We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fast Food Option”

Mad Mex - Fresh Mexican Grill
Ranked #63 of 151 Restaurants in Prahran
Cuisines: Mexican
Restaurant details
australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Fast Food Option”
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We went to one on Flinders Lane in the CBD. It was steps from our hotel, we were tired after the show and wanted something quick and easy. The burrito was huge and my husband enjoyed the hot and spicey flavours. I wanted something smaller and got the soft-shell tacos - one chicken, one pork. They were fresh, tasty and just what we wanted that night. Certainly healthier than some "other" possibilities and easy!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kozkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 6 Contributor
307 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“Very good VFM joint for Mexican food”
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Good food and excellent location. We had Ques Adilla, pork Burrito and Nachos followed By Churros with chocolate sauce. I must say all of them were real good. If you think of no fat and healthy meal try Mad Mex. It's a pity that we still don't have Mad Mex in India yet. The food is so similar in taste to Indian food that if ever they were to open in India, it will be a huge success, till then you can only sample this in Australia and US.

The company has recently introduced an online calorie http://www.madmex.com.au/nutrition/ where you could see how much calories you consumed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rajeshwar Dayal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Very Average”
Reviewed 9 January 2013

I used to visit here alot but with every visit the quality and quantity went downhill fast.
My usual order is the naked burrito - it's trying to be Chipotle's Burrito Bowl but it doesn't come CLOSE to it.
The rice is not always fresh, the beans are OK but the salad and guacamole is almost always old!!!! Is it that hard to have fresh lettuce? Or fresh grated cheese? Or green guacamole, not brown?!
This places needs to freshen up!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellienad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“semi decent”
Reviewed 29 December 2012

its mexican food so it cant really be stuffed up, having said that this place has a mexican wrestling theme which is nice, but its been done before and better. place called Burp in adelaide is the best ive seen in australia. this place is over priced for the food you receive just like most mexican places. but you wont be disappointed too much with the food.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank the69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tianjin, China
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Tasty.”
Reviewed 24 December 2012

Mad Mex is such great value-for-money. So many of these are springing up all over the CBD and surrounding suburbs, here's hoping that this great little Mexican take-out doesn't lose it's focus! Burrito is the best and the margaritas are so good as well!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank TVH3121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mad Mex - Fresh Mexican Grill also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
 
Windsor, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Mad Mex - Fresh Mexican Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing