We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nothing was to much trouble”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Nothing was to much trouble”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Neither my wife nor I could fault our stay at The Cullen; from the helpful staff for who no request was too much trouble to the location in the heart of Prahran to the wonderful rooms to its own vanilla scent... awesome
But the best evidence that we loved it, we have just booked for another night!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,049 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    610
    304
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
114
425
94
255
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

When I entered my rooms I was speechless. It was pure luxury. I was only disappointed that I wouldn't have more than one night here. Everything you could hope for is in your room.
And the bed defies explanation, it is the best I have ever experienced.
I for one look forward to another trip to Melbourne to just stay here.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

Recently relocating to Melbourne I had the great pleasure of staying at The Cullen for longer than I wish to publicly admit. What I will unreservedly say though, is that this place is a genuinely exciting hotel.
Firstly, a great deal of care has clearly gone into the appointments of the apartments. In fact there is even a service for purchasing brand new versions of the bedding used to take home with you and yes it is that good.
However, it’s the curiously hapless but charming characters of the Adam Cullen artworks throughout the entire hotel that is where the magic begins. This is to the effect that it is pleasantly indecipherable as to whether the hotel was designed for them or the other way round.
Complimenting this, the city skyline affably hung like an artwork itself outside my window. Being located in central Prahran, a window view is also most of what you will need of the city because Chapel St and virtually every conceivable amenity surrounds you too. Of course on the days you do wish to venture out, then the nearby train and tram stops will get you there with ease.
The final and most important praise should go to the staff. A more attentive and welcoming team you will be hard pressed to find. Ultimately it rests with staff to make the experience of a brilliant concept like this hotel enjoyable, so its success is as much a credit to them as it is to anything else.
Go ahead; drink this potion of wonderment and click the ‘Book’ button!

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Domenic T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

The location is great! 15 mins to city via tram can bring you to Melbourne attractions such as Shrine of Remembrance, shopping areas in city as well as State of Victoria Library! Neighbourhood has nice restaurants and supermarket. Definitely will back ...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smurffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

My family of four (including 2 kids of 11 and 3+) had an excellent 6 days stay in the hotel. The location, furnishing and facilities are great for a boutique hotel. Everything is well maintained and the hotel staff are wam and helpful. They made us feel at home. One of the staff Stephen, took the icing by adding several personal touches to our requests/queries. (e.g. ordering cake for my son's birthday)

The location is excellent. It is close to tram lines, walkable to Chapel street and next to tram lines going to City.

I tried the restaurants and the food/ambience is very good.

Overall, a great experience. I highly recommend the hotel to families.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chye Heng T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Hi Chye Heng T,

Thanks so much for your feedback. I glad your son enjoyed his birthday with us. Stephen is one our a greatest assets!! I will make sure to pass on your thanks!!

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2013

Another visit to Melbourne on business for me and the only place to stay is the Cullen. The reception staff went the extra mile and even provided a softer chair for use at the desk in the room as I was spending far too much time on the PC!
You need to go to Prahran market just for the experience and it is also very easy on the train to get to the CBD, had fun at the aquarium on my last day the sharks are just amazing
The beds are still to die for and sleep even after the jet-lag from the Uk comes easy
I will be returning earlier in the new year !

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

The Cullen adds a special flavor to staying in Melbourne. Fantastic artwork, unusual and tasteful decor, lovely staff and great service make it a wonderful place to stay. Thank you. I will be making it my regular place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perth_AustraliaCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,625 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,993 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,257 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing