We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Position in Williamstown”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Punthill Williamstown
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Position in Williamstown”
Reviewed 21 October 2013 via mobile

We recently attended a wedding in beautiful Williamstown. I had never been before so was unsure what to expect. We travelled by train and found Punthill Williamstown an easy couple of blocks walk. It is situated conveniently next to the bay where there are a lot of choices for eating or just sitting and relaxing. I have stayed at Punthill before and always find the rooms extremely clean and comfortable. We were greeted and looked after very well by the friendly couple at reception. There is also the option for breakfast, continental or otherwise. Willamstown is a peaceful place to visit if only for a quiet weekend getaway and Punthill Williamstown
comes highly recommended!

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank mi55y66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Dear mi55y66,
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Punthill Williamstown.
As a return guest to Punthill, we are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay at our Williamstown property. This bayside suburb really does have a lot to offer, and is still so easily accessible from the city, as you mentioned.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill again soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    42
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
13
41
2
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We went over for the AFL Grand Final and of course everywhere in Melbourne CBD put their prices up disgustingly, but not in Williamstown. So that was part of the reason for staying there.. Also we wanted to be a bit out of all the crush of people in the CBD but still be close enough to go into the city for the footy and to catch up with friends. But the biggest reason is that last time we visited Melbourne we discovered Williamstown and it is stunning! It's across the bay from the CBD and can be reached by train or by a lovely ferry ride across the bay, under gorgeous little bridges, through Docklands etc and into the city. We didn't even go into town on our last day, we just meandered around the streets of Williamstown. We found spectacular eateries and pubs, the view is just stunning and it feels like your out in the country on holidays... you have to go to Williamstown..... it is beautiful.. THe hotel is a short walk from the water and the pier, and all the restaurants etc. We had a studio room and yet it was still a separate bedroom with a TV in it. IT was all beautifully modern and extremely clean. Reception staff were fantastic and they even organised a driver to take us the airport for about the same cost as a taxi - lovely touch.

Room Tip: Studio 219 - second floor - excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumwife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Dear mumwife,
Thank you for your lovely review of Punthill Williamstown.
We agree that the location of this property in bayside Williamstown is outstanding. So many shops and eateries are on your doorstep, and it is also easy to get into Melbourne city centre as you mentioned.
The team at the property will be thrilled to know that all your expectations were met during your recent stay, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Rooms are a great size. Stayed in a 1 bedroom apartment and it had everything I needed. Only overnighted so can't comment on kitchen facilities in the apartment but looked to be adequate.
Apartment was clean, no smells, furniture all well cleaned and the bed was incredibly comfortable. Best night's sleep I've had away from home.

Will definitely go back when in the area. Williamstown foreshore was really nice too and a nice easy walk from the hotel takes you along the shoreline and back.

Can't comment on food. Check-in went smoothly and staff friendly and proficient.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marita K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 8 September 2013
Dear travel_intelligence,
Thanks for taking the time to provide your review of Punthill Williamstown.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your recent overnight stay. We hope that you may be able to stay a bit longer on your next visit!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 September 2013

On 14 July 2013 I booked four nights in a disabled access room for my wheelchair dependant wife we received written notification that this had been done. On arrival on the 7 August after a long day on the road we were informed that the room was occupied and would be available the next night.so began a night of horror,the bathroom door was too narrow for a wheelchair and a great deal of force required to get to the toilet plus no rails to hang onto.not able to shower as that was in the bath.so a night of agony began for her,she wept every time she had to struggle and battle with the toilet which was four times during the night with my assistance.we experienced a lifetime of horror in just one night .a night to remember , the wife has been put off travel forever.

Room Tip: Once we got to the disabled access room on the second night the toilet and shower were easy to get t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Edith H,
We sincerely apologise - no excuses other than human error. We are really sorry and are contacting you today to make amends.
We do hope that you will give us the opportunity of welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

We stayed for 3 days whilst on business. Excellent location in Williamstown in the heart of shops, restaurants and the foreshore area. Three blocks away is the train station and the ferry is close by along the waterfront. The room was very well presented, clean and comfortable. Its a quiet area with easy access to everything. If you need to access the city everyday Id probably stay somewhere more central but if you want to get out of the rat race but still have everything at your disposal then this will suit you.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Belgian_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 19 August 2013
Dear Belgian_Gal,
Thanks so much for your lovely review of Punthill Williamstown.
We agree that the location of this bayside apartment hotel is fantastic, and we are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill soon.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the apartments for my aunt's 90th birthday which was 2 doors down at the Strand. We found the service fast and efficient. The rooms were large and modern, the bed comfortable and the shower hot and strong. The bathroom was large as was the room. While we didn't use the kitchen to cook meals, we noted that it was well stocked and clean. Perhaps my only criticism was the breakfast was a little ordinary. As we stayed on a weekend, no hot breakfast was on offer. The choices were a little limited. Perhaps the addition of muesli or a fruit platter would be good. Maybe danishes or banana bread would be beneficial.
Overall we would definitely stay at Punthill Williamstown again and highly recommend it to anyone wishing to stay put of the CBD.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolewadd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 4 August 2013
Dear Carolewadd,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Williamstown.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the apartments and service at the property and do hope that your aunt had a lovely birthday!
We provide a continental breakfast on Saturday and Sunday mornings as you mentioned, and do offer a selection of cereals - which often includes muesli as well - along with various breads including fruit bread, tinned fruit packs and assorted yoghurts.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
128 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I stayed here for work recently. Williamstown in general is a great alternative to staying in the city.... much less traffic and its a great little oasis next to the water, with loads of great restaurants and pubs within walking distance.

The apartments have free parking with easy access. Check in was fine, no dramas there.

The apartment I had was a one bedroom, and it was facing the road. No noise issues whatsoever, as this street is quite of a night anyway. The rooms are very modern, with nice furnishings. The kitchen is functional and nice, as was the bathroom.

Overall this is a top option in Williamstown

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michele B, Guest Relations Manager at Punthill Williamstown, responded to this review, 3 June 2013
Dear TheClarkeClan,
Thank you for your review of Punthill Williamstown.
We are delighted that you enjoyed the apartments, facilities and service at Punthill Williamstown. We agree that this bayside area is a great alternative to the city too!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Punthill in the future.
Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Williamstown
Quest Sanctuary Lakes
#1 of 2 in Point Cook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
Punthill Northbank Melbourne
#45 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
Central Business District
Punthill Flinders Lane Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Punthill South Yarra Grand
#74 of 159 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Punthill Burwood
#2 of 3 in Burwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Punthill Williamstown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Punthill Williamstown

Property: Punthill Williamstown
Address: 4-18 Ferguson St, Williamstown, Hobsons Bay, Victoria 3016, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Greater Melbourne > Hobsons Bay > Williamstown
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Williamstown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Punthill Williamstown 4.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Punthill Williamstown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punt Hill Hotel Williamstown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing