We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful stay once again.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Albany, Western Australia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Xav_040
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay once again.”
Reviewed 8 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We returned to stable base in July as it was a nice stay back in March, it was a bit rainy this time but that didn't get in our way.

When it was raining you couldn't even hear it when you were sleeping, it was truly silent and peaceful.

We got lots of eggs from the chooks that they had, they were really fresh!

It was nice returning to the accomadation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: That it was so quiet.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johbear56
Greenock, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Relaxing, tranquil and an ideal place for a peaceful getaway”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Can not say enough nice things about StableBASE. Owners Tom and Sam were very welcoming and helpful suggesting driving routes suitable to our taste, as too the suggestion of places to eat locally. The facilities were stunning, both modern and clean. As too was the peaceful location. We were well catered for with brekky provisions also. Thank you for making our stay one to treasure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Styling, location and owners of the property.
Liked least: Absolutely nothing to like the least!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter I
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Delivers as advertised”
Reviewed 20 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We stopped by mid-week for two nights (two adults and a teenager) and spent most of our time in Albany out and about exploring the excellent ANZAC memorials and other attractions, so didn't get to see much of our hosts at this lovely property.

Stablebase is quality accommodation that delivers exactly what it promises - out of the hustle and bustle but still offering easy access to the many attractions in the area and the town centre. The accommodation is well designed and fitted out with quality furniture fittings and utensils, and we were welcomed with an unexpected selection of fresh eggs, bread and jams etc.

Although it's self-contained, it is closely integrated into the main house (think attached Granny flat) with a common entrance which limits privacy somewhat. I also would have liked to have seen a dishwasher in the kitchen. Both of these are minor issues, and we had a very pleasant couple of days staying here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation and peaceful surroundings
Liked least: Close proximity to the main house
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Apr 2016
Hi Peter,
thanks very much for the review. We hope to see you back in Albany sometime in the future
Regards Tom and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sambrownw...
Albany, Australia
1 review
“A modern, elegant and peaceful country house”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We found Stablebase to be a very peaceful, stylish and elegant place to stay. We had an extended stay here and very much enjoyed our time in such comfortable surrounds. The super friendly owners are happy to share their wealth of knowledge about Albany and the Great Southern region if you so desire, but you definitely have your own space. We found one of the nicest things about our stay was the tranquility of just having a morning coffee or late afternoon drink on the deck area and watching the horses and bird life mill about in the paddocks. We definitely recommend Stablebase!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Apr 2016
Hi Sam & Lexie, thanks for the lovely comments. We really enjoyed your company and having you stay with us. Was a real treat for us! We look forward to seeing you soon. Sam x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Xav_040
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stablebase is everything and more”
Reviewed 28 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a really lovely time staying with Tom and Sam over the Easter long weekend. Upon arrival there was a welcome message and a beautiful basket of local produce including locallly baked hot cross buns.
Stablebase is superbly appointed and very well thought out. It had everything we needed, from eco soaps and freshly picked herbs to a great kitchen set-up for a family. There were four of us staying in the house and there was plenty of room for us all.
The highlight for us were the chickens (of which we ate plenty of eggs), the dogs and the horses!
Tom and Sam are very hospitable and generous hosts - nothing was too much trouble. We couldn't recommend a stay at Stablebase highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2016
Hi Rikki,
thank you very much for the lovely review. We really enjoyed having you and your family stay for the weekend and we look forward to seeing you again soon
regards
Tom and Sam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
johnsomer...
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tom and his wife Sam were excellent hosts, very attentive ,with a wealth of local knowledge. Sam has lived most of her life in the area and her family still live close by.
Tom , a keen surfer, knows all the best beaches for surfing and fishing!
The accommodation is brand new for 2016 and was designed by Tom ,who is an architect. It is well thought out, extremely well equipped with everything you could possibly need and the beds are super comfortable.
Tom and Sam are both very concerned about the environment and where possible things are Eco-friendly and it was interesting to talk to them about what they have done.
The location is excellent for exploring this part of W.A. with wonderful beaches close by and many walks. Albany is a few minutes drive away. A historic town with small shops, supermarkets and a variety of coffee shops and restaurants. There are many wineries close by and most serve excellent wine and food - ask Tom and Sam.
We will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hosts
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lauren S
Kalgoorlie-Boulder, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Serene weekend Getaway!”
Reviewed 22 March 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Stablebase just prior to christmas last year and it was a perfect start to our holiday getaway! This beautiful, architecturally designed, holiday cottage has everything you need to enjoy albany and its surrounds. From the wonderful views and serene surroundings to well appointed amenities including a kitchenette, a super comfy bed and a lovely living space to relax in!. We found the location to be great. It is just minutes from Albany's town centre and close to the stunning beaches. We would highly recommend a trip to Stablebase to relax and recharge the batteries!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing