We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired but great location”
Review of Quest Williamstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quest Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Tired but great location”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have to agree with the other reviewers. This property is looking tired. We have stayed there several times as it is right at the ferry wharf that connects to the city.
On our last stay we were promised a room at the front, but that changed on checkin.

The place is certainly in need of a makeover.

If guests use their decks this can also be very noisy and led to our lack of sleep.

Sadly the desk is not manned 24/7 so there is no help to quieten other rooms down.

It is a great little town and could not be in a better location

We had a birthday function in the restaurant Pelicans Landing, and it was certainly worth the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for and insist upon a room with a view at the front of the property. These rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    111
    50
    16
    11
See reviews for
65
65
13
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed for one night during the week whilst on a business trip. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in. The view from the small window was of the boat yard . The apartment was barely big enough for one person. The apartment felt more like a prison cell. I usually stay at quest apartments of which all are usually well appointed and spacious. This apartment was the complete opposite. The apartment faced away from the park and water. The couch faced a wall and the tv sat to the left of the couch .you were unable to relax on the couch and watch tv. The bed was exceptionally firm .good choice of pillows. Bathroom was the usual for quest apartments. Manager was very friendly and the meal at pelicans rest was a huge tasty meal . Breakfast at the local cafe was also superb . Williamstown is a lovely spot to stay near the city.loved the quietness and boutique feel to the town. Maybe ask for an apartment with a balcony which will ensure you have a view and more natural

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a balcony as you will then have a view of the park and more natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussanne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed in the apartment overlooking Hobsons Bay
Million dollar views.
Excellent value for money. This is a self catering facility and is a little tired in terms of decor and fittings but overall the front rooms are superb especially with the balcony to sit on and enjoy the views over the water to Melbourne.
I don't think the more rear facing rooms would be so attractive

Room Tip: The bay facing rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Booked the Quest Williamstown 2 bedroom apartment for one night for myself and 3 family members visiting from UK. Loved the location, celebrated husbands 70th birthday with 20 family members in the Pelican's Landing apartment in the same building, it was wonderful.
Specified in the Quest booking that one of our number was wheelchair dependent requesting they ensured wheelchair access. This was noted on the booking confirmation and of course this Quest advertises disability access.
Booked in late in the afternoon, all of us including my cousin in her wheelchair were at reception to book in. We quickly dropped our bags inside the apartment and left immediately to meet other family members for dinner locally. Arrived back around 9.30pm and finally checked out the apartment. Shock, horror one small bathroom for all guests with shower over the bath, only redeeming feature was one separate toilet. Master bedroom was enormous, plenty of room for an ensuite shower room. No windows in second bedroom!
Of course at this late hour reception was closed, my poor cousin had to try and a) get in and out of the toilet from her wheelchair and b) make do with a 'wash'.
I expressed my embarrasment and disappointment to the lady on reception the next morning, I was particularly angry that the man who booked us in had not realised or bother to mention that he had given us the keys to an apartment which was totally unsuitable for a disabled person. Nor had Quest notified same when I booked 12 days earlier, plenty of time for me to have made alternative accommodation arrangements.
The lady on reception apologised having checked my booking request re wheelchair access which was noted, but I would have thought that someone from Quest would have emailed or contact me to apologise for this debacle. There is a disability room at this location, had I been notified I would have requested that plus another double room instead of the suite.

Room Tip: Don't take 'disabled friendly' signs for granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phillip Island, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We stayed for 1 night last weekend & could not have been happier. Nicely located, secure parking, friendly staff, clean & spacious enough for 3 of us, in a 1 bedroom apartment. We had a room on the 2nd floor which overlooked the park & water. Was so peaceful at night. We would have no hesitation in staying here again or recommending it to others. Will book in for longer next time.

Room Tip: 2nd Floor overlooking the park & water was wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Woolamaichick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
791 reviews
186 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 342 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Kate and her helpful staff really try hard here with the Quest Williamstown apartments. We stayed here for 2 weeks, and although not luxury, the accommodation is clean, spacious and comfortable. Some of the equipment in the kitchen is getting to its sell by date, but functions. The lighting is low energy, which although may be good for the planet, makes the atmosphere a bit dingy at night. Complimentary underground parking is given (a bonus for Williamstown), but the internet is still charged for, which I find unnecessary in these more enlightened times.
The location is a big plus point, being right on the Gem Pier in Williamstown, close to many restaurants (some surprisingly good). The local tourist floatplane and cruise / ferry boat are just outside. The station for the regular service to Melbourne is a 5 minute walk, with Williamstown Beach 15 minutes away.
Williamstown has a holiday seaside town atmosphere (and is a great place to watch the Melbourne New Year fireworks from). It certainly makes a great alternative to Central Melbourne.

Room Tip: Floor 2 overlooking the park was good. Best to be a few doors down to avoid function room noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crawfie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maitland, NSW, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2012

Stayed one night only - Williamstown is a lovely spot and the Quest is in a good located. The room was clean and of a good size, but the TV was the smallest I have seen in a hotel for a long time and the bed was the hardest that I have slept on. Our room was next to the keyed entry and all night we were woken by people coming home. I could not recommend this hotel for a good night’s sleep.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chipps09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
448 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 160 in Melbourne
2,961 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
The Sebel Melbourne Docklands
#55 of 160 in Melbourne
668 reviews
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Williamstown

Property: Quest Williamstown
Address: 1 Syme St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Williamstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing