We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel - would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 June 2012

Stayed at the Cullen recently on a 2 night business trip. Great hotel. Nice rooms, clean, well equipped, great beds. Fantastic restaurant underneath for eat in or takeaway in room. Would stay again.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Maisy2107
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2012

Great to read that you liked the hotel! If you are travelling regularly for business you should touch base with our Business Development Manager and we can see if we can put some rates in place for you or sign up to our Priority Guest Program.
We do hope to have you staying here again and again.
Many Thanks,
Alicia and The Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

856 - 862 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2012

first ever review... i'm doing it because it really was a great hotel. if you're into art and want something a little more than your boring 4 walls this works for you. really glad we stayed here, good location for shopping on chapel street and easy to get around. can't wait to try their other hotels in melbourne. ticks all the boxes. AND my suggestion is to book via a hotel deal website rather than direct with the hotel we got a better deal from shopping around. enjoy.

Room Tip: we just got the studio and that was great for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ansiosies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Well we are glad to read that we were your first review - How nice!
You will have to go and check out the other hotels, they are in great locations too.
Look forward to seeing you back when you need another shoping trip.
Cheers,
Alicia and The Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Very affordable, boutique hotel in a very accessible location. Beds very comfortable, modern furnishings and transport close. Took ten days to get back my depoist but other than that highly recommended

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Love the photos... You have some good ones there for your collection! Strange about the deposit taking so long to come back onto your card, next time let us know and we can call your bank for you... anything to help out! Look forward to seeing you again.
Cheers,
Alicia and Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

We really enjoyed a couple of nights here. Fun rooms and well appointed. Great shower! The staff were great and happy to help on any detail to make the stay a happy one. The proximity of the hotel to Chapel St is immediate. I hope to stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rubyredshoes728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thanks for the feedback! Great to hear that the team made your stay an enjoyable one... Look forward to having you back here again soon.
Cheers,
Alicia and Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Recently I stayed at The Cullen on an emergency visit to Melbourne. My son was in a motor cycle accident and was at The Alfred. The staff were amazing and kind and offered me a special deal. The Cullen is in the hottest part of Melbourne with all the up and coming funky bars and restaurants in the neighbourhood. The hotel itself is comfy and right opposite the Prahran Markets which have the freshest food in Melbourne. This is now the ONLY hotel I stay in when visiting Melbourne for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Studio is fine if on your own or with close partner, however larger room might be better if your shy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank you for the feedback! We look forward to having you back here again soon - you are right about the markets, they are the best in Melbourne.
Cheers,
Alicia and the Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2012

The only higher-end option available in Melbourne's cool Prahran nabe, The Cullen wins by default. Lots of character, cute art (though the recycled art themes would probably be considered cloying in Europe or the US), and youthful vibe. The rooms were cute, the beds comfortable, and the bathrooms adequate.

However, the hotel clearly has gotten over-confident and doesn't pay attention to details. To wit:

1. Housekeeping left gear and food outside the rooms for way too long. We almost tripped over a vacuum cleaner that a maid left outside our room overnight.

2. The products in the minibar were expired; I bit into a cookie that was awful, only to discover the expiry date of November, 2011.

3. The gym (using crappy, non-standard equipment - continued pet peeve that hotels buy the cheapest gear instead of the best); the elliptical machine squeaked awfully and almost couldn't be used. Probably just needed WD40, but why was I the one to have to report it?

4. Expensive internet - $10/day for *each* device. My friend and I use our laptop and cell phones so have four devices; we had to call down for clunky, short-lasting codes for the other three devices, which they at least didn't charge us for upon request. From now, I will be removing a star from all reviews in which a hotel charges for internet. *Enough is enough*!

5. Rushed, hurried restaurant service. Clearly not paying attention to quality control on employee attitudes. Most employees were kind and polite, but not consistent. Also, upon checking in, a guy during his "first day here - I normally work at the other property" made mistakes in checking us in to the wrong room. It was resolved, but it's still annoying to hear the "I just started" excuse.

You can tell the Cullen is the only game in (this part of) town, as they act as if there's no competition. If the room wasn't as nice as it was the location wasn't as ideal for our purposes, we would have stayed elsewhere.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertGrunnah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback whilst I can assure you we try our best to live up to our guest expectations, It seems on this occasion we have missed the mark in some areas of your recent stay. I thank you for your feedback as we can only grow from here otherwise how we will learn.
It is a tough market out there and we certainly don't think we are the only competition.
Many Thanks,
Alicia and the Cullen Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Our check in was delivered with a personal touch (and we received a free upgrade without asking) and we were delighted with the overall service of the staff with just one exception, the night porter. Whilst I applaud his seriousness in all matters of security, when our hotel key card refused to work on entry late one evening, he was happy to watch us swipe our card several times (without success) as the rain continued to pour down. When he did finally let us in and was satisfied that we were actually staying at the hotel (after checking our photo ID) we did not expect a grand gesture of apology for the fact the key did not work, however he gave not even the slightest 'nod' of apology. Oh well.
The rooms are clean and well appointed (although perhaps they should vacuum under the bed once in a while). The rooms are a good size - the bathrooms are functional/practical (you're not there for the bathroom right?) and do go to the trouble of using the bed pillow options as the standard ones on the bed are super soft neck breakers!
The location is great - a leisurely stroll to the city (about 40 mins) but lots locally (Prahran Market is worth a visit). We will definitely stay here again or one of the other Art Series hotels, as we were impressed.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoriC2065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AliciaBrownCullen, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

We hope to have you back here again soon and make sure your key is working. Glad to read that you took up the offer of the pillow menu, there is a few to choose from. We like to make sure our guests have a comfortable stay.
The markets are great and almost a sin not to visit them being so close.
Thanks for the feedback,
Alicia and the Cullen Crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,181 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#30 of 161 in Melbourne
1,782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,585 reviews
Central Business District
Treasury On Collins
Treasury On Collins
#4 of 161 in Melbourne
746 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
1,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £90 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing