We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like home, but better!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2010

The Cullen is a great hotel. Just about everything is perfect! The decor is warm and inviting, the bed comfortable, and the bathroom great. The kitchen facilities are excellent, and with its proximity to the Prahran Markets, there's no reason not to take full advantage of them.
The only thing I can possible complain about is that without another discount, I can't afford to stay here again :(

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trevar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Make sure to give a call next time you would like to stay to ensure we can give you the best possible deals!

Thanks again.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,042 - 1,048 of 1,135 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2010

This is a very cool hotel. The decor is very modern and Adam Cullen's colourful artworks dot the hotel common areas and rooms. My studio room squeezed a lot into a small space - functional bathroom and kitchenette with cooktop and oven, sofa, large screen tv and a small table/workspace with two chairs. The room was beautifully decorated. Broadband/wifi is free for half an hour - you are able to keep logging back-in - if this is too much trouble there is a payment option. My room service was very good and quick and there are two good restaurants on the ground floor. Staff were very helpful. Beds are super-comfortable. The hotel is a short walk to Chapel Street as well as the Prahran shops. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cloudycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Our interior designer had worked hard to ensure that our rooms were not only comfortable but also functional at the same time – and I am pleased that you enjoyed it!
We are really lucky to be in a great area of Melbourne, where guests can experience something a little different.

We look forward to your return visit.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2010

Loved The Cullen, we had a great time its been a long time since we had a holiday , enjoyed everything the Cullen had to offer. Great beds, staff, restaurants, Prahran shops at the door. Hop on the tram and see the sights of Melbourne without being right in the hustle and bustle of the city.

Had a laugh at Adam Cullen's art, maybe a bit much for those who prefer chinz and prints, we had reservations prior to our stay "maybe us Boomers were to uncool for The Cullen" not so staff are fabulous. Worse thing about our stay was having to leave.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ballaratian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

It’s always nice to know the worst thing about the Hotel is leaving…
We are very pleased that you loved the Hotel, and thrilled that you had fun and a bit of a laugh with Adam’s works.

Look forward to having you with us next time.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

I stayed here for a girl's weekend in Melbourne and didn't even want to leave the hotel. Adam Cullen's artwork was of course incredible & loved being surrounded by it all weekend. The room was very comfortable, the staff are lovely, welcoming & helpful, perfect location in Prahran, & the restaurant/bar downstairs is great. The only downside was that they had run out of their cute red bicycles so we didn't get to hire & try them out. Everything else was perfect. I will most definitely be coming back here, as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aylabns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2010

Thanks to the author for their review!

Thanks very much for staying with us and your kind review. Great to hear it was a fantastic girl’s weekend away!
Sorry about the bikes, they are pretty popular – next time we will have to reserve them for you.

We look forward to having you back with us real soon.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

My partner and I loved our stay at The Cullen. The rooms were modern and stylish and we loved the fact that there is so much art all around the hotel. Good facilities and even better location to all the shopping, restaurants and bars on Chapel Street. Definitely stay there again.

Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
Thank rpw_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thanks to the author for their review.

We really are pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Yes, there is a lot of art in the Hotel to absorb – 7 originals, 450 prints and even 2 cows!

Your right, our location is great with Chapel Street on our doorstop, the famous Prahran Markets across the road and only a 7 minute tram ride to the city!

Hope to see you again soon.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2010

A great hotel in a very good position for pubs and clubs,shopping and resturants.Very funky inside with the art work and decor.The staff where helpful, especially James who fixed up a few minor issues(great breakfast down stairs thank you). A great location to walk to any shopping,would recommend this hotel to all type of travelers.The beds where magnificent and different type of pillows are great. Rooms are a good size and no problem with the bathroom and frosted glass,could also watch TV from the shower.Will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jaffadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thanks to the author for their review.

I am very pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. James is one of our Guest Experience Managers, and I am happy he took care of you so well.

It’s great to hear you will be back, and we look forward to welcoming you again!


Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

Perfect Melbourne weekend. Hotel has a great vibe, the staff aren't suited up like drones, rooms are funky and the BED is AMAZING. Powerful shower too. Really impressed with the post-stay follow up, and even a reply to my comments! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carla_weid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2010

Thanks to the author for their review.

I am thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us, and really appreciate your comments.

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#12 of 162 in Melbourne
2,116 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#24 of 162 in Melbourne
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#14 of 162 in Melbourne
1,109 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,694 reviews
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 162 in Melbourne
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £109 - £221 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing