We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Border Gateway Motel
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Above average”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

This motel is on the Melbourne side of Wodonga; very near the freeway, but far enough away to be beautifully quiet. Clean and comfortable. Only 10 rooms in total and plenty of outdoor space. Cars can be parked with doors fully open - really handy when loading through the side doors as we do (plus the rear). Pub across the road has good food too.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Revelation780
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    15
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
16
1
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Stopped for the night on the way to Canberra and was greeted with a friendly conversation and helpful information regarding places to get a meal. Edwards Tavern is right across the road. Will definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Single story with parking at front of unit - wide parking bays
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Comfortable clean rooms, with big bathroom. Flat screen TV and DVD (great choice of films available from reception) and very comfy to watch them from!! Reception staff very friendly and helpful. ideal location; quiet, yet close to everything. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

Stopped here just for the night between Sydney and Melbourne. Did the trick for us cheap, cheerful, and fairly clean and tidy. Just had one big room and can't really complain about anything.
Sure its old , but what do you want for the price. Kids enjoyed a cool down swim in the pool

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44happytravels44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Reception was friendly and we were given a small carton of real milk for our stay. The room was bright and clean, with a sofa, table and chairs, good size fridge, toaster, and a dvd player. The motel has a good range of dvd movies available to borrow. The other option for the evening would be the nearby hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria. australia.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

We had a lovely room. Large, spotlessly clean and a sofa to relax on, a must for me.
The Hosts were very friendly and helpful from initial phone inquiry to check out.
Very pretty pool area and lawns with large parking spaces.
We will certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gaysie55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
864 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2012

We left Melbourne later than planned and decided to stop for the night in Wodonga and chose the Border Gateway, which is on the outskirts of Wodonga, allowing easy access to the Hume Freeway. It is also across the road from a hotel which has a good dining room for a country hotel.
The location was quiet and our sleep uninterrupted. Our basics for an unplanned stop are a clean room, comfortable bed and hot shower and they excelled in all departments. The room was large, the bed soft and good quality pillows, and the shower was huge with a good supply of hot water. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly and we would make it our first choice on our next trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wodonga
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
0.1 mi away
Belvoir Village Motel & Apartments
0.2 mi away
Murray Valley Motel
Murray Valley Motel
#3 of 8 in Wodonga
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Western Stagecoach Motel
3.3 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
1.7 mi away
Motel Wellington
Motel Wellington
#7 of 8 in Wodonga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Border Gateway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Border Gateway Motel

Property: Border Gateway Motel
Address: 6 Moorefield Park Dr, Wodonga, Victoria 3690, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wodonga
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Border Gateway Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet 10 room Motel, with big comfortable rooms, conveniently located off the main road opposite Edwards Tavern where evening meals are available, the Motel provides ample parking, and free internet. Don't book on line, book direct and save. Golden Chain and Seniors discounts available only with direct bookings with the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Border Gateway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing