We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic Caravan Park Close to Melbourne and Mountains”

Wantirna Park Caravan Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wantirna
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Wantirna Park Caravan Park
bow bowing
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Basic Caravan Park Close to Melbourne and Mountains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

If you are after a modern park this one is not for you. The park is dated. It seems to be mainly residential with a few " holiday" sites. Cabins look dated. We stayed on a powered site and it was fine for the short term. Easy access to the Dandenongs etc. Amenities were very clean. If you are travelling with kids or looking to stay somewhere for a longer stay I would suggest to look else where.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lynn t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    10
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
5
11
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Beaudesert, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We recently booked to stay 8 nights in the peak season in one of the cabins ..... what a shock to find a cabin which was well below any standard of accommodation you should expect in this day and age (3 star accommodation - I don't think so) especially for the price charged during the peak season. We respectfully requested a refund which was denied. We felt depressed and cheated and searched out other accommodation which admittedly cost twice the price (4 Star serviced apartment) but we received 10 times the service - beautiful modern accommodation with room serviced daily and refreshed with supplies, uncover parking, close to all amenities etc etc. It was a very expensive exercise for us but we learnt a valuable lesson - don't pre book and inspect before you buy. I would be ashamed to own and run this establishment and certainly would not return back to Wantirna Park Caravan Park.

Room Tip: Don't book the cabins.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank paulrR2581VE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wantirna hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2013

Read other reviews and think that they were accurate.The Person that gave 5 stars must be related somewhere.Found the onsite managers twitchy[Perhaps should be running a prison or boarding house.Do not query any accounts or complain!Limmited caravan sites.Spent a number of weeks over 3 separate visits in 2013.Doing kids birthdays[4]/Graduations/Mum visits/Bros 50th etc.Fortunately have rented a nice big house around the corner,where my caravan is now having a rest. Pros:Location/Clean toilets with music/Camp Kitchen. Cons:Noise[Cars Motorbikes in park].Broken concrete lumps stacked/locals/leantoos/Big Brother cameras

Room Tip: Park is mainly cabins/Leantoos.Would pay to go and have a look before commiting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tracey1325, Manager at Wantirna Park Caravan Park, responded to this review, 1 December 2013
We attempted to accommodate this guest as much as possible. He required longer than we were able to assist him with. We wonder why he would request to stay longer and continue to come back if the park was not to his standards. Also, we have no recollection of this customer querying his account. For the record, the other reviews have NOT been written by anyone associated with the park and we resent the implication.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broken Hill, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

Stayed 6 nights, would have left earlier but needed wheelchair access to bathrooms.
Reception was good and booking made easy, cheap place to stay in outer Melbourne. Good location, shops and mountains nearby. However, the caravan park is dank and musky, if you have sinus problems, you will have trouble breathing. Quite a few permanents in the park with mouldy canvas and blackened moss covered areas on their vans/cabins. Visitor cabins could do with a little more care and the shower recess is very small, considering the size of the bathroom. However, the cabin plan itself is good.

Room Tip: Rooms are quiet, be prepared for strong mildew smell in certain areas. Plus $10 for linen per bed, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OutbackPhantom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belair, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

My group recently had a group booking here in August . Have been dealing with the staff for months to arrange and always helpful. We had 11 cabins. All well appointed, clean, warm, all linen orders were provided. Camp kitchen was a great meeting room, with tv, heating, games and good size. Close to major shopping areas.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Simone C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Creek
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Have had to stay here 10 days in order to visit friends in the area. Park is predominately permanent low-income housing and it looks like it. Park is dirty with no pets allowed except for the managers' own dog who wanders the park at will. Sites are small and interspersed with the "locals" Our view was of a permanent's site with fire-hazard materials strewn behind his on-site caravan. Signage, other than to remind campers "NO PETS!", was very pool. My husband cut his hand rather badly attempting to open the door to the laundry room. Will we come back? When it snows in hell.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2013

Great place to stay close to everything. The staff are a pleasure to deal with always polite and helpful. Very reasonably priced for location I stay here quiet often because of work and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wantirna
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Knox
1.1 mi away
Golden Pebble Melbourne
Golden Pebble Melbourne
#1 of 3 in Wantirna
3.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.0 mi away
Dorset Gardens Hotel
Dorset Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Croydon
3.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
Lifestyle Apartments At Ferntree
#1 of 2 in Ferntree Gully
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
3.8 mi away
Novotel Glen Waverley
Novotel Glen Waverley
#1 of 4 in Glen Waverley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
7.4 mi away
Crystal Brook Tourist Park
Crystal Brook Tourist Park
#1 of 1 in Doncaster East
4.0 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wantirna Park Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wantirna Park Caravan Park

Property: Wantirna Park Caravan Park
Address: 203 Mountain Hwy, Wantirna, Victoria 3152, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Wantirna
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Wantirna

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing