We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Place to Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Magdala Motor Lodge
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I stayed overnight at the Magdala and I was thoroughly impressed. The room was clean and spacious. There is a delightful space at the rear of the unit to sit by the small lake and watch the sunset or feed the waterbirds whilst enjoying a drink. The food at the restaurant was excellent and the staff most attentive - especially the young waitress who was genuinely cheerful and helpful. The rates are most reasonable for what is provided. I will be staying at the Magdala whenever business or pleasure takes me into the vacinity of Stawell.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Russell C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

The Information Centre in Stawell had provided us with a list of motels, highlighting those with the in-house dining we had requested. The first motel we checked out was creepy in the extreme: the only available rooms were at the top of a ricketty staircase; the one we were shown had an ill fitting external door that needed forceful, noisy persuasion to close. The shabby room’s sole lightbulb dimly illuminated a small space far above the main room, making reading impossible anywhere within the unit. We moved on hurriedly.

A little way out of town, the Magdala Motel was on the highway, a slightly offputting prospect. However, it promised the restaurant we had looked forward to, and the proprietor could have been anyone’s kindly grandpa, so we relaxed immediately to have found sanctuary in the Magdala.

Accommodation is at the rear, well away from the road. Our suite was spacious with a table and chairs – with free wifi – for the laptop. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom had that rare motel commodity of ample space along the vanity unit, essential with two competing toiletry bags plus an electric toothbrush and hair dryer.

Well pleased with our find, we checked out the licensed restaurant’s offerings: all reliable fare and we chose the good old porterhouse with mushroom sauce, and the lamb shanks. They came with a generous side of mash and steamed veges, broccoli, corn, carrot, cauliflower and sweet potato. In the background, Patsy Kline sang “It was the end of the bottle so I though I’d just pour it all in”. Relaxing entirely into the ambience, I ordered a Tia Maria coffee and held aloft the cream topped nightcap to the smiles of other diners as we made our way back to our room.

From the restaurant we had watched in amazement the constant procession of lit-up B-double trucks along the highway but in our suite there was no highway noise: we heard nothing and saw nothing but ducks and two black swans regally floating past on the billabong that our rear glass doors opened onto.

The heating options were ample: a built in wall unit and an electric floor fan. We slept deeply and undisturbed. In the morning breakfast was delivered to our room: very generous serves of hot and hearty food, all delicious.

The Magdala took us into its hospitable embrace and gave us good food, comfort, and very happy smiles.

Room Tip: All suites are at the rear and don't get any highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HappyItinerant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in the middle of a heat wave. I booked direct with the hotel and the staff, both at check in and check out, were very friendly and efficient. It was on the main highway as were most of the Stawell hotels but we didn't notice any noise in the room. Our room overlooked a small lake out the back of the hotel which was very pleasant. It was only a short drive into the middle of Stawell.

The room was a good size, very clean and the bed was very comfortable. I will stay here again on my next visit to Stawell.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tessacate88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

I recently stayed at the Magdala while travelling through Australia on business. During a trip filled with stays at high end Hiltons and Mantras the two nights we spent at the Magdala were rather average, but this wasn't unexpected outside of Australia's major cities. There were two of us travelling and our first room was a two bedroom suite. The air conditioning didn't work and after a few unsuccessful minutes trying to get it started again the motel management moved us to two separate rooms with an adjoining door.

Would I stay here again? Probably, given that there aren't a lot of other choices in the region. Horsham is a larger center that isn't too far away and I understand it has better motels so you might want to look there first if your stay doesn't demand that you stay in Stawell. The beds were comfortable, the air conditioning (in the rooms where it worked) was sufficient for a comfortable night's sleep. I didn't actually see a golf course, although they advertise a 6 hole one. This was my first experience getting a bottle of milk at check-in. This made for some good laughs for my travelling partner and I.

Overall this was a decent stay full of Australian charm.

Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
Thank Oilesks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

It's the little niceties which make the difference: plenty of good quality towels, electric blanket, room with views of waterway and bushland, away from the highway. After a long drive from Adelaide to Melbourne, I appreciated the comfort of this motel and the warm welcome from the hosts.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelbliss330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Chose this establishment over all the others in Stawell based on Trip Advisor ratings and sure enough, they were on the money. It seems every other hotel in town is right on the highway, but this one is on the outskirts of town and set well back off the road in extensive grounds. You can hear the large trucks rumbling past but it's quite acceptable and I hate to think what the other motels are like. Clean, spacious, comfortable. Good food in the restaurant and very quick service. The only grumble I would have is that the reverse cycle aircon (box type) is poor at heating; that explains why they also have a small fan heater in each room.

Room Tip: If you have small children, this hotel might be one to avoid because it has extensive water features...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David_and_Rose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

my partner and i had a night away from the kids here, we had the best time, we stayed in the spa room, the staff were lovely, room was spacious and very clean, comfortable beds, we had a lovely meal in the dining room and spent a couple of hours in the indoor heated pool having a few drinks . we also took our i pod dock to listen to music whilst in the pool and the hosts were fine with that. it was lovely to get up in the morning and look over the lake,we have stayed here twice and both times it was a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicole j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
0.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Comfort Inn Goldfields
#6 of 6 in Stawell
45 reviews
13.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
12.1 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#3 of 6 in Stawell
55 reviews
14.1 mi away
The Grampians Motel & The Views Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magdala Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magdala Motor Lodge

Address: 3149 Western Hwy, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range: £71 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Magdala Motor Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Magdala Motor Lodge, located two and a half hours from Melbourne's central business district and five hours from Adelaide, is an excellent stopover between the cities and an ideal destination from which to explore the Grampians National Park, and the world renowned vineyards and wineries of the Grampians and Pyrenees. Set on 20 acres, Magdala Motor Lodge is the quietest motel in Stawell. Set on 20 acres, the Magdala Motor Lodge offers excellent food, accommodation and services for the corporate person, holiday makers and tour groups. The management and staff will be delighted to give you all the information you need to take advantage of the attractions of the area. Located on the outskirts of Stawell, the Magdala Motor Lodge consists of 28 units and a restaurant all overlooking a man made lake and rural land. The motel is variously described as 'The one with the moat', or 'The one with the ducks'. Our wild black ducks are so accustomed to people that they nest in the car park, gardens and tap on the windows in the morning to encourage guests to feed them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magdala Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing