We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly staff and tasty greek food at extremely good value for money”
Review of Lemnos Tavern

Lemnos Tavern
Ranked #19 of 152 Restaurants in Prahran
Cuisines: Greek, Seafood
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff and tasty greek food at extremely good value for money”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Its a little away from the main hub of Prahran/Windsor but what a gem. It might have been helped by it being over Xmas hols as there not being many people in the restaurant but the service was extremely attentive without being intrusive.

Large servings of food for each course that we simply couldn't finish plus we were given free aperitifs which was a lovely touch.

Definitley worth a visit

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    21
    9
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A family affair”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

good food and wine accompanied by great service
attentive staff and not too pricey good location in prahran

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joseph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
875 reviews
387 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,375 helpful votes
“Great Greek food”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I have tried many Greek restaurants in the area and must say that this is by fr the best on this side of the city.
I've been coming to this restaurant off and on for years and it never fails to deliver great food. Inside it's quite lovely and the staff are always polite, helpful and funny.
Start with the dips and the meat platter because it's consistently good. I wasn't too happy with the bread the last time I was there - not as I've experienced in other Greek restaurants - seemed more store bought that authentic Greek bread. But they are happy to give you more bread if you've not mopped up all the dips. Experiment with the main courses as there are many to choose from.
It's reasonably priced, in a good location and would recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbanDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Another annual review - still love dining here !”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My family and I have been dining at Lemnos Tavern for a couple of years now on a very regular basis and we still love it.

I ditto all my previous compliments to Theo, his food and the warm, inviting ambience of this restaurant.

We have also held staff nights out here for large bookings and our staff loved it.

Still a perfectionist who personally greets and farewells every customer, Theo strives for Greek perfection with his food and his service - and he succeeds.

We have never been disappointed with a meal at this restaurant, and the waiting staff are superb.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ladycatrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
570 reviews
406 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
“Good food great to go with children or a big group”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

The food is always fresh and served with a smile. Fish is particularly well cooked and the meats and chicken are also good. Their dips are authentic and delicious and it has a fairly extensive menu. It is a neighbourhood restaurant not too fancy, concrete floors, sometimes a little noisey but good food and very nice staff. Nothing is too much trouble. We often eat there with the family.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evelynne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lemnos Tavern also viewed

Prahran, Stonnington
 
Prahran, Stonnington
 

Been to Lemnos Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing