We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely modern decor, very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 February 2013

I stayed in the Cullen for a couple of nights for a friends Birthday. I was happily surprised when I entered the hotel to see quite unexpected decor. It's very modern and quirky which was very refreshing. The rooms look fabulous and I think that bed was the most comfortable bed I've ever slept in!

The room had a large balcony, which saw city lights in the distance. The location is great if you're interested in shopping along the trendy Chapel Street area of Melbourne. Or if you are interested in going into the heart of the city, there is plenty of public transport in the area also.

I'd also like to note that the restaurant below the hotel (can't think what it is called now!), has fantastic food and I have actually gone back to eat there on occasions when I haven't been staying at the Cullen.

Definitely recommend this hotel if you can afford it - a little pricy - but for sure worth it!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank memoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,128)
There are newer reviews for Art Series - The Cullen
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

715 - 721 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

This is my second time to stay here at the Cullen Hotel. Rooms are decked out with cool modern art paintings and funky furniture. A great location, walking distance to great shops and cafes and easy to jump on a tram into Melbourne City. Lucky to have the Gramercy Bistro next to the hotel serving great food all day! Love this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jaynie1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

I enjoyed my 5 days at the Cullen. The hotel is outside of Melbourne proper in Prahran, but there is public transit that stops just outside the hotel and brings you downtown. The rooms are spacious and airy. The staff is friendly and helpful.

While not downtown, the location is well located in Prahran, close to Greville Street and Chapel St. I chose to rent a bike for the week which I would recommend as there are bike lanes all over the city and it is a nice way of getting around.

I would stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

I stayed at The Cullen in Prahran with my daughter for two nights..This place is spotless,the room was immaculate so is everything else about the Hotel.I cannot speak highly enough of the staff,they are polite, professional and so friendly.
I love the location, there are some great places to eat in the area, Loved the artwork.Will definitely be booking again..

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 383lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Classy decor and very comfortable rooms. Very helpful staff too. Area around the hotel will suit the traveller with grungy tastes. Food in the Gramercy restaurant was great and not overpriced. The artwork through the hotel makes this an interesting stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottT929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Just got home after 3 nights at the Cullen in Prahran (Melbourne). My room was immaculate and very comfortable (I was traveling alone and booked the smallest, least expensive room). The desk staff are great, really helpful and knowledgable. They accommodated my request for an early check in after my long flight. The hotel is about 2 blocks from the Prahran metro station, a couple of blocks from Chapel Street shopping, and less than a block from Prahran Market. Great neighborhood, great hotel, lots of bars, restaurants, and stores. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: My room on the 4th floor was totally quiet.
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaileySF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Stayed in a deluxe spa apartment - fantastic. I would stay here again. The staff are very helpful, and accommodation. I'd steer away from the day spa though - not very experienced staff working there.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JessP0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 160 in Melbourne
2,106 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 160 in Melbourne
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 160 in Melbourne
5,627 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 160 in Melbourne
1,099 reviews
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £96 - £211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing