We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Cullen!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We were a bunch or ladies down from Sydney for a shopping weekend and we just loved this hotel.This hotel was simply beautiful. Josh and the boys on reception were gorgeous. The rooms were amazing with a great size fridge, perfect for all of the food bought from the markets across the road. Loved this hotel and would definately be back with the girls or family!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elmo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for your review.

With us just being just off Chapel Street, it is a great excuse for a girl’s weekend away shopping!
I’m thrilled that you had a fantastic stay and I’m happy that the staff (even myself…) took great care of you!

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,143)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,143 reviews

Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have stayed at the Cullen twice and will always go back on our trips to Melbourne. As well as being funky, modern and artistic, the service is exceptionally professional and the value is excellent. We generally believe that hotel food is to be avoided at all costs, but the Cullen has a buzzing cafe/restaurant which serves the opposite of boring hotel food.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for your review.

It is so nice to hear you are one of our return guests. It is always the highest compliment when our guests return to us.

We are very proud of both our restaurants, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food. We are also very excited because we have a brand new wine bar opening up at the Hotel next month as well!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My partner and I booked directly through the website (very easy to use and great to get a visual of the different room types) and got a great deal so even before we got there we were happy. But the real assets of this hotel are its people and its location. At the end of a mad week at work we arrived at the Cullen and even though our room wasn't ready, after less than 2 minutes chatting to Josh at reception we didn't care. Josh had us relaxed, at the bar and already switched into holiday mode. All the staff here were a cut above any other hotel we've experienced- all very charming, always present but very unobtrusive. The location of the hotel is the other big winner. Across the road from the markets, great eateries and shopping on your doorstep, and a short tram ride into the city- the sort of holiday experience you have is totally up to you. It's just as easy to escape, retreat, relax and recharge as it is to have an on the go shopping/eating/clubbing experience staying here. The quirky vibe of the hotel works well and the functionality and design of the rooms (we had a room with a balcony) facilitate either holiday type. Rooms are very quiet despite the fact that Commercial Road is so busy. The only downside for us was the design of the bathrooms (an opaque glass box in the corner of the room which although clean and functional, lacked privacy). But when a hotel goes out on a limb in terms of style and design like this one has you can't expect to love everything and it was definitely not a deal breaker for us given the success of all the other aspects of the hotel. We ate dinner at HuTong and had brunch at Terraces which are at the base of the hotel on Commercial Rd. Both were great (particularly the food at HuTong). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SydOzPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Wow, thank you very much for your review.

We are very pleased that the service from the Hotel & the location was one of the highlights of your stay. We are very lucky to be in such a great area, surround by great facilities.
We are even luckier to have a some fantastic staff that makes our guests feel welcome and relaxed.

Look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2010

The room was great fun - decorated in a really modern style, with really interesting art by Adam Cullen everywhere. There was a kitchenette, which was really stylish and well-equipped, but we didn't really have any use for it. The bathroom was a bit wierd - a frosted glass cube in the corner of the room - good job me and my friend knew each other pretty well, as it wasn't massively private! The i-pod dock alarm clock really impressed me too. Reception staff were REALLY friendly and helpful. Didn't try the restaurant, which served Asian cuisine. About 60-70$ from the airport by taxi, and you have to take the tram into town. Nice hotel in all though :-)

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bethan659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for their review.

With Adam Cullen as the Hotels inspiration, you can always expect a few surprises – including the cheeky bathroom walls. I am thrilled that you had a fantastic experience and the staff took great care of you.

We hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2010

I booked the Cullen online as a surprise for my husband's 50th birthday. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff who were personable and friendly. The room was spotlessly clean with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. A complimentary bottle of wine and bithday cookies was a much appreciated lovely touch. The hotel is very centrally located with a tram virtually at the door which takes you wherever you want to go. We will definately stay here again when we are in Melbourne and have already recommded it to all our friends.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shirefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for their review.

We are very happy that you decided to stay with us for your husband’s special occasion! I am very pleased he enjoyed his birthday.
Thank you also very much for your recommendation to your friends.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

I stayed at The Cullen for my visit to the Melbourne Art Fair.
It is a cool new style of hotel, with friendly young staff.
The lobby, halls and stylish rooms
feature the colourful and sometimes disquieting paintings
and lithographs of Australia's bad boy contemporary art,
the genial Adam Cullen.
I highly recommend The Cullen as a happy base in the heart of Melbourne's
hip Prahran/South Yarra district.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RorschachSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for their review.

The Art Series Hotel Group was one of the supporting partners of the Melbourne Art fair. We are so pleased that you stayed with us during this time!
We are even more pleased that you had a fantastic stay.

Look forward to having you back.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2010

A friend and I booked into the Cullen for four nights during August 2010. We booked a twin room and expected two single beds crammed into a small space - although being an art hotel, we figured they'd at least look nice.
We were so pleasantly surprised - everything about the Cullen was impressive! The room was enormous - two enormous Queen beds, separated by a great wardrobe, cooktop, sink, single drawer dishwasher - and a table that seats four.
Add to that the comfy sitting chair by the window, the brilliant stack of books, the slippers, the robes - and of course, a flatscreen TV at the end of BOTH beds! Oh, and don't forget the ipod docking station.
We also took the hotel's bikes for a spin, and rode down for a lovely brunch.
And not surprisingly, the hotel's artwork was superb.
We expected something nice - but this place ticked all of my boxes - comfy bed, nice linen, great shower, lovely staff. Would definitely stay again. [photos to come soon!]

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuliefromBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2010

Thank you to the author for their review.

Sounds like you had a great stay! It’s nice to hear you took our bikes out for a spin; it’s a great way to explore the quirky area of Prahran and beyond.
Thanks also for uploading some pictures of us for all to see – this is very much appreciated.

Look forward to seeing you on your next visit with us.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,140 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,572 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,118 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £104 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, MrandMrsSmith, Ctrip TA, Agoda, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing