We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“an absolute money graber terrible”

Lantern Ghost Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$28.99*
and up
Melbourne Ghost Tour
More Info
US$28.99*
and up
Altona Homestead Ghost Tour
Ranked #4 of 5 Tours in Williamstown
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be incarcerated in a Lunatic asylum, visit an abandoned morgue or be a ghost hunter for the night. Lantern Ghost Tours run award winning tours to Australia's most haunted locations. 2014 Tripadvisor Certificate of Excellence 2013 Telstra Australia Business Awards Finalist2013 RACV Tourism Awards Finalist 2013 Melbourne Fringe Festival 2013 Midsumma FestivalAs seen on Postcards, Coxy's Big Break, Eat Play Stay, Herald Sun, The Age, Sydney Morning Herald
Bendigo, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“an absolute money graber terrible”
Reviewed 17 May 2011

if there is one thing not to do in melbourne on friday the 13th then this is it
we booked dinner and tour and arrived from bendigo to have no dinner booking what a great start however the girl at young and jacksons was great she chased it up ..the meal was quite suitable for an entree but not a meal and the ghost tour charged us 40 bucks for the 29.50 meal then the tour of supposibly two hours ghost tour ? more a history tour what a complete waste

Visited May 2011
Helpful?
5 Thank parch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Owner at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Sorry to hear you did not enjoy your evening. I called the other guests who went on the same tour as you to check how the tour went and they said that the guide was great, tour was ontime and a few caught orbs and silhouttes on camera while one said she felt she was followed by one of our ghosts- Ama.

I contacted the Young and Jacksons about your dinner booking. We consistently receive great feedback from guests about the food which is why we partner with them. I found out there was a mix up but they corrected it and gave you the correct menu in the end which is a special, discounted menu only for guests who book through us and includes 2 courses + alcoholic beverage + sweet for $40.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    31
    9
    6
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Excellent Ghost Tour!!!”
Reviewed 1 May 2011

We went on the Williamstown Ghost Tour in April 2011. Had a wonderful time. The stories were great and very informative. We had a meal at the Steampacket Pub before going on the tour. The meal was wonderful and the guys at the pub were very hospitable. A great way to check out this historic little township. Definately worth the time!

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Beno1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Owner at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you so much for taking the time to review our tour. I have also passed your feedback onto the Steampacket who we book all our Williamstown dinners with.

Happy Haunting

Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic Melbourne Ghost Tour”
Reviewed 20 February 2011

We took this tour one Saturday night in January. We didn't see any ghosts but had a great time. We met our smallish group of about 25 at Federation Square at 8:30pm in the evening. Our host Jacqui was wonderful. She took us on a tour of laneways and pointed out bits about Melbourne's history. The two hours just flew by. Everyone in the group was happy and seemed to be enjoying themselves. Don't expect to see any real ghosts...this tour is all about entertainment. We had a good, cheap night out and would recommend the tour.

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank chloet64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Waverley, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Willaimstown ghost tour is a scam”
Reviewed 15 January 2011

This would have to be one of the most tedious historically inaccurate tours I have ever attended. The tour guide was condescending, inaudible and historically inaccurate.
There was absolutely no atmosphere, stories about area were cut short, made no sense or recycled from other tours of other areas. People who had not paid joined the tour. Not a great mention of Ghosts just a lot of generalisations and excessive mentions of brothels. Considering the heavy convict history including prison hulks in the area, you would think a lot of stories existed, but no mention was made.
I should have smelt a rat when the tour guide mentioned at the end of the tour the tales were “based “ on fact. The only fact I could find was this is a big waste of time and money

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
7 Thank terrymc93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LanternGhostTours, Owner at Lantern Ghost Tours, responded to this review, 3 August 2011
Thank you for booking our tour. Your review has caused great concern. Can you please tell me which date and time you went on the tour?

We are members of the Williamstown Historic Society and all our stories are thoroughly researched. We are also appointed by the Visitor Centre and Council to run history tours in the area and are often used as a source of historical information.

You have also mentioned that there was no mention of prison hulks in Williamstown. We always include a whole section about the Prison Hulks at Point Gellibrand. We talk about Owen Owens, John Price, the five hulks and the prisoners' lives. Could you please tell me if this entire section was ommitted from the tour?

If there was any information you believe to be historically inaccurate, can you please tell us and we will show you our sources of information for those facts.

Thank you in advance

Jacqui
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
“Fantastic Fun Highly Recommended”
Reviewed 28 June 2010

We hadn't heard of Williamstown but were intrigued and so glad we went on the tour. Williamstown is a historic and beautiful seaside town with an english village feel about it. There is no better way to explore it then by lantern. We visited old lanes, beautiful pubs and abandoned streets. Our guide, Pauline, was great fun and this was by far the best ghost tour we have ever been on...small group visiting empty streets with a very, very eerie feel.

Recommend over the Melbourne tour (when we went on the Haunted Bookshop Tour there were over 100 people and I didn't hear a word. The streets were full of lager louts and the tour guide didn't even say hi to us).

Go on the Lantern Ghost Tour, you'll love it,

Helpful?
Thank SallyDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lantern Ghost Tours also viewed

 
Point Cook, Greater Melbourne
 

Been to Lantern Ghost Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing