We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Fantastic Breakfast".......not on this occasion”

Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Ranked #3 of 5 Williamstown B&B and Inns
Worcester, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“"Fantastic Breakfast".......not on this occasion”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2011

We were disappointed having travelled all the way from the UK and specifically asking about the "Fantastic Cooked Breakfasts" to find that Stephanie and her husband were away on holiday. We were greeted by their son who advised that a continental breakfast would be served in the morning. I queried this saying that we had booked specifically because they provided a full cooked breakfast. Their son replied "you really wouldn't like to eat my cooking"
So we had 2 days of toast and fruit, not he best way to start the day in my opinion.
We paid a lot of money for the accommodation so you would have thought that if one of the major selling points of this place ie "Fantastic Cooked Breakfast" would have been covered by someone who could at least fry an egg and grill some bacon.
Stephanie and her husband returned on the Thursday evening as we were due to leave on the Friday, I approached Stephanie about a reduction due to the fact that full english breakfast had not been provided. She was not forthcoming with that saying "You got a better rate than most people because you booked on line"
We left disappointed and due to the almost off hand treatment we received would not stay there again or recommend it any of our friends.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
We do apologise for this particular circumstance in that we took two days off to visit family in Queensland and omitted to notify this particular guest that Breakfast for two days would be Continental only. On the final morning of their stay they received the usual fully cooked breakfast options. This was an oversight on our part and hopefully will never happen again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    5
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
12
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

I booked a 2 bedroom self contained cottage run by Stephanie's, 3 months prior and confirmed 1 week before as requested. Upon arrival, we were told that our cottage was being used by a family with children who had taken their option to extend their stay (to be fair, Stephanie had tried to contact my husband the NIGHT BEFORE, without success). We were offered two rooms at the bed and breakfast (with free breakfast) or a 1 bedroom cottage. As there were 3 adults, neither suited our needs, but being peak season we felt we had no alternative, but to take the cottage. No price reduction was offered until asked for. It was then accepted. The cottage was clean with a nice shower, but there was no kitchen and one person had to sleep in the lounge on a pull out sofa. The coffee was Home Brand and undrinkable! Five tea bags were supplied and 3 cakes of soap, for three people over a 2 night stay. We requested and were given more tea bags. I have never complained about accommodation before, but felt this was unusually poor on a number of counts..

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank psych40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed overnight and had the most lovely room, it was large and very comfortable. Had a lovely big spa bath and king bed, our own little courtyard. We stayed on the Saturday night and the accomadation was full not that we could hear a soul, didnt see anybody until breakfast. The Breakfast was just surperb. Stephanie is very friendly and most helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanlau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kapunda, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

It looks like its on a busy road - which it might be during the day, but over the weekend and at night it was really quiet. Staying in the king room, it was a large open room, big freestanding wardrobe, king bed, open fireplace, old world decor. The bed was comfortable, and sleeping was no issue. Private bathroom, with claw footed bath. Small private courtyard off the room. Free wi-fi, and the most amazing breakfasts. Normally we stay in hotels where you are greeted on checkin and then become "just a guest" not here. At breakfast Steph introduces you to the other guests, remembering everyones names and what type of coffee they had the previous morning. Its a great way to say Hi to fellow guests. One morning we had a brunch function to attend at one of Williamstowns better eateries - sadly their breakfast was nothing compared to the on Steph and her husband put on. Some of the best pancakes I've had.
Location wise its a short walk to Williamstown, and a short walk the other direction to Wiliamstown North train station. Would we stay here again - yep, without any hesitation.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's, responded to this review, 4 July 2011
It's great when Guests appreciate what we do for them.

We take great pride in all aspects of our business and in particular our breakfasts. We go to great lengths to make sure all of our ingredients are as fresh as possible!
Our guests squeeze their own orange juice, we roast our own coffee beans fresh each week and we shop daily for all other produce. Fresh herbs are grown on site and picked each morning for all cooked breakfast options.

We love the reaction we get to our cooked breakfasts.

For those Guests who do not require breakfast we do have a less expensive "no breakfast option."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
4.1 mi away
Middle Park Hotel
Middle Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Middle Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.6 mi away
Captains Retreat
Captains Retreat
#1 of 5 in Williamstown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.0 mi away
Quest Williamstown North
Quest Williamstown North
#2 of 7 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Quest Williamstown
Quest Williamstown
#1 of 7 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.7 mi away
North Haven by the Sea B&B
North Haven by the Sea B&B
#4 of 5 in Williamstown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.6 mi away
Punthill Williamstown
Punthill Williamstown
#3 of 7 in Williamstown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's

Property: Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's
Address: 157 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stephanies Cottage and Stephanies Apartment are still here (newly refurbished) and are now managed by Melissa and the team from Captains Retreat (The Stephanie's B&B house has been sold). Now known as 'Stephanies Cottage - courtyard apartment' and 'Stephanies Cottage' - heritage apartment, this delightful Victorian cottage has been divided into two completely separate apartments and have been stylishly decorated by Melissa with fantastically comfortable beds. The front apartment is accessed from Ferguson St. The rear apartment is accessed from Little Ferguson St. Details as follows: Stephanie's Cottage - Courtyard Aparment (1 bedroom): Suitable for single or couple. Delightful 1 bedroom cottage with high ceilings and period features. Separate lounge room. Front veranda with view onto Ferguson St. Queen bedroom. Separate toilet. Separate laundry. Bathroom with separate shower and bath. N.B. No kitchen - but does have small fridge, kettle, microwave, toaster, crockery, cutlery etc. Stephanie's Cottage - Heritage Apartment (1.5 Bedroom): Suitable for single or couple or small family. (N.B. The bathroom is an ensuite so access is via the queen bedroom). Modern 2-storey apartment with paved courtyard garden (can fit one car). Large open kitchen living with French doors onto the courtyard. 1 Queen bedroom with en-suite. Second mezzanine room with twin beds Washing machine. The Stephanies Cottage apartments are half way between the shops and the beach (10 minute walk each way). They are also only a 2-minute walk from Williamstown North Station so it is an easy train ride into the CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bed and Breakfast at Stephanie's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing