We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Motel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Border Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great Motel”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Comfortable clean rooms, with big bathroom. Flat screen TV and DVD (great choice of films available from reception) and very comfy to watch them from!! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. ideal location; quiet, yet close to everything. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stopped here just for the night between Sydney and Melbourne. Did the trick for us cheap, cheerful, and fairly clean and tidy. Just had one big room and can't really complain about anything.
Sure its old , but what do you want for the price. Kids enjoyed a cool down swim in the pool

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44happytravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Reception was friendly and we were given a small carton of real milk for our stay. The room was bright and clean, with a sofa, table and chairs, good size fridge, toaster, and a dvd player. The motel has a good range of dvd movies available to borrow. The other option for the evening would be the nearby hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria. australia.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely room. Large, spotlessly clean and a sofa to relax on, a must for me.
The Hosts were very friendly and helpful from initial phone inquiry to check out.
Very pretty pool area and lawns with large parking spaces.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaysie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
874 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 375 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We left Melbourne later than planned and decided to stop for the night in Wodonga and chose the Border Gateway, which is on the outskirts of Wodonga, allowing easy access to the Hume Freeway. It is also across the road from a hotel which has a good dining room for a country hotel.
The location was quiet and our sleep uninterrupted. Our basics for an unplanned stop are a clean room, comfortable bed and hot shower and they excelled in all departments. The room was large, the bed soft and good quality pillows, and the shower was huge with a good supply of hot water. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and we would make it our first choice on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2012

Have stayed here on a regular basis over the past three years and always find the rooms very clean and quiet. Good value and excellent breakfast.
The owners are very accommodating and friendly at all times and provide the "homely" experience of a smaller venue.
Will continue to use this property without hesitation.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed in this motel for only one night but it would be a great place to stay longer . The room was spacious with a queen size and single bed - there was a table and chairs - heaps of space. Clean and with a microwave which was a bonus. Well situated - opposite a pub with great meals and the owners were very friendly and helpful. Would recommend. Great Value.

Room Tip: All rooms were off the road andit was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AussieCloggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wodonga
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.1 mi away
Belvoir Village Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Murray Valley Motel
Murray Valley Motel
#3 of 8 in Wodonga
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
0.2 mi away
Best Western Stagecoach Motel
1.7 mi away
Motel Wellington
Motel Wellington
#7 of 8 in Wodonga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Gateway Motel

Property: Border Gateway Motel
Address: 6 Moorefield Park Dr, Wodonga, Victoria 3690, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wodonga
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Border Gateway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet 10 room Motel, with big comfortable rooms, and recently modernized bathrooms, conveniently located off the main road opposite Edwards Tavern where evening meals are available, the Motel provides ample parking, and free internet. Don't book on line, book direct and save. Golden Chain and Seniors discounts available only with direct bookings with the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Border Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing