We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly reception”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly reception”
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We only stayed here for 1 night, but was impressed with friendly reception we received, the clean rooms, and the buffet breakfast.
Fresh milk is offered to you on arrival for the complimentary tea, coffee (and biscuits) in the room.
This is a great place for bush walkers.
It's just on the outskirts of Wodonga, just off a main road, but surprisingly quiet.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tiggy0710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 7 August 2013
Dear tiggi0710

It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and were impressed with the friendly reception you received, clean rooms and buffet breakfast.

If you are in the area again we would love to be able to assist your with accommodation needs.

Sincerely

Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    94
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
97
75
10
62
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

The room was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable. When people book a 2 bedroom apartment the lounge room is an important part of the room but it was very poorly set out with only enough lounge seating to accommodate 3 people. The lounge was also fully tiled which was terribly cold. We left for the day expecting our room to be serviced with fresh towels and beds made up but it was not as someone had gone past and slid the "do not disturb" sign across our front door. Maybe housekeeping need a better system. Overall the room was not worth the $250 per night.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ag2208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 1 August 2013
Dear Ag2208

Thank you for your review. It is pleasing to hear that "The room was clean and tidy. The beds were comfortable."

When booking an apartment it needs to feel like a home away from home and this is what we strive for. We are surprised that your state there was only seating enough for three. Each of the two bedroom spa suites contain a 3 seat lounge and one occasional chair which can seat four people comfortably.

Regarding your comments surrounding housekeeping, our policy is that no staff are allowed to enter a room with 'Do Not Disturb' displayed. When this is the case the housekeeping supervisor and reception team are alerted to the status. Follow ups on the status are conducted throughout the shift with the status being checked a minimum of three times. The final check is conducted just before the team are due to leave for the day.

After checking with our team, we have been advised that you brought your concerns to our reception team. At this time our receptionist left the office and attended to your suite brining you fresh towels and asking you if you would like other items attended to such as tea and coffee replenished, rubbish removed and offered to remove your used towels. All of these were declined. Our receptionist advised us she was then thanked and offered if there was anything else you needed to simply ask and we would be happy to provide it.

In this case we really are not sure what else we could have done however we welcome any suggestions you may have regarding our housekeeping or other services.

Sincerely

Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Comfort Inn Blazing Stump just sent me an Email to say how delighted they were to be able to accommodate me. Unfortunately I was forced to return home to attend a family funeral early on the day of the intended stay. As I always do when in this situation, I did them the courtesy of calling to say I would not be able to make it.
Their response was classic, "well sir you have prepaid for the room, I am sorry we are unable to refund any of your payment".
Yes it was only 11 or 12 hours notice not the regulation 24 hours, but in all my stays, in excess of 100 room nights per year for the last 16 years, I have never been charged for a room I was unable to use when I was able to give what I consider reasonable notice.
Well my 100 nights per year will never again be tainted by a Comfort Inn, my apologies to all the other Comfort Inn people I have previously stayed with who are on the whole very decent and welcoming.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brett C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 30 July 2013
Hi Brett C

It is disappointing to read your review. Unfortunately the information you have provided herein varies from the conversation during our recent telephone call with you.

At 6pm on the day of your arrival you called and advised us that you were "stuck in a regional town after putting unleaded fuel in your hire car's diesel tank". It was then advised that you may be able to make it but after closing time. We advised we were more than happy to arrange an after hours arrival for you.

When payment arrangements were questioned, we reminded you that the booking had been made on-line and prepaid. At this stage you decided to cancel the booking, understanding that you had ticked the box on-line agreeing to the clear and visible terms and conditions.

As the phone call you made to us, was at 6pm the same evening you were due to arrive, we advised that we were no longer able to re-sell your room after holding it for your exclusive occupancy.

During our conversation there was no mention of a "funeral" nor was there "11 or 12 hours notice" as stated in your review.

We were unable to offer you a refund, however you were offered to change dates, should you need to.

As a motel we do have what we believe to be a quite flexible policy with 24 hours notice. On-line booking agents with our motel do have a no cancellation or changes policy which is clearly displayed and and must be agreed to in order to proceed in the booking process.

This said, we completely understand that emergencies happen and when they do each case is judged upon it's merit. At times we may be able to change dates to accommodate last minute changes or emergencies as was offered to you.

Unfortunately in this case however, the motel cannot be placed at fault for the issues that occurred with your hire car.

We understand that this journey would have been your first stay with us. We also understand that you may choose not to return to Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump.

Whilst we are disappointed with your review, we also take pride in being transparent with our guests through our actions and policies. We are also pleased to continue to offer a consistent high level of service to our many guests that have stayed as you can see in our other reviews.

Sincerely

Cellina Little
for
Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2013

I often travel through the Albury/wodonga area staying in the heart of town.
I made a booking not expecting much when pulling up due to the tired looking exterior.
On first impression it looked small and tired until I drive in and the establishment is much larger then it looks.
I stayed in a twin share room a bit different having two queen sized beds in my room a first experience for me.
The room was warm and comfortable. A little outdated but in saying that also it was cosy.
A great hotel next door in which we ordered dinner from there great diverse menu.
To our biggest surprise was the embers room in which they serve breakfast.
The buffet set up was amazing catering for everything. My partner is bed health contious aswell as being a ciliac, in which they cater for. Generally we are only able to get gluten free bread if we are lucky but she had multiple options and the chef was very accommodating and happy too cool us anything to suit.
The staff in the whole establishment are a real credit to the place and I'd like to thank all staff for a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redgemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 29 July 2013
Redgemma,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. Feedback from our guests is very important to us and your input helps with our continuing efforts to provide excellent service and a great stay.

For the past 7.5 years we have been working closely with our team and board of directors to provide a unique country experience whilst continually refurbishing our property. From your feedback it sounds like you stayed in one of our twin suites which is soon to have the refurbishment completed. The majority of our motel has had the refurbishment completed and next time you come through the area we would be happy to accommodate you in one of our Embers Suites with King Size bed.

It is especially pleasing to read that "The staff in the whole establishment are a real credit to the place and I'd like to thank all staff for a very pleasant stay". We will pass this on to every member of our team who I am sure will join me in saying a huge thank you for your review also.

We look forward to seeing you again and assisting you with future accommodation options.

Sincerely

Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cobram
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We had the pleasure of staying at Room 16 of the Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump Motel recently, and really loved our room. The room was beautifully appointed and aside from a few (old) stains on the carpet, was in immaculate condition. We were not troubled by any noise from the road opposite and found our night to be very peaceful. The service at this motel is commendable - we were welcomed and made to feel at home straight away. The staff in the breakfast room in particular were very friendly and took the time to chat and make us feel welcome. Our room package included a full breakfast and this too is highly recommended. The room was a little on the pricey side, however we were very appreciative of the added extras it offered - particularly the nice fluffy robes! The club next door offered a great menu at reasonable prices - and the three minute walk from our room door was very convenient! All up, we had a great stay and can definitely recommend this motel to everyone.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 28 July 2013
Steven C

It is wonderful that you have taken the time to review our motel and so highly. We will share your review with our team and I know that they will be as appreciative of your comments as we were when reading your beautiful review.

Thank you for alerting us to the carpet situation. We have noted this on our maintenance schedule and will have this remedied within the fortnight.

It was our pleasure to be able to accommodate you with a “Great night away”. If we can assist you with accommodation in our beautiful region again, we would love to offer our assistance.

Sincerely

Darran and Cellina Little
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bendigo, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2013

During my last stay (one of many) I was charged twice for the buffet breakfast. How one person could possibly consume two buffet breakfasts is still a mystery.

The initial responses to my request to reverse the second charge was quite prompt. However they then proceeded to pay the refund onto an unknown 3rd parties credit card instead of my own. They said they would investigate this and get back to me. They never did and multiple attempts to contact the manager by phone and email have since gone unanswered.

My previous stays were positive however after being ripped off and ignored, a 1 out of 5 is the best I can give them. I will happily adjust this review accordingly if management decides to do the right thing and refund the fraudulent charge.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank name2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear name2013

It is pleasing to hear of your return visits and that your sleep quality, rooms, cleanliness and location were all of a 5 star standard.

In response to your further comments, it is disappointing to read, especially after we have corresponded with you directly to ensure a prompt response..."The initial responses to my request to reverse the second charge was quite prompt."

It is saddening to see that the details you have reflected on Tripadvisor be of an incorrect nature. As aforementioned, we corresponded with you and checked the last 4 digits of the card to which you required the refund to be processed, you agreed that this was the correct card type and the final four numbers, once this was completed we again corresponded with you to advise the refund was successfully processed.

We take every guest comment, compliment and criticism very seriously and as such take pride in our Tourism Accreditation, PCI DSS compliance and continued high levels of guest satisfaction. When staying with us, every guests credit card details are highly encrypted and securely stored so that no-one on the property can see any details with the exception of the last 4 digits of the card - this ensures complete privacy and guest protection.

I am disappointed also to read that you "will happily adjust this review accordingly if management decides to do the right thing and refund the fraudulent charge." especially when there was no fraud, deception or otherwise untoward involved.

Cellina Little on behalf of
Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We had to attend a funeral in Wodonga last minute. We had four families to book in. The staff were extremely friendly, professional and accommodating. The rooms were excellent - clean and tidy. The location is perfect - not far from Wodonga town centre. We stayed three nights and the bacon and eggs breakfasts were fantastic! Will definitely stay again next time we are in Wodonga.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CellinaL, General Manager at Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Thank you Greg C

We are delighted to hear that your stay was to your liking during such a difficult time. As managers we are so proud to hear when our team does a great job and we share each and every comment with them. It is humbling to receive such a wonderful review and look forward to being of assistance to you and your family should you be travelling to our region, hopefully, during a more positive trip.

Regards

Darran and Cellina Little
General Managers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wodonga
3.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hovell Tree Inn
3.1 mi away
Best Western Stagecoach Motel
1.9 mi away
Motel Wellington
Motel Wellington
#7 of 8 in Wodonga
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Belvoir Village Motel & Apartments
3.3 mi away
Murray Valley Motel
Murray Valley Motel
#3 of 8 in Wodonga
53 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quest Wodonga
Quest Wodonga
#1 of 5 in Wodonga
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump

Property: Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump
Address: 4327 Anzac Pde | Tallangatta Rd, Wodonga, Victoria 3690, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Wodonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Wodonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winner of the Choice Hotels Gold Award for Excellence 2006 to 2014, Finalist in the 2006 to 2013 Victorian Tourism Awards. Perfect for business and leisure, all guests receive complimentary use of leisure facilities, eight channels of FOXTEL and two channels of FREE Box Office movies. Whether you need family-friendly bistro dining or room service or a meeting room our personal touch and attention to detail will outshine your expectations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Wodonga
Wodonga Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing