We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“I love this place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

It's colourful and friendly and I find everything has just had that little bit of extra thought given to it to make their guest's stay perfect. Like....a piece of cake to greet you on your bed when you arrive with a hello note and the recipe. T2 teabags, a pillow preference choice, cool ideas of what to do when you are in town, transport info, restaurant options, friendly staff who never seem to be fazed with any request....the list goes on. The art studios are meticulously clean and I love the fun vibe of the rooms with their bold colours, funky art work and original space saving ideas. Love Love Love this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samgood72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Samgood72,

Thank you so much for your words or praise!!

I will make sure the whole team know how much you enjoyed the hotel!!

I hope to see you again soon!

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    304
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
114
425
94
254
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

Our check in time was 2pm. However we did not get to our room until 4:30pm. We were given 2 drink cards to keep us happy in the bar while we waited. But because we waited for such a long time we then approached staff to see how long the wait would be. After we had to wait some more they offered has free parking within their car park & late check out. We were finally given our room keys but only to find that when we got to our room they were still cleaning it! This is very unnerving, were they just lazy or was the room trashed from a previous guest? God I hoped it was cleaned properly!

We booked the Suite and I was horrified with the bathrooms. Just a bit of glass separating you from the room! Our view and balcony were also very dismal. We had a view of a new building being constructed & the balcony was so small it was uncomfortable to even be out there.

Glad to have been given a late check out time we decided to order room service for breakfast but surprise surprise no menu.
We then had hotel staff barging into our room to clean it as reception had notified them of our departure, even though we had not checked out as we were given a later check out time! Thankfully we were decent in towels and robes!!

At checkout the clerk then informs me I need to pay for the parking that was already offered to me for free.

Absolutely everything that could go wrong, did go wrong!
It was a waste of our time and money! We will never stay there again!!

Room Tip: We had a Suite which seemed like too much crammed into a small space. I would suggest trying the Jun...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Haylee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hayley M,

I sincerely apologise for your recent experience with us at the Cullen. This is certainly not the experience we want our guests to have while staying with us.

I have tried contacting you via phone however I beleive you prefer email. I have sent you an email following up on this review. My details are in the email should you wish to contact me about it.

thank you for your feedback.

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful hotel and room. Clever infrastructure and good options if you like to do your own meal.

The bathroom could be more private. Paid wifi is unacceptable nowadays. Location isn't the best, but transportation is easy.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tiago T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Hi Tiago,

Thanks for your review.

Im glad you enjoyed your stay overall.

I hope that we get to welcome you back soon

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

As in many boutique hotels, design is not always associated with comfort. Bed and pillow were very soft and bathroom with frosted glass walls (reduced privacy). The artworks spread through the halls and rooms give a special touch to the place. Prahran is a very nice neighborhood, close to downtown, full of bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bruno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Bruno D,

Thank you for coming to visit us!

our bathrooms are not to everyone tastes but im glad our artwork and location made up for this.

Warm Regards,

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

I arrived with some work colleagues very late after the last flight out of Sydney, so had to press a buzzer to get in. After a brief wait, a very friendly (and it was post midnight) and helpful member of staff opened the door and checked us in. I'd recently signed up for Priority Guest Rewards and the new membership card was waiting for me. The room was great with a view down into the street and plenty of room. Some interesting art on the wall - not my style (a headless dog?), but that's art... Great nights sleep in a very comfortable bed. Breakfast (after dealing with a grumpy waiter that didn't want to give me a big table - even though my colleagues were about to join me) was great, a la carte with a wide choice of dishes. At check out I asked the staff to print out some documents for me - absolutely no worries, which was nice and very helpful. A quick and easy checkout and we were off. I'd recommend this property and will likely stay again.

Room Tip: Sign up for a membership to Priority Guest Rewards before booking - you get an immediate discount on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natbrown75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I work in visual arts, so I really enjoy staying at art-themed hotels, and I have to say that this was one of the best ever. Melbourne is a very arts-oriented city, and The Cullen has completely integrated art into their experience. One artist is featured throughout the hotel with art even in the elevator. They have maps of nearby galleries, art books in the room, and a wonderful design aesthetic. The hotel is beautifully modern and stylish. They have a tiny gym (with graffiti!), friendly front desk staff, and a great location in the Prahan neighbourhood.

Although you have to take a tram to get to the centre of the city and the museums, I would recommend this neighbourhood. There are a number of funky and reasonable restaurants, and upscale shopping a few blocks away.

Before you book, do join the free hotel membership program and you can save money on your stay. I absolutely loved our three night stay here, and would love to stay longer the next time!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepcover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Deepcover,

thank you so much for your kind words, We pride our selves in setting us apart by providing a different experience in each of our hotels. the next time you are down you may want to try the Olsen or the Blackman who also have different artists who have attached their names and art to provide 3 different experiences.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon
Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire england
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for four nights and really enjoyed our stay. The room was fun and comfortable and the staff were really helpful and friendly. Our flight left in the evening and we were offered shower facilities with shampoo, towels etc. My only dislike was the bathroom. We stayed in a Junior Suite and the bathroom was tiny. This was not a big problem but I really didn't like the fact it was glass with only a short space between the bed and the toilet. Also the door was not floor to ceiling so definitely not private. The hotel is in an excellent position opposite Prahan Market and near the tram stop with plenty of good cafes and reataurants nearby.

Room Tip: Enquire about the bathroom. Some rooms have good city views. We had a large balcony but no sunshin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spencerj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ben K, Front Office Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Hi Spencerj,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Cullen. I'm glad the team were able to let you freshen up before you flight home. Our bathrooms are not to everyone's tastes, however I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and took advantage of the location of the hotel.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon

Ben
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Art Series - The Blackman
#14 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,992 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,250 reviews
Melbourne Parkview Hotel
#27 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing