We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best budget motel”
Review of London Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
London Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Reviewed 20 July 2012

First time at this motel, but would happily visit again. Super friendly owners, who were very welcoming and a great budget night. Comfy queen bed, super clean,large bathroom and thick towels. And good quality coffee ... Which is a must for one of us! Offered breakfast and percolated coffee as well. A good choice for travelers.

Room Tip: We think they had rooms at the back, if so ask for one as it would mean cutting down in a little hig...
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for London Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2012

though cheap, greeted with sandwiches on arrival, great value, for the money.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waynesawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

We arrived late and were greeted by the owners with warm home made cherry cobbler, cream and custard for dessert. The room was warm, and the electric blankets were on. Certainly better service than you get in a five star hotel! There was a bit of road noise but we had driven from Adelaide so we were tired and therefore slept well. Comfortable bed.

In the morning we had a fantastic breakfast, and they gave us some home made slice to take with us for morning tea, and a google map directions to our destination.

It's not often that you find such value for money and people that are genuinely nice and go above and beyond to make their customers feel welcome.

Will definitely stay here again anytime we are travelling by.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BCTSRacing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2012

I wished I hadn't of picked this place to stay at whilst staying up in stawell. It was my first time in the area so I just randomly picked one. The room was cold and the staff I found to be not as friendly as I would have liked. My bed was so uncomfortable. The motel is positioned right on the western hi-way and there is no way you can sleep due to the constant traffic traveling past. Although it was very cheap, I'd rather pay more for better quality motel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maddison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

What a great stay...Graham and his wife are such lovely hosts. I booked this place based on the reviews here and I didnt regret a thing.
For $69 I got a good sized room with a double n a single bed and a cooked breakfast. And the inn provides a cooked dinner for about $15 which includes a glass of wine, main and dessert.
The rooms were clean and spacious.
The only thing is that its close to the main road but it's not excessively noisy unless you're a light sleeper.
Like I said, if only more accommodation places were as good as this.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
1  Thank Shee80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Hmmm.... Tempted to give them 5 stars

The service and value is what stands out here. We paid just $80 for a night here (book directly with them and save $5). We arrived late, so they had the light on in our room and keys waiting for us outside. Inside we found everything you'd need in a hotel - tea/coffee, a couple of bags of chips, hot shower, hair dryer, etc.

Our room had a queen size bed and a single. Everything was exceptionally clean and in good working order, if perhaps a little dated.

We left early the next morning and had breakfast included. The serving sizes were very generous - we didn't need lunch after that - and if you think about what you'd pay for a good cooked breakfast elsewhere on the highway, the rates at this motel are even better.

The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is because of the road noise. When trucks pass you know. Once you're asleep you may not hear it (unless you're a very light sleeper), though.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank global_pilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

What a gem.
Good value for money is what this little motel is all about.
Good clean basic room, with an excellent bed.
On arrival we were given tea and corn chips for a snack. The hosts were just lovely.
The shower water pressure was great with plenty of hot water.
After an excellent nights sleep, even though it was a little noisy due to the trucks on the highway, but only early in the morning, we were treated to a fabulous breakfast.
Perfectly cooked bacon and poached eggs with a side of baked beans, fruit juice and steaming hot percolate coffee. All for a very basic price of $85.00.
I also loved the grape vines hugging the verandah, what a great start to our wine tour of South Australia

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marsy007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
43 reviews
12.3 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
14.3 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#2 of 6 in Stawell
53 reviews
13.8 mi away
Gariwerd Motel
Gariwerd Motel
#1 of 9 in Halls Gap
690 reviews
0.8 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Motor Inn

Address: 6 Horsham Rd, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range: £52 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — London Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfortable and friendly, London Motor Inn welcomes you. With 24 rooms we have a variety of room configurations for you to choose from. Located in the picturesque town of Stawell follow our link to see our Tariffs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your London Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing