We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic arty Melbourne gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This was a fantastically Melbourne hotel, modern art on the walls by Adam Cullen, friendly staff and a stones throw from the vibrant Chapel Street. The rooms were a generous size and we were luck enough to stay on the 5th floor overlooking a wonderful old building.

Room Tip: Try to get a end room either overlooking the park or parallel to the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lana_Banana79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 5 October 2013

Great hotel for the business and leisure traveler. A short cab ride to downtown and at night , great shoping just minutes away from the hotel. Room product was nice with the art work and I loved the Hotel Chinease restaurant . GET THE DUMPLINGS you cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Ask for a room or pay the upgrade for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Great rooms in this small place with original decoration. Service is friendly, good location. Rent a bike, rent a scooter or rent a Smart-for-two or even a Porsche. There is an excellent Cantonese restaurant on location as well as a pub-style eatery with good breakfast if you don't want to cook it yourself in your room (everything is there in the kitchenette). A nice alternative to the rather austere CBD area and still at reasonable distance.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FreekB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed at the Cullen for business and having previously lived in the area requested a quiet room
away from the main road. Check in was swift and I was allocated room 504. I did notice a humming noise coming through the wall of an adjacent room but thought it may just be a fridge etc. The noise was continuous so much so that at 1 am I went and spoke to the duty night manager. He seemed a little bit taken back by my noise claim, but would send a staff member to investigate. The staff member duly arrived and confirmed the noise was quite noticeable. I then moved to room 407 which was quieter, however I did have to request that soap scum be properly cleaned from the shower cubicle the next morning. This was attended too within 24 hours. All the staff were helpful and friendly during my visit. My overall stay was okay but I do feel that the cursory cleaning could be improved, with proper chemicals to deal with soap scum built up in the shower areas. Also I noticed that the rooms are starting to show signs of general wear and tear e.g cupboards not opening or closing properly, marks on walls etc. If these somewhat minor things could be improved the hotel will continue to be a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid room 504 and ask for a room away from the street frontages. In Aug 2013 construction works tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunterkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

This was my second stay at an Art Series Hotel, and like my first stay at The Blackman it did not disappoint.

We were able to check in a bit before 2pm which was great as we arrived on a Sunday which I'm sure is a huge day for people checking out from their weekend stays. We stayed in a Studio Suite, on level 2 overlooking the park.

The Rooms at The Cullen are superbly appointed with modern fittings and fixtures,and the rooms are properly clean (no dust bunnies hiding in this hotel).Even the lower end room have bathrobes and slippers and the huge Art Series Signature beds which are the most comfortable beds ever! The sheets are also a lovey high thread count and I think the pillows and doona might even be feather too. The curtains and really thick and heavy and do a great job of blocking out the morning sun so you can sleep in or have an afternoon nap.

The Studio Suite has a great little kitchenette with a few pots and pans hot plate and convection oven if you want to do a bit of cooking, but who really would with Chapel Street just a few meters up the road and the markets across the road?

The housekeeping staff at The Cullen were amazingly helpful, they re-stocked all the used toiletries every day (even the shower cap!) and were more than happy to bring up any additional items we needed, I got a bit addicted to one of the T2 teas (yes thats right no crappy catering blend at this hotel) and the housekeeping staff bought me up some extra tea, there were also numerous other lovely touches throughout the stay like making up our room when they noticed we had just popped out for lunch.

I can't wait for my next trip to Melbourne, I think I will have to try the Olsen next time. I can't see myself ever staying at any other hotels in Melbourne, this hotels are just the business!

Room Tip: The bathrooms are just frosted glass so I would only recommend this for fairly established couples t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bec B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at The Cullen for 4 nights to relax and unwind. The service was slick and professional. The Hotel itself was fun and modern and well thought out. The bathroom area could have been a little larger, but all in all very comfortable. We had never stayed in Prahran before and found plenty of good restaurants and shops within walking distance, the Prahran Markets are right across the road from the hotel and we love the fantastic variety and quality of the fresh produce available there.
The only negative to speak of is that there is new building being constructed in the side street adjacent the hotel which was a little noisy after about 7.30 am, but I think you may get a better room rate because of it!

Room Tip: The New construction is in Grattan St, ask for a room on the opposite side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mandawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

One night stay - single-bed suite
Booked through agent - $210.00 AUD total incl. breakfast
This hotel gets the important things right, as well as the fine details
Decor is very contemporary & edgy in keeping with its namesake artist, but very tastefully arranged & not overwhelming at all
Amenities are top-notch, & you will want for very little - a sure sign that this is a hotel you can make yourself at home. Check-in & check-out likewise
Mini-bar is reasonably priced, but still expensive considering there are convenience stores & supermarkets a short stroll away
Restaurants are well-appointed, & location is very convenient. Smart cars & bikes available for hire
Very highly recommended for a leisurely stay in Melbourne

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jyunkim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 162 in Melbourne
5,693 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £108 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing