We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great moderate price motel”
Review of Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn

Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great moderate price motel”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Family operated motel, helpful operators, clean room. Fantastic updated bathroom. Comfortable bed. Quiet air conditioner. Quality, thick drapes. Microwave in room with tea and coffee facilities. Decent size coffee cups.Generous continental breakfast served in dining area at a cost of $5 per person. Our room was at the back which would have helped with highway noise. I think the thick drapes helped as well. Traffic Noise was not a problem. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms at back probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyw535
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
7
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We spend every Easter at the Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn. Brian and Linda are really friendly and very helpful. The bathrooms have been modernised and the rooms are a good size. The furnishings maybe a little out dated but very comfortable. The pool also has been remodelled and is a great way to end the day, great bar-b-que area with plenty of chairs and table for use. It is conveniently placed to travel to the Grampians and many other tourist attractions.

Room Tip: We always pick a room close to the pool and bar b que area, which is also furthest from the main roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Cove, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 September 2013

It has been my pleasure to stay at the Hi-Way 8 monthly for the past 2 years on business. This charming motel reminds me of places I stayed with my parents, driving from Melbourne to the Gold Coast in the 1960's. Since then, I have stayed in 5 Star hotels in London, Europe, Japan, Canada, USA and South East Asia. However, the home cooked in-room meals, complimentary continental breakfast and hospitality provided by Linda and Brian provide me with a home away from home that would ideally suit travellers, business-people, seniors and holiday-makers heading for the Grampians and Western Victoria. The rooms are perfectly equipped. This is not necessarily the place for your 200 delegate conference (but they would give it their best shot!) - but I will always stay there when in, around or passing through Stawell - Thanks Linda and Brian xxx

Room Tip: Just ask for the one you want (1-17)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeripateticFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed here between Melbourne and Adelaide, and only booked for convenience. I booked a family suite and was surprised by how spacious it was. The bathroom has been recently refurbed and the aircon is new but the decor is a bit dark and dated. The hosts were very friendly, and gave me some good reviews on where to eat - hot tip, eat at the Harness Club bistro. The highway noise was fairly constant but not unbearable. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LadyEmBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I've stayed here twice now and would be happy to stay here again. The hosts are genial and helpful. The rooms are large and have the usual facilities you expect. The decor is possibly a bit dated but they have modern reverse cycle air conditioners, LCD televisons and Freeview and Austar.
The other services such as meals, the pool, spa and laundry I haven't used.
As a solo traveller, the cost of a single room is very competitive.
The only downside is, like every other motel right on the highway, the noise of the interstate trucks can affect light sleepers but this is not a criticism of the motel.

Room Tip: See if you can get a room at the back if you are a light sleeper. Interstate trucks will be driving...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10inchwheels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We stay at this motor inn, for a one night stop, and were made to feel very welcome.

Noise from the highway was a bit of an issue, as trucks pass through this town continuously.

Even though the furnishings were a bit outdated, it was a very clean, comfortable room.

The shower pressure was fantastic, and the beds very comfortable.

Heating could have been better.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temora
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

A group of nine of us were travelling to phillip island on our bikes for the moto gp. A mixture of professional people and one overseas executive officer. We booked the hi-way 8 motor in well in advance. On checking in Linda and brian were very attentive. We mentioned we needed dinner for the nine of us and they said they would organize it- no problems. The meal was great and felt more like a night at mums than eating at a motel restaurant! Brian overheard that one of the party had special dietary needs and bam! Gluten free breakfast was provided the next morning! I cannot thank Linda and brian enough for their service.
Some times it not just about the star rating and more about being made feel that we are important.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Blackma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.3 mi away
London Motor Inn
London Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Stawell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
0.8 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#2 of 6 in Stawell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
14.8 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn

Property: Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn
Address: 28 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hi-Way 8 Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing