue you had with our Maintenance department, we at The Cullen take the maintenance of the property very seriously and I can not imagine why your bathroom door was not repaired. Please accept my apologies and I hope the noise did not unduly affect your rest.

Regarding your requested room, while we aim to meet every guest request in room allocation, this can not always be guaranteed. We will never allow a guest to check-in to a room unless the cleanliness does meet our high standards, incorporating double inspections and random spot checks to ensure this happens. It is possible that on the day you arrived, your allocated room required additional cleaning and extra time to prepare it for arrival. Once again I apologise for this unfortunate outcome.

Im certainly glad you enjoyed our location in the vibrant Prahran and woke up to a refreshing and energising shower. The Cullen was the first of the Art Series Hotels to be built and I am pleased that we continued the same shower specifications accross the group after much positive feedback at opening.

Thank you for your review,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    308
    87
    25
    25
See reviews for
121
446
107
276
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here between Christmas and New Years, and it was surprisingly quiet. The hotel is very slick, but also very comfortable (especially the bed). The kitchenette in the room is a bonus - although watch out - if your window is open you mind find pigeons trying to join you for breakfast! I closed it just in time but if I'd been a few seconds later he would have wandered in (the window only opens a few inches but there is no flywire).

As others have mentioned, the bathroom walls are frosted glass, which doesn't leave much to the imagination, so you'll want to be on comfortable terms with your roommate.

We ate at the dumpling bar (good but expensive) once, but the rest of the time we ate on Chapel St (so much to choose from). The hotel is also a 15 minute walk from the Astor Theatre, which is well worth a visit for that true vintage cinema experience.

It's in a great location - right near tram stops that can take you to the city, or St Kilda, or even Richmond.

Staff weren't the friendliest people in the world but hey, maybe it was because we checked in on Boxing Day (I know how tired we were!). They were very efficient and happy for us to leave our luggage on the day we checked out.

Overall, incredible value for money (especially if you book through wotif).

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieTucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hi Rosie,

Im so glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for such a comprehensive review. It certainly sounds like you made the most of your time in Melbourne, even catching a movie at the Astor, a local favourite, and dining in Hu Tong.

Its great to hear you got out and experienced the local restaurants and bars. Chapel Street, as you have noticed, is full of eateries and offers something for every taste. Our location also lends us to many tram lines, offering easy access to the surrounding suburbs and CBD.

I hope to see you back with us soon,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

Beautifully decorated, brand new furniture and nice room layout, bed to DIE for, very quiet rooms (at least the one we stayed in overlooking the back street) - nothing to reproach really; oh yes, one thing: the credit card surcharge for such a big bill seems quite inappropriate...i can buy a 15$ tram ticket with my credit card at the 7/11 free of charge, but have to pay $30 credit card surcharge for a 800$ bill? really??....

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hespee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear Hespee,

Thank you for your review.

It seems like we ticked every box for you. Searching for a hotel can be a daunting experience, not knowing whether you will be comfortable in the place you rest your head. Im glad we were able to provide everything you were looking for in your accommodation.

The credit card surcharge is becoming commonplace in hotels accross Australia. While we do have a surcharge, there is always the option of cash or Eftpos on check-out, or direct deposit for guests who wish to pre-pay and avoid the fee. All our staff are more than happy to discuss these options with you for next time, please feel free to give us a call.

I hope to welcome you back to The Cullen soon,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We had the pleasure of staying at The Cullen for 5 nights, and found it to be the perfect hotel for an inner city stay. The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgeable about places to eat and visit, hence we ate out at some excellent restaurants, and drank at some amazing bars!
The market across the road is well worth a visit, and the rooms were beautifully maintained and lovely to come back to after days shopping/sightseeing. The art was a fantastic point of difference, and goes to making it a memorable place to stay. We would definitely return here.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor with a balcony and a great view - I can recommend this!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vavoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hi Vavoon,

5 nights in Melbourne! Sounds like you did have the 'perfect mini break'. Im glad to hear you made use of the Prahran Market accross the road, as one of Melbourne's oldest markets it is an amazing place to find great cheeses, dips, bread, meat and fruit. I hope you filled up the fridge, opened a bottle of wine and nibbled cheeses on the balcony while the sun set over the city, after all thats what we designed the hotel to be able to do.

Our staff are encouraged to get out and experience the local area, and as you have seen, are very knowledgeable when it comes to our neighbouring restaurants and bars. There is so much to see in ever changing Prahran, its a wonder they keep up!

I look forward to seeing you next time you visit Australia,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

This is a very trendy hotel. The decor in the room is perfect. Great price and the best sleep I have ever had. The bed was amazing and the most outstanding pillows ever. No other hotel could compete with this perfection for the price.

Room Tip: Any room is good, the higher the price the more space but beds and bathrooms are exceptional in all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShaneWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear PoeticPrince,

Thank you for your review. We put a lot of time and effort into designing our mattresses, linen and pillows, it pleases me to hear it has paid off. All bedding and linen in the Art Of Sleep range is available for sale through our hotels, please feel free to contact me for prices and availability.

I hope to catch up with you next time you are with us,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

The Cullen is well located and very comfortable - I love the artwork and the staff are really first class! The room was well set out and I had a corner room so lot's of light - the mini bar was great!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Hi Mark,

Moving away from the traditional 'box hotel room', we have tried to offer something a little different. Some of our corner rooms offer two picture windows, flooding the room with natural light, or a balcony for that additional space. Im glad you got to experience and appreciate this feature.

Its great to hear you enjoyed your experience with the Cullen team. The staff appreciate our guests and look forward to meeting and chatting with new people. I'm sure they look forward to seeing you next time you are with us.

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We stayed here for one night for a wedding in Melbourne and it was fantastic. The room is very spacious, decor is very modern, bed is very comfy. Very clean, cool bathroom with tinted walls, loved how there was a kitchenette though we didn't need to use it. The big mirrors were a plus. Really odd paintings but that's the artist's work, we thought it looked really cute and very modern Australian.
We found the carpark area very packed so there was one time we had to park near a fire exit even though we didn't want to. To parallel park on the road is a nightmare as the area is extremely busy. Due to the size of the hotel there is no valet parking. Location wise - a short walk to the prahran markets and chapel street - were the reasons why we chose this hotel.

Room Tip: The standard rooms were good enough for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NinJ0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 10 February 2012
Dear NinJ0,

Thank you for your outstanding review, its seems a shame you were only with us for one night. The rooms have been designed with the guest in mind - glass bathrooms, kitchenette and artwork that creates an energetic atmosphere. I'm glad you appreciated these features and we were able to make your stay comfortable.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Cullen next time you are visiting,

Regards,

Matt Guy
Front Office Manager
The Cullen Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,087 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,554 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing