We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and funky rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We normally stay at the Rialto Intercontinental in the city but wanted to try something different.
The location was great, loads of shops, cafe's and restaurants at the doorstep and also close to 2 of the main gyms (Goodlife and Fitness First). The cafe/bar at the hotel was quite good too for cheap drinks or coffee.
We had a small suite with a balcony overlooking the main street, love having a balcony as you can open the doors and get some fresh air flowing in, unlike most of the larger hotel chains where the air is stale and your eyes get dry and red. Room was quite large and really funky with an artistic twist from Adam Cullen, a famous Australian artist (hence the name art series - the cullen).
The only downside was the bathrooms, very small and a bit transparent, if you turn the light on at night you will wake your partner (or just using the bathroom will wake your partner) as the walls are made of dimmed glass.
The price over the weekend was a bit steep as well, hard to justify for the value.

The bed was great, good quality mattress and large size, however it was a bit noisy on Fri and Sat night from the bars across the street.

You can rent scooters, bicycles and smart cars too straight from reception too which is quite fun.

In sum; great funky hotel in a vibrant location but a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Linda,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall. Our beds are most certainly one of the main reasons people get a great nights sleep when they stay (you can also purchase them either from the hotel or the art series website).

While our bathrooms may not be to everyone's tastes I'm glad you enjoyed the overall space in the rooms.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the not to distant future.

Warm Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

582 - 588 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2014

Staff most welcoming - suite just perfect & big beds SO comfy.
Love the location, around corner from all that Chapel Street offers + trams.
Couldn't get enough Dumplings.
Restaurant downstairs great menu - just missed TV for watching Aust Open Tennis whilst enjoying drinks & tapas.

Room Tip: Discover the amazing rooftop deck with city views. A hidden secret.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hi Lorraine,

After working for the hotel for over 12 months I still find it hard to not eat ALL the dumplings!!

Glad you enjoyed all the hotel had to offer including some of our secret spots!!

Hope to see you again!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night on labor day long weekend. Dropped my bags off early and parked my car underground as I was attending a wedding.

Reception staff were very friendly and provided prompt efficient service. I received a wakeup call at 11am on the day of check out which I did not ask for, however this did not detract from my overall impression, I understand these things sometimes happen.

Room was spacious and clean, and the minibar had a good selection of items at good prices.

When I made the boooking online there was an e'upgrade section at the end of the booking and I requested a late check out of 6pm as i was flying out late. I received this which was a fantastic help.

A big thanks to the Cullen Crew for making my stay more then enjoyable, and a huge thanks for the bottle of wine and the personalized welcome card, nice touch guys !!!

Will stay again next time I'm in town.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Tarky86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Tarky86,

Wow! is certainly looks like you made the most of the Long weekend here!!

So happy that you enjoyed your time with us! I will ensure your comments get passed on to the team.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed for the 1st time and had a lovely room with our own private balcony. The only thing that let the room down was the cleanliness.

There were hairs on the couch and floor which was quite apparent. There were cobwebs on the inside of our balcony sliding door.

Otherwise, the room and the Art was awesome and of a high standard and the Service of the staff was great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STSurryHills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Had a fab long weekend at The Cullen. Reasonably priced, very helpful friendly staff and a beautiful room. Not the greatest towels in the world, but thats me being slightly nit-picky. Highly recommended, will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hesserino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hesserino,

So glad you enjoyed for stay with us over the long weekend. You will be glad to know that since your departure we have replaced all of our towels with brand new fluffy ones which are ore up to standard.

Can wait to have you back you you can give your verdict on them!!

All the best,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Booked into this great hotel by our company travel agent for an overnight business trip. Room was of a very high standard, with kitchenette, mini bar and all the items found in a well spec'd hotel. Only downside was my room was facing a construction site, but that's not really something the Cullen has control over and I am sure construction will be completed soon. I will be recommending The Cullen for future business trips.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lathe_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Lathe_12,

Thanks so much for your comments. My apologies for the construction site but thank you for your understanding, unfortunately this is not something we can control.

I am glad that this did not taint your stay with us and I hope you got to raid the mini bar while you were here!

Regards,

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

The wife and I visited Melbourne and usually stay in southbank (eg. crown, langham). We decided to check out something different this time and found The Cullen. The hotel is pretty funky with artwork all around. The rooms are really well done too with kitchenette nice furnishings and extremely comfortable bed. Only problem was the size of the bathroom and no bath. However, with the location you don't want to waste time having a bath anyway. The location is excellent across the road from Prahan market, easy 200m walk to Chapel street & all the shopping/entertainment and 500m to train station tram station out the front too makes getting places very easy. They also offer scooter and smart car hire to get out and about too but we ran out of time. I think our next trip to Melbs will definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mitch074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Hi Mitch074,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. I am glad that you had a chance to get out and explore the local area and the bath issue did not cause too much of a problem. Our beds are all custom made for the Cullen and are available for sale through the website if you ever wanted to take a little piece of the Cullen home with you.

I look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Ben

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,573 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,120 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#2 of 161 in Melbourne
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £103 - £201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing