We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most comfortable bed EVER in a uniquely wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Series - The Cullen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 December 2010

The Cullen is a gorgeous hotel with art everywhere you turn.

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The restaurant is quite nice and results in some excellent room service choices (though it was spotty...sometimes very good, sometimes not so much)

There is a very nice kitchenette that is well stocked if you choose to make your own meals.

The beds in this hotel are the singular most amazing beds I've ever slept in. So amazing that when my friends got into their room, the first thing they did was call my room and rave about the "white puffy clouds" we'd be sleeping on for four nights! Downside was only that we didn't want to get out of bed!

The location is good and public transit stop just one block away for a quick easy trip into Melbourne city proper.

On the downside?

The internet access was slow and an incredible pain to use. You needed a code for each day (that you had to pay a fee for) but that code would only work on ONE piece of equipment. This means you paid for connectivity but could only have it on one computer or phone or ipad etc. This is made even worse if you are traveling with a spouse and you each have a laptop etc.

I've stayed all over the world and NEVER experienced this sort of set-up for internet access. None of us liked it and the long convoluted codes were a real pain to enter in each day.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank summitny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thanks for sharing your experience.

I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us!
We are very lucky to have kitchens in every room. With the famous Prahran food market across the road it makes it easy to enjoy some fabulous food (and wine) in your room if need be.

Thanks also for letting us know about the long codes for the internet. We have since changed this process and guests simply enter their room number and name now.

It’s great to get the feedback, and look forward to seeing you soon!

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,144)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,006 - 1,012 of 1,144 reviews

Reviewed 19 December 2010

This was my first stay at The Cullen. I have been waiting for a great place to stay near my favourite shopping haunts of Prahan, Greville Street, Chapel Street and High Street; and The Cullen met all those wants. The location is perfect - the village markets at your doorstep, tram and train access, good coffee, patisseries, delis, cafes and the divine boutiques of Prahan/South Yarra within strolling distance.

The hotel has a boutique feel and is private and quiet. Our twin room had a great design-feel, and overlooked a park. For two females on their first shopping trip without the kids, the room accommodated our luggage and shopping with ease. The kitchenette's mirrored splashback and sink meant there were no queues for the bathroom while we got ready. Loved the beds and the bathrobes.

I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imagine6572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thanks for sharing your experience.

Just like you, we love the area of Prahran! Whilst only a few minutes to the city centre, it feel like a world away. All our staff are locals to the area, and can defiantly show you all the hidden streets & laneways…and of course the best place for coffee.

Thanks again for letting us know what you think, and hopefully see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

I have been back & forth between Sydney and Melbourne for the past few months, living in hotels, and this is by far the best one of the lot.

The service is excellent, the staff are wonderful, the location is prime, the rooms are amazing & the clientele is young & cool.

This place has a lot of character - it's very quirky, but still remains elegant.

I have lived here on & off for the past two months and it's been an absolute pleasure. I am sad to be leaving.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_strat_pack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2011

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Fantastic to hear you have been enjoying your stay over the past couple of months with us. As a return guest of the Hotel your feedback is invaluable, and we really appreciate it.
We are sad to see you go, but hopefully you can drop back by the hotel and say hi when your next in town.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2010

the hotel itself was o.k but the staff at the front desk wear over the top rude to me and gave out wrong information taking me off course to wear i needed to travel and took no blame for there mistake

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nospam7676
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2010

Thanks for letting us know about your experience.

It’s disappointing to read that our service was not up to par. We always receive such great comments about the team at the Hotel, and I apologise that you didn’t get to experience this during your stay.

I would be happy to discuss this further with you if you would like to contact us.

Kind regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We were super-impressed with the staff at The Cullen. From the folk at the front desk to the housemaids, the maintenance gal and staff we encountered in the carpark, all were friendly, courteous, relaxed and helpful. What a delight. The north facing deluxe studio room we had for 3 nights was very comfortable, well equipped and funky in design and decor. Wall mirrors enhance a sense of space in these modest sized rooms. Mostly our stay was very quiet, the windows are well glazed but designed so a small side window can be opened for fresh air. All in all, loved it here.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank r_ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Thanks for sharing your experience!

We are thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It’s great to read that not only the reception staff but the back of house team (housekeeping and maintenance) took great care of you.
We are really pleased you loved the features and design of the property.

Love to have you back with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2010

I stayed here with high expectations. For the most part, these expectations were met. The rooms were nice, they were quiet, they were clean, the beds were nice, the tvs were good and there is all the 5 star things you would expect (ironing board, bathing cap, tv, fridge etc etc). The art theme was also quite nice.

Where it fell down for me was on three fronts which is why I am generously giving it a 3 star review.

Firstly, I think the sheets were itchy which to me is indicative of one of two things - cheap sheets or more likely, cheap laundry detergent. If the sheets irritate your skin, something is wrong regardless.

What really got me though was the credit card surcharge...on ALL CARDS. This is the first time I have seen this; I expect it on occassion with an Amex but then you whip out your Visa/MC and you can avoid the 'fee'. Well not here you can't. So, your advertised room rate is actualy 2-3% too low because unless you carry around loads of cash you ARE going to get hit with this.

The other 'gotcha' that I hate - charging for internet access. If you really care about your guests and are a 'premium boutique' hotel, you give people internet access; especially for what this place charges. Those internet charges and the credit card hits are just two little but very annoying 'screw yous' that pushed me over the edge to write this review. And yes, other hotels try to charge for internet and hit you on Amex and for the same reason, they should get some heat in the reviews on it as well (I will be doing one for the next worst offender shortly).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Thanks for sharing your experience!

Fantastic to read that for the majority you enjoyed your visit with us.
We pride ourselves on fantastic facilities & more importantly down to earth service.

Thanks for also letting me know about the sheets in your room. This is very unusual as our sheets are extremely high quality and thread count. I have informed our laundry about your experience as we have only ever received positive remarks about our beds and linen. I would like to offer my sincere apologies that this was the case during your stay.
Majority of Hotels will now either recover their costs for credit cards, or build this into their price. We prefer to give our guests the option of not paying this surcharge.
In regards to internet access, we provide a high speed wireless system with 24hour phone support for our guest. This unfortunately does come at a cost.
We did evaluate our costs compared to the majority of Melbourne 5 star hotels a few months ago and found our $9.95 a day was about two thirds less expensive.

Thank you very much for giving us your feedback, we hope you enjoyed your visit to Melbourne.

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2010

As had a meeting in Prahan area - decided to stay here rather than city. Loved the decor and setup of cullen, Dined at Hutong their chinese restaurant as well and it was truly wonderful. The room was spacious and loved the quirky touches and lots of mirrors. Huge plasma tv too. only thing with the sleep quality that i gave 3 stars was because of teh aircon - noisy humming noise and so had to use earplugs - didnt sleep well although bed was comfortable. am sure this can be fixed up by maintenance but i was too tired to call and only stayed for 1 night anyway, LOVED the hotel though and would definitely return or try the other art series hotels. great for someone who definitely want something different rather than the usual hotel business rooms.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fab55_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoshoMelbourne, General Manager at Art Series - The Cullen, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2010

Thanks for sharing your experience!

We have quite a number of business guests now stay with us due to our location. Whilst we are just a few minutes out of the city, the local area is a fantastic place to entertain, relax and enjoy the time away from the office!

Look forward to seeing you return back to Art Series - The Cullen

Kind Regards,

Josh O’Brien
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prahran
Art Series - The Blackman
#13 of 161 in Melbourne
2,141 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#27 of 161 in Melbourne
1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
1,573 reviews
Chinatown
Ovolo Laneways
Ovolo Laneways
#15 of 161 in Melbourne
1,120 reviews
Central Business District
Adelphi Hotel
Adelphi Hotel
#1 of 161 in Melbourne
1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Cullen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Cullen

Address: 164 Commercial Rd, Prahran, Stonnington, Victoria 3181, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Stonnington > Prahran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Prahran
Price Range: £103 - £200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Cullen 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Prahran, Melbourne, The Cullen is inspired by Adam Cullen. Daring and unique, The Cullen features lashings of original artwork and prints by Australia’s most exciting contemporary artist, Adam Cullen.Sleep soundly in your Art Series Signature bed, then block out the morning or wake up to natural light and vibrant energy of Cullen works. Prepare breakfast using in room kitchenette facilities, spectacular views of Melbourne CBD, underground parking, state of the art gymnasium and two exciting restaurants ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Art Series - The Cullen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Cullen Hotel Melbourne
Art Series - The Cullen Greater Melbourne/Prahran, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing