We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Art Series - The Cullen
Nearby Hotels
Quest Windsor(Prahran)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Agoda.com
View Deal
Lords Lodge(Prahran)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Internet
AKOM Prahran(Prahran)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,299)
Filter reviews
1,299 results
Traveller rating
789
359
99
26
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
789
359
99
26
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfrosted glassprahran marketacross the roadchapel streetroom servicerestaurant downstairsjunior penthousefunky hotelfantastic hoteldumplingschinese restaurantcomfortable bedsgreat showersmall kitchenettecafes and restaurantsned kellyyour doorstep
Filter
Updating list...
1,171 - 1,176 of 1,299 reviews
Reviewed 1 November 2010

- was very easy to find
- not far from the city
- All different transportations were just outside the door.
- Staff were nice
- No complain whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IbrahimovicIbra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2010

5 nights.
Good stay, good bed, but too many adverse points:

Maintenance and in-room cleaning not up to a reasonable standard - certainly not for 4 or 5 star aspirants.

At no time did 606 have a dishcloth -- an indispensible "tool" in any kitchen. I gave it 3 days then used a face flannel. Even that didn't produce a dishcloth.

Wanted taxi to airport on check-out: Duly followed the quick-arriving driver who came into the lobby. Turned out to be an unmarked limo and we were charged $A72 at 11am compared with just over $A50 in 7pm busy traffic from airport on arrival.
This wasn't a problem and it was comfortable but unless this was an opportunistic guy who just walked into the lobby unbidden and nothing to do with us specifically, then Reception should have asked if we wanted a limo.

The room service was ok but wasn't consistent. Apart from dishcloth issue, it was perfect on Oct 1 with night attire tidied and neatly arranged on beds. But after that towels mostly got left on couch not on rails; cream cleaner fluid of some sort was splashed on carpet just inside door and not cleaned 24hrs later; once early on the outside door to the patio was left unlocked after cleaning (we were out); occupants of the semi-linked Growler Penthouse one night had several (not maximum 2) guests whose arrivals were always voluble -- they left early fortunately; next day people talked outside on the Growler patio (normal voices) which is not sufficiently soundproofed from 606 with the door open -- we were glad we weren't home for the subsequent party they held outside (house rules broken?); large doorhandle on wardrobe had a broken anchoring screw so was starting to permanently scratch the veneer (I alerted Reception on departure); all-glass bathroom built into the lounge with gaps around the door was rather disconcerting, especially the first couple of days; cleaner's keycard was left in the electricity slot at one stage and was still unclaimed 36 hours later (I returned to Reception on departure).

Having said all that, we enjoyed the stay; overall 606 was pleasantly comfortable; and getting the upgrade was, I presume, a nice bonus, though we didn't see the original room.

For the record, for 4 weeks during July-August my wife and I had 4 weeks of 4 and 5-star suites around Europe including The Langham in London and Splendide Royal Roma so are in a perfect position to compare and comment.

Yours serves it's suburban position well, and very trendy looking too, and the eye-catching works of Adam Cullen were a major talking point. But not so sure re the loo bulging into the lounge! And please, as with many of your other guests, get that "service" fixed; it's a common denominator as far as your downsides are concerned.

ALJEN
Wellington
New Zealand

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ALJENxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

The hotel had a smart contemporary style featuring striking if somewhat grotesque artwork everywhere (by the same artist). The well-appointed room was also very smart and comfortable with a large furnished balcony, kitchenette, and two large flat-screen tvs for each of the capacious beds at either end of the long room (although the remote-control was missing for one of the tvs, but quickly replaced on request). We also found the room-safe didn't work.
Saga of the room-safe! :- A maintenance person came to fix it and after some adjustment said it could work if the first 3 digits were not used as a code. However we found it still didn't work, and when the maintenance person returned she decided there was a more serious fault and an outside locksmith would have to repair it, but being a Saturday it would not be possible until the following Monday, but we could meanwhile put our valuables in the reception safe. This we did, though it defeated the purpose of a convenient room-safe where items could easily be put in and out at will. On returning to the hotel late on Monday after a day's tour, the reception said the room-safe should now be working, but on entering the room we found it was just the same as though nobody had been there to look at it. On returning to the hotel the next day during the afternoon, a locksmith came to the room but he decided the safe could not be repaired and a new one would be fitted the next day. However, this was not done, nor on the following day before we checked out (Thursday mid-morning). So this 5-star hotel was not able to supply a working room-safe during the 6 days (5 nights) that we were there.
Another drawback was the room cleaning. On the first full day we returned to the hotel at 3pm for a rest but found the room still hadn't been made up. On contacting housekeeping we were told it was because of staff shortages on a Sunday. The next day we returned to the hotel late so we didn't know at what time the room had been cleaned, but the following day we returned at 2:30pm to find the room hadn't yet been madeup and still nobody came by 4:30 when we contacted housekeeping and just asked for clean towels as we didn't want to have to leave the room while it was cleaned, but we were told no towels were available but they would get us some when they could (presumably a delay with laundry). Some towels were brought a bit later and we were told we were "lucky" to get them (this in a 5 star hotel!). We were also told that if we wanted the room cleaned earlier we should make an arrangement at reception which of course we did but thought it an odd situation.
One day we also found that used cups and glasses had been removed from the kitchenette and not replaced, so we had to ask for some back (and to avoid that happening again we washed, dried and put away the kitchen items ourselves).
Clearly the housekeeping and maintenance failed to meet the expected standards for an otherwise nice 5 star hotel.

Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank lexyleod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2010

The bed was so comfortable, pillows like sleeping on clouds, high quality everything, and excellent service. We will be back, after trying many 4.5 star motels in Melbourne, the art series is a clear winner.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meeks_meeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2010

Lovely quiet room. Beds like sleeping on "Cloud 9". It was a shame that the hotel's customer service let them down.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Devine1Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews