We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charmless staff at cool hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Charmless staff at cool hotel”
Reviewed 7 September 2010

The hotel itself is very modern and the rooms are clean, contemporary and stylish.

On arrival at 10pm on a Saturday night all the way from the UK we were given room keys to our bedrooms, (we had booked the rooms months in advance). When we had eventually brought our own luggage up to the rooms (7 large suitcases as we travelled as a group of 3 adults and 4 children), we dicovered that one of the rooms was only 2 single beds instaed of 2 doubles. The receptionist then told us that the room we had ordederd had been given to someone else and that they would put a 'complimentary' roll away bed into the room and see what she could do tomorrow!! Not a great start!

The next day we waited to be informed of new arrangements but heard nothing so my husband went down to reception to find out what was going to happen. We were then told that we would be on different floors of the hotel unless we were all prepared to move (we had unpacked at this stage!)

To summarise the service that we received from the staff was poor and thier attitude was as if we were in the wrong. One young man did apologise for the inconvenience and after asking we were given free wifi for the week to recompense although at check out we were asked to pay for it!

This was our first time in Australia and we travelled with 4 children, at no time did any of the staff acknowledge or try and speak to the children. On this trip we stayed in 6 different locations all around the world and this was the only hotel where I would say that I would not stay again and felt utterly disappointed with after reading such 'rave' reviews on trip advisor.

Nb: Parking $20.00 per night.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lizi2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thanks to the author for their review.

I was disappointed to hear that your stay with us was not as expected. I am extremely apologetic in regards to not having your correct room type on arrival. This was obviously a mistake and I can understand the frustration this must have caused you.

It was also surprising to read that our team did not show you the greatest care and attention, as this is something that we take great pride in. I hope this did not completely upset your stay in Melbourne, and I hope you had a safe trip back to the UK.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,088 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    646
    307
    85
    25
    25
See reviews for
119
434
101
266
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2010

Recently my husband and I stayed at The Cullen Hotel in Prahan. It was great to stay somewhere different as we usually stay in a very expensive hotel in the city. The Cullen is in a good position, opposite The Prahan Market and just a short walk to Chapel Street. The whole place is bright and so colourful with all the amazing art work. Staff were very friendly too. We will cetainly return to The Cullen on our next visit to Melbourne.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gpthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thanks to the author for their review.

It is fantastic to hear you had a great stay with us. We are not your typical CBD 5 star Hotel, and I’m pleased that you enjoyed Adam’s work.

We look forward to having you back!

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 September 2010

This is one of the best small hotels you could ever stay at in Melbourne. The staff are fantastic, location is brilliant and the hotel itself feels like home. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RickM-Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 4 October 2010
Thanks to the author for their review.

We are very happy that we make you feel at home. The team are encouraged to express themselves and be their own person. I’m thrilled that you enjoyed your stay.

Thanks again.

Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
693 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2010

To start we were concerned as it was out of the city centre but the tram stops right outside the front of the hotel and it was 15 minutes into Melbourne, easy and regular. The hotel is a gem, full of paintings by Adam Cullen and the rooms had them on the walls too. The room was large and spacious with a balcony and kitchenette, very comfortable. The Brasserie served superb food and the staff were friendly and very helpful with their recommendations. We loved this hotel, it was very modern, trendy and sleek.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moosie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you to the author for your review.

All the staff at the hotel are locals in the area, which helps us give our guests the best possible experience.
We are all very happy that you love the Hotel and the works by Adam Cullen!

Thank you again for your lovely comments and we hope to see you again soon.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2010

We were a bunch or ladies down from Sydney for a shopping weekend and we just loved this hotel.This hotel was simply beautiful. Josh and the boys on reception were gorgeous. The rooms were amazing with a great size fridge, perfect for all of the food bought from the markets across the road. Loved this hotel and would definately be back with the girls or family!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elmo93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you to the author for your review.

With us just being just off Chapel Street, it is a great excuse for a girl’s weekend away shopping!
I’m thrilled that you had a fantastic stay and I’m happy that the staff (even myself…) took great care of you!

Look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We have stayed at the Cullen twice and will always go back on our trips to Melbourne. As well as being funky, modern and artistic, the service is exceptionally professional and the value is excellent. We generally believe that hotel food is to be avoided at all costs, but the Cullen has a buzzing cafe/restaurant which serves the opposite of boring hotel food.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy_Montgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Thank you to the author for your review.

It is so nice to hear you are one of our return guests. It is always the highest compliment when our guests return to us.

We are very proud of both our restaurants, and I am very pleased that you enjoyed the atmosphere and food. We are also very excited because we have a brand new wine bar opening up at the Hotel next month as well!

Looking forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again.


Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

My partner and I booked directly through the website (very easy to use and great to get a visual of the different room types) and got a great deal so even before we got there we were happy. But the real assets of this hotel are its people and its location. At the end of a mad week at work we arrived at the Cullen and even though our room wasn't ready, after less than 2 minutes chatting to Josh at reception we didn't care. Josh had us relaxed, at the bar and already switched into holiday mode. All the staff here were a cut above any other hotel we've experienced- all very charming, always present but very unobtrusive. The location of the hotel is the other big winner. Across the road from the markets, great eateries and shopping on your doorstep, and a short tram ride into the city- the sort of holiday experience you have is totally up to you. It's just as easy to escape, retreat, relax and recharge as it is to have an on the go shopping/eating/clubbing experience staying here. The quirky vibe of the hotel works well and the functionality and design of the rooms (we had a room with a balcony) facilitate either holiday type. Rooms are very quiet despite the fact that Commercial Road is so busy. The only downside for us was the design of the bathrooms (an opaque glass box in the corner of the room which although clean and functional, lacked privacy). But when a hotel goes out on a limb in terms of style and design like this one has you can't expect to love everything and it was definitely not a deal breaker for us given the success of all the other aspects of the hotel. We ate dinner at HuTong and had brunch at Terraces which are at the base of the hotel on Commercial Rd. Both were great (particularly the food at HuTong). We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydOzPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this review, 7 September 2010
Wow, thank you very much for your review.

We are very pleased that the service from the Hotel & the location was one of the highlights of your stay. We are very lucky to be in such a great area, surround by great facilities.
We are even luckier to have a some fantastic staff that makes our guests feel welcome and relaxed.

Look forward to having you back soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 159 in Melbourne
2,035 reviews
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 159 in Melbourne
1,674 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#4 of 159 in Melbourne
5,414 reviews
Chapel Street
The Como Melbourne - MGallery by Sofitel
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 159 in Melbourne
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Property: Art Series - The Cullen
Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing