We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice spot, on the water, under the radar.”
Review of Quest Williamstown

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Quest Williamstown
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
114 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Nice spot, on the water, under the radar.”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 via mobile

A warm welcome, nice rooms, very clean, interesting room layout, nicely located close to food-pubs-other good spots, comfy and homely. Will make this my Melbourne place to stay on the days when international hotel brands don't appeal and a comfy spot on the water,close to the city, is preferred.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tastytucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    108
    49
    15
    11
See reviews for
64
64
13
86
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Good location but for the hefty price you expect a lot better. Whatever you do do not accept Room 1. It cops noise on all fronts ranging from the bar/restaurant, function centre (wedding both Sat & Sun nights) and the clean-ups that occur afterwards. Even had a noisy fridge and people going in and out of reception, catching taxis, you name it. The walls are no noise barrier whatsoever. I'm unsure about other rooms, so check this if you choose to stay. As well I keep wondering why hotels & other accommodation continue to provide such crappy pillows (how much does a pillow cost really?). This place the pillows were like sleeping on concrete. Not good value all round.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Graham F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

What ever you do, do not accept a booking in Room 15

This rooms bed is directly above the carpark automatic gates; every time it open/closes you will hear it, not so good from 5am and non-stop

Issue raised with reception staff on check out, reply included; that's what happens when you don't book directly with us and what is it you expect from us!!!!! I was not notified of issue at checkin, therefore not able to request an upgrade

Interestly that this is also the room with the disabiity facilities....... Obviously they really care about the customer!

Room Tip: Do not accept a room booking in Rm 15
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Btravel63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
341 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

I have to agree with the other reviewers. This property is looking tired. We have stayed there several times as it is right at the ferry wharf that connects to the city.
On our last stay we were promised a room at the front, but that changed on checkin.

The place is certainly in need of a makeover.

If guests use their decks this can also be very noisy and led to our lack of sleep.

Sadly the desk is not manned 24/7 so there is no help to quieten other rooms down.

It is a great little town and could not be in a better location

We had a birthday function in the restaurant Pelicans Landing, and it was certainly worth the price.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for and insist upon a room with a view at the front of the property. These rooms a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mastermuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Stayed for one night during the week whilst on a business trip. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in. The view from the small window was of the boat yard . The apartment was barely big enough for one person. The apartment felt more like a prison cell. I usually stay at quest apartments of which all are usually well appointed and spacious. This apartment was the complete opposite. The apartment faced away from the park and water. The couch faced a wall and the tv sat to the left of the couch .you were unable to relax on the couch and watch tv. The bed was exceptionally firm .good choice of pillows. Bathroom was the usual for quest apartments. Manager was very friendly and the meal at pelicans rest was a huge tasty meal . Breakfast at the local cafe was also superb . Williamstown is a lovely spot to stay near the city.loved the quietness and boutique feel to the town. Maybe ask for an apartment with a balcony which will ensure you have a view and more natural

Room Tip: Ask for an apartment with a balcony as you will then have a view of the park and more natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sussanne51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed in the apartment overlooking Hobsons Bay
Million dollar views.
Excellent value for money. This is a self catering facility and is a little tired in terms of decor and fittings but overall the front rooms are superb especially with the balcony to sit on and enjoy the views over the water to Melbourne.
I don't think the more rear facing rooms would be so attractive

Room Tip: The bay facing rooms are a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlsanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creswick, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 3 April 2013

Booked the Quest Williamstown 2 bedroom apartment for one night for myself and 3 family members visiting from UK. Loved the location, celebrated husbands 70th birthday with 20 family members in the Pelican's Landing apartment in the same building, it was wonderful.
Specified in the Quest booking that one of our number was wheelchair dependent requesting they ensured wheelchair access. This was noted on the booking confirmation and of course this Quest advertises disability access.
Booked in late in the afternoon, all of us including my cousin in her wheelchair were at reception to book in. We quickly dropped our bags inside the apartment and left immediately to meet other family members for dinner locally. Arrived back around 9.30pm and finally checked out the apartment. Shock, horror one small bathroom for all guests with shower over the bath, only redeeming feature was one separate toilet. Master bedroom was enormous, plenty of room for an ensuite shower room. No windows in second bedroom!
Of course at this late hour reception was closed, my poor cousin had to try and a) get in and out of the toilet from her wheelchair and b) make do with a 'wash'.
I expressed my embarrasment and disappointment to the lady on reception the next morning, I was particularly angry that the man who booked us in had not realised or bother to mention that he had given us the keys to an apartment which was totally unsuitable for a disabled person. Nor had Quest notified same when I booked 12 days earlier, plenty of time for me to have made alternative accommodation arrangements.
The lady on reception apologised having checked my booking request re wheelchair access which was noted, but I would have thought that someone from Quest would have emailed or contact me to apologise for this debacle. There is a disability room at this location, had I been notified I would have requested that plus another double room instead of the suite.

Room Tip: Don't take 'disabled friendly' signs for granted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargW82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Quest St Kilda Bayside
#1 of 19 in St Kilda
446 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
Radisson on Flagstaff Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#38 of 159 in Melbourne
2,852 reviews
Southbank
The Langham
The Langham
#5 of 159 in Melbourne
5,416 reviews
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quest Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quest Williamstown

Property: Quest Williamstown
Address: 1 Syme St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quest Williamstown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Quest Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing