We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Funky Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is my second time to stay here at the Cullen Hotel. Rooms are decked out with cool modern art paintings and funky furniture. A great location, walking distance to great shops and cafes and easy to jump on a tram into Melbourne City. Lucky to have the Gramercy Bistro next to the hotel serving great food all day! Love this place.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jaynie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    648
    307
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
119
435
100
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I enjoyed my 5 days at the Cullen. The hotel is outside of Melbourne proper in Prahran, but there is public transit that stops just outside the hotel and brings you downtown. The rooms are spacious and airy. The staff is friendly and helpful.

While not downtown, the location is well located in Prahran, close to Greville Street and Chapel St. I chose to rent a bike for the week which I would recommend as there are bike lanes all over the city and it is a nice way of getting around.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed at The Cullen in Prahran with my daughter for two nights..This place is spotless,the room was immaculate so is everything else about the Hotel.I cannot speak highly enough of the staff,they are polite, professional and so friendly.
I love the location, there are some great places to eat in the area, Loved the artwork.Will definitely be booking again..

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 383lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Classy decor and very comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff too. Area around the hotel will suit the traveller with grungy tastes. Food in the Gramercy restaurant was great and not overpriced. The artwork through the hotel makes this an interesting stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScottT929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just got home after 3 nights at the Cullen in Prahran (Melbourne). My room was immaculate and very comfortable (I was traveling alone and booked the smallest, least expensive room). The desk staff are great, really helpful and knowledgable. They accommodated my request for an early check in after my long flight. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Prahran metro station, a couple of blocks from Chapel Street shopping, and less than a block from Prahran Market. Great neighborhood, great hotel, lots of bars, restaurants, and stores. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor was totally quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaileySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed in a deluxe spa apartment - fantastic. I would stay here again. The staff are very helpful, and accommodation. I'd steer away from the day spa though - not very experienced staff working there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed at The Cullen for our wedding. The atmosphere and feel of the hotel and the rooms is amazing! We had a room with a balcony and the views were amazing. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the restaurant had great service and amazing food!! We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleGalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,036 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,675 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing