We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as hoped ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn Goldfields
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Geelong, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Not as hoped ”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Wasn't going to bother with a review as I was on a work trip but.... Good things first . Friendly staff , good sized rooms, ample parking. Now the bad ... Cob webs all over ceiling, shower door sticking, noisy air con , air con too small, unable to fill kettle , fridge very noisy woke me up, food not well cooked oily fish,charged for breakfast although I only had a (not well made coffee) ok that's it I'll travel onto Horsham next time .

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulwoodsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    16
    10
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
12
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
North Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Comfort Inn during a business trip in Stawell. The experience started with a very polite man at reception who greeted our arrival. I have no other local hotels to compare to yet I was quite satisfied with the Queen Deluxe room I stayed in. The room was of older style, brick construction and laminate kitchen with all appliances and utensils. The seperate bathroom was clean. The bed was comfortable and suprisingly warm. Best of all for me was the TV was in working order with all digital stations working. If the hotel didnt offer SBS I would not have stayed - I planned to wake up early to watch the Champions League semi finals, go Chelsea!

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank GaveYouExtraCheese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halls Gap, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

We didn't stay at the motel but ate at the restaurant. Three of us enjoyed a fantastic meal in the motel's restaurant. The staff were extraordinary, very welcoming, friendly and nothing was left to chance. The meals were amazing. The best fresh fish and meat serves we've ever enjoyed..... and then the most delicious sweets. All made onsite. Congratulations to the owners and chef. We'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hallsgap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night on the recommendations of the local information centre. Very noisy, road traffic was loud, bathroom was dated but clean, bed was comfy, but air conditioner was noisy and rattling. Reasonable for the price.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank badbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We didn't actually stay here but we stay go here for a meal, my husband asked a local where to go for dinner and he suggested this place, it was very good. The atmosphere is welcoming and comfortable, the waitress and manager absolutely lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The food was home made and gorgeous, very happy we went here and would definately return. Was reasonably priced and the kids receiving coloring in pages and were welcomed as well. All in all a great night.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LissyL0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The deluxe queen room I stayed in at the Comfort Inn Goldfields Stawell was a large updated room with a separate comfortable, huge bathroom. The room had digital TV and a very comfy bed. The Motel complex is clean and well managed. The location is great, on the Melbourne side of Stawell just after the McDonalds on the left hand side. I will stay here again. The service was excellent too.

Room Tip: All the rooms are off the Main Road behind the Reception and Restaurant Complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkagu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I have stayed at the Goldfields Inn Motel twice, I cannot believe those BAD reports, The rooms are so clean, and the food has been SUPERB. As I am a sales rep and travell the counrty every second week, Trust me I have stayed in some HORRIBLE motels, I rank the GOLDFIELDS Motel in Stawell one of the best.
Those people must have PROBLEMS.
Regards
Paula

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank P8932OATraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stawell
12.9 mi away
Mountain View Motor Inn & Holiday Lodge
14.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Country Plaza Halls Gap
1.0 mi away
London Motor Inn
London Motor Inn
#1 of 6 in Stawell
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Diamond House Heritage Restaurant and Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Motel Stawell
Motel Stawell
#2 of 6 in Stawell
52 reviews
1.6 mi away
Magdala Motor Lodge
Magdala Motor Lodge
#3 of 6 in Stawell
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Goldfields? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Goldfields

Property: Comfort Inn Goldfields
Address: 7-9 Western Highway, Stawell, Victoria 3380, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Grampians > Stawell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in Stawell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Goldfields 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Goldfields reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing