We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family dining delight.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of David's

David's
Ranked #13 of 149 Restaurants in Prahran
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family dining delight.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Have been here many times over the ten years my Melbourne based family have lived in this area.Chinese cuisine that is so delightfully different, Yum Cha is my grandchildren's favourite.
Excellent service in a modern setting.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Willo02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    47
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Modern Chinese”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

What an unusual Chinese restaurant! A very light, fresh and open venue and although busy not too noisy to talk with your fellow diners. Had a great square high table for 8 by the front door which suited our group perfectly. We decided to order the 'Sharing Menu' as all the meal descriptions sounded so good that it was hard to make a decision, and the food just kept coming...wonderful flavours and food combinations. One of our diners has food allergies which were expertly catered for by the friendly and helpful staff. Big tick of approval for David's from our group who do a lot of overseas and interstate travel, you've made some fans!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Marianne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
melbourne
Level Contributor
107 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Light, Bright, Modern”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Very light and bright modern decor which is matched by the quality of the food. Modern Asian at it's best. The dumplings and dim sum are so tasty and there is a great selection of larger mains. There is also an extensive drinks menu. It is very popular day and night so a reservation is recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ddexter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Fabulous Yum Cha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Anyone that leaves yum Cha at David's hungry has to be pretty hard to please. The David's experience begins as everyone gathers in the street waiting for the doors to open, then one by one they are seats and the feasting begins. No trolleys here. Waiters carry platters of every possible yum Cha treat imaginable and the quantity is plentiful. Top value for money!

My tips are to book (and probably book well in advance), try to sit in the front part of the restaurant because the upstairs back is a bit cramped and noisy, groups are probably better than couples because the tables for couples are to the side against the wall and do sometimes get missed as the waiters do their rounds. If that happens though, you only have to ask and whatever you have missed will be brought to you. My other tip is to pace yourself. The food comes out for the full two hours and if you scoff too much too early you will miss some very tasty treats including the amazing dessert dumplings.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank seaview088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
74 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Extremely good Yum Cha”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

I have been trying to get to this restaurant for ages and it just has not worked out. Luckily had the chance to do Yum Cha on a Sunday and it was great. All you can eat for $38.00 per person and the food just keeps coming. The BBQ ribs and dumplings all good in fact lots of different stuff to the normal yum cha. Only let down was the Prawn Toast which was overcooked but a minor detail as we wouldn't normally eat this but wanted to try it. Service was very good and nothing too difficult if you wanted something or an explanation. Wine list could do with a little bit of work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HigginsTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed David's also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to David's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing