We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stop Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Torquay Tropicana Motel
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Certificate of Excellence
Burpengary, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Stop Here”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Clean, friendly and well priced. When you are on the road and need a bed, this place is a little gem. Positioned just out of town so you may need your vehicle if you plan to do some sightseeing unless you don't mind a bit of a walk. I would stay here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kris_is_here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    47
    13
    4
    3
See reviews for
26
40
5
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Shepparton, Australia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

Stayed for one night on the long weekend, inexpensive accommodation in a good location. Rooms are a good size, bedding was clean and comfortable. Staff we're very friendly, we were running late and we're very appreciative of a courtesy call from the motel to check we were still coming as they were booked out. Only a short walk down to The Esplanade or to the surf shops and McDonalds.

Room Tip: Far enough off the main road so we didn't have any notice from vehicles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

good value through wotif . Room clean ,tidy comfortable and reasonably equipped . front desk manager very helpful with local advise on where to eat and with ongoing travel on places to visit and stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traralgon, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

The reception people were lovely, we really got along well with them, they were approachable and helpful when we needed and our allowed us total privacy. We got a family spa suite and it was extremely clean, modern and cosy. The beds were more comfy than those at our home. The spa/bathroom spotless and spacious. The pool and outdoor spa fresh, clean and relaxing. Not one complaint, we will make this our motel to be whenever touring the Otways and the great ocean road.

Room Tip: Family rooms are quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannianddave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

This was one of the best motels that we stayed in during our month tour of Australia. The motel is conveniently located near to the main road passing through Torquay, but the location is quiet and has easy access to the town's shopping area and restaurants. Our room was clean and comfortable, and contained all the usual amenities of an Australian motel room. We particularly enjoyed the good-sized pool and the surrounding sun lounger area. The staff who manage the motel were very friendly and welcoming.

On leaving the motel, I inadvertently left behind a pair of spectacles. The motel contacted me by e-mail to let me know and then arranged for the spectacles to be properly packed and sent to my home address in England, at my expense of course. This was exceptional customer service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony51515151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 2 nights in mid-January. I'd read some not-so favourable reviews before arriving, so wasn't expecting much.
However the man behind the counter was friendly, and happily provided us with a map and pointed out the best places to eat and shop.
Found the room to be clean and tidy. While nothing spectacular, and fairly outdated; it was more than comfortable. We were in room 1 - the pool was just outside our room. This made for a bit of extra noise, but nothing the air conditioner couldn't drown out!
The cleaning staff we're friendly and helpful, as was the lady when we checked out.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Becky L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrnambool, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We booked our holiday with inclusions of a DVD player and free wifi both were not available. The owner or manager was not very approachable and seemed to be not very happy we were there. I will not be returning to the tropicana hotel. The only plus was the housekeepers were very thorough and professional.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tex008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Torquay
0.7 mi away
Wyndham Resort Torquay
Wyndham Resort Torquay
#3 of 5 in Torquay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.7 mi away
Peppers The Sands Resort Torquay
1.3 mi away
RACV Torquay Resort
RACV Torquay Resort
#1 of 5 in Torquay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Surf City Motel
Surf City Motel
#5 of 5 in Torquay
3.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
9.3 mi away
Great Ocean Road Resort
Great Ocean Road Resort
#1 of 1 in Anglesea
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.1 mi away
Torquay Foreshore Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Torquay Tropicana Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Torquay Tropicana Motel

Property: Torquay Tropicana Motel
Address: 2 Grossmans Road | Cnr Surfcoast Hwy & Grossmans Rd, Torquay, Victoria 3228, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Torquay
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Torquay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Torquay Tropicana Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the coastal town of Torquay, Torquay Tropicana Motel boasts an outdoor swimming pool, free WiFi and free private parking within a 20-minute walk from Torquay’s patrolled beaches. Guests can relax in the garden, play table tennis or prepare a meal using the shared BBQ facilities. Located at the start of the Great Ocean Road, Torquay Tropicana Motel is 10-minute walk from the area’s famous surf shopping outlets including Quicksilver. The restaurants and cafes on Pearl and Gilbert Streets are also a 5-minute drive away. Guests can visit local surf spots including Bells Beach, which is a 10-minute drive from the motel. Each air-conditioned room at the Torquay Tropicana Motel offers a flat-screen TV and refreshment facilities including an electric kettle, a microwave and a refrigerator. The private bathrooms include free toiletries and a hairdryer. All rooms have a lovely garden view. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Torquay Tropicana Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing