We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Cullen:”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The Cullen:”
Reviewed 31 March 2012

Hubby booked The Cullen as surprise Birthday treat ( it was a BIG birthday) - fabulous! We arrived late (after 11 pm) couldn't have asked for better service. Hubby had pre- booked room service so that we could at least eat after flight from Brizzy. Food arrived after we were installed in the room plus fab " Birthday Cake" - to be recommended - cup cake with wishes from Hotel.
Room great with everything needed including kitchenette - could not really ask for more and the art work was fab. One phone call to Housekeeping re lack of our preferred teabags and all sorted in the matter of minutes - all you expect from a five star hotel! I'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brissychook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Lucky you having your Hubby book and Surprise you like that! The Cullen Crew are glad to hear that we played a small part in making your birthday a Happy one. We hope to have you back again soon.
Cheers,
Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,091 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    649
    307
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
119
436
100
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

My employer held a small conference at The Cullen and approximately 10 of the team stayed in the hotel overnight. The bed was excellent, the lush pillows were a topic of conversation over coffee the next morning and all of the Cullen team were brilliant. The layout of the room was great for the best use of light and art. Our conference was held on the rooftop and unfortunately noise was an issue. However, the Cullen team responded quickly with a solution (a microphone!). The catering from the restaurant was great and level of cleanliness was high.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FelineBred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 11 April 2012
Thank you for a glowing review! The rooftop does certainly lend itself well for a Conference space to get some creative juices flowing with the views over the city. Good to read that a good nights rest on the pillows made for a topic of conversation. We do actually sell the pillows and are happy to send you some details, give us a call anytime.
Look forward to having you all back again soon for another Conference.
Cheers,
Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Each room is decorated with Cullen Art, books of his art and is fitted out like a studio apartment. You feel so welcomed in the units straight away as there a sense of trust from the hotels to put nice furniture, bedding and art to accomodate guests, rather than your stock standard hotel setting. If you are looking for a wonderful weekend away, I'd suggest a weekend at the Cullen.

My partner and I snuggled up with a bottle of champagne (from the mini bar) and some microwave popcorn (mini bar and cooked in units microwave) and watched a movie on the night in, then headed down stairs to the funky cocktail bar with yummy food watching the night life of Pahran walk by.

The Hotel is a five minute walk to the train station and not far from CBD, you are right in the middle of everything in Pahran though as the Markets are close by and there is so many lovely cafes and restaurants to visit.

There is a Gym upstairs and the hotel is well serviced to accomodate any business needs. I would reccomend this hotel to everyone! In fact, I did... Two friends were visiting from Paris and I got them to stay there and they just loved it.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WhiskeyHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MattGuy, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 3 April 2012
Sounds like a great way to spend the night - a movie and a quiet drink, and you are right about the wanderings of the locals up and down Commercial Road, they can often be a sight to see. Thanks for your in-depth review, I'm so glad we were able to provide everything you were after. I look forward to meeting you next time.

Regards,

Matt
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My daughter and I spent a fantastic weekend in Melbourne staying at The Cullen. We had a car and found the location extremely convenient and accessable. Being opposite the Prahan markets was a bonus and one of the reasons we chose this hotel. Although not prior fans of Cullen we appreciated his art which made the hotel very vibrant. The room was extremely spacious except for the bathroom which was disappointing. We appreciated the two queen size beds and the blockout curtains which could be used for privacy. The room had a good selection of books on Australian art including Cullen. Our room was quiet and had a good outlook. The staff at the reception desk were extremely friendly and obliging. This hotel is a good choice for anyone who appreciates a boutique hotel with a focus on art and an informal, relaxed atmosphere. This was extremely good value and we felt welcome and comfortable. We also enjoyed a great lunch at the dumpling restaurant downstairs.

Room Tip: our room was very quiet at the end of the passage and a rear outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MardiAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 26 March 2012
You have certainly pointed out some of our best qualities Staff and Location! We agree we are very lucky to have the Prahran Markets right on our door step.
Lovely to read that you and your daughter appreciated Adams art work it definitely builds the foundations for the hotel. We hope you both come back to visit soon!
Cheers,
Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2012

Another great stay at the Cullen. It's still one of the few hotels that I look forward to staying at when I travel for work. The weather was terrible for the week that I was in Melb this time which made the job of getting taxis a nightmare. However, the staff went above and beyond in trying to get taxis and limos for myself and other guests.... even to the point of standing out in the rain to flag down any passing taxis! It will be sad to see Sam go over to the Blackman. Thanks for all your help.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SW_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
The Cullen crew definitely go out of their way to make sure that our guests get where they need to go - we understand our guests have places to be in the morning!
It will be sad to see Sam move over to The Blackman but great to know that our employees stay and look for progression within the Company.
We look forward to seeing you again soon. Cheers for the review, Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
296 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at The Cullen in early March. The Housekeeping was terrible - the second night we had to pull the beds back and remake them as only the top covers had been straightened out. Rooms were cleaned very late in the day which didn't suit us at all and one day they came in at 4pm and insisted they do the room while we were in it. One of our party didn't even get his room cleaned at all on one of the days. The overall cleaning was not up to scratch. Often "the famous" cushions were left on the floor where we had put them the night before! Certainly not 5 Star service.
Communication with the front desk was poor.
And the Bathrooms - agree with alot of other reviews - yes, you have to be good friends with your room mate! We of the older age group were not impressed! Might suit some people but not us.
I would like to point out that we did not choose this hotel as we were part of a group. We did not appreciate the art work - too much blood for us! Perhaps this hotel is more suited to younger people who don't notice the poor service.
No, we won't recommend or stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms are all very similar. Only went into one other room which had a different layout in that the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Takapuna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Whilst it is disappointing to read this review, Housekeeping do work tirelessly to turn every room around before our guests come back from their day out, we apologize this did not happen on your most recent stay.
Adams art work is viewed in many different lights, that's what makes it so interesting! Perhaps we could help out next time and arrange an art tour of Adams work with our in house curator for you, this helps to explain the meaning behind some of the pieces.
We welcome all guests to come and experience The Cullen but understand that everyone has different expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I have been regularly travelling to Melbourne for a few months and have trialled a few hotels for business trips - this is easily my favourite hotel - good facilities, great service, and addition of the Cullen paintings and images help - really makes me feel that I am in Melbourne. I arrived absolutely exhausted, checked in painlessly, a great little room with laptop friendly table (plus pleasantly distracting magazines and books), opened my computer and up popped the option for easy wifi connection (no having to ring reception to try to organise it...). Everything was as it should be, so I didn't have to worry about my accommodation. Great bed, good shower, Nice minibar, nice wee gym, really really convenient.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
We all know how important Wifi is along with a great bed, shower, mini bar and most importantly Service when travelling on Business. I am glad to read that we ticked all the boxes for you on your stay with us. Adams art work does set the tone for the hotel and it is very Melbourne. Be sure to say hello next time you stay with us.
Cheers,
Alicia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 159 in Melbourne
2,038 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,677 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing