We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy, Tired and Drab”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Reviewed 29 January 2014

The place looked a mess from the outside and we didn't get a good first impression of the place. Full of young families, bikers revving motorbikes, children squawking on balconies. Noisy wasn't the word. The rooms are very drab, at least they were clean. The shower area was good. The front door opened directly onto a busy car park, this added to the noise with cars coming and going at all times. Would I stay here again? I'm sorry but I wouldn't

Room Tip: Take care, this place seems busy and full of noisy residents.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (349)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

225 - 231 of 349 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2014

Nice people, close walking distance to shops. Comfortable room with king bed, nice newly renovated bathroom. We paid $189/ night, which was an overcharge for what we received, considering no restaurant/room service. Picture makes it look much better than it was. Clothes line was right below our balcony room which desperately needed oiling. Parking needs to be allocated to rooms in sections.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed in 2 rooms apartment for 2 nights. The room is a bit outdated but clean and functional. When we arrived, everything is clean and comfy for us to take a rest. But on our 2nd day, I could see that our bathroom had not been cleaned. They just changed the towels and the rubbish bags and also made the bed. I was too tired on that day from our trip, so I didn't call to Reception to ask. There was a free wifi, too. The location is great, just walking distance to the town. Overall, Albany is a nice town to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Delrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Fortunately, we were staying for one night. The motel was built in 1984. And it looked it! The walls had been spot painted, the tiles in the bathroom were very dated although clean. The advertised restaurant was no longer, closed. There was no available breakfast and the alternative were close by restaurants that they had 5-10% discounts for. Whoopee!! And all this for an economy rate of $157/night. Not good value.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel until they upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank djbland61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

My family stayed here in a 2 bedroom suite. The main room had a queen sized bed, the tv, a fridge, microwave and kettle and access to the outdated bathroom. The second bedroom had a single bed and a queen and had a window that led on a walkway.

Pro's:
Location
Helpful staff

Con's:
Outdated bathroom
Towels with other people's hair on them
Overpriced

Overall I did not enjoy my stay and would not recommend this hotel.

Stayed: January 2014
3  Thank LondonMac81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Our family stayed here for one night in the two bed apartment. Never stayed in a Best Western before but it was pretty much what we expected. It is budget accommodation but with the basics you need. Beds were comfortable and it was clean. Nice view overlooking the bay. Good location, walking distance to town, shops and restaurants. Comfortable enough for a short trip, just don't expect new accommodation or luxury!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Travelover99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Where to Start...to spend our 21st Anniversary...
Our worst place ever we stayed in!!!

Over Priced for what got!!!

Information and Website outdated False advertising..

NO Privacy Bathroom window has a window that is rippled stained effect that while in use with bright lights on can be seen inside as couple times while we had showers somebody was looking in through window ended up having to block it off to feel comfortable & same goes with the window next to the Entry Door we had same problem.

Bathroom - towels very small only just able to wrap around yourself, also had leaking Shower and little to none water pressure.

Facilities - Other rooms have Microwaves but Kings don't why???? We get penalized for having a supposedly great view and pay more but no Microwave. When it is needed as website has Breakfast and Dinner Menu for Restaurant. But the Restaurant is CLOSED FOR GOOD. Was inform was not doing Breakfast but was no mention of Dinner or CLOSED FOR GOOD.
I Even went to extent of telling them your Website is OUTDATED his response yeah sorry but it closed.
COPY OF THEIR WEBSITE
Best Western
Charlottes Restaurant is a modern Australian dining experience featuring the best of local and Western Australian produce. The dining room is intimate and comfortable and we pride ourselves on our professional service. Our experienced chefs take the time to care for each dish and cook your meal to order for breakfast and dinner. We are BYO alcohol with no corkage charge for wine or beer. Phone 08 9845 7500 for reservations.

Charlottes Dinner Menu Charlottes Dinner Menu (118 KB)
Charlottes Breakfast Menu Charlottes Breakfast Menu (49 KB)
Charlottes Albany Restaurant

We had a toaster in room ha yeah great first morning we used it set of Smoke Detector, and to our surprise no one even come around to check if everything ok.

Cleaning - Room didn't get vacuumed or cleaned to well as dust every where we even noticed a big lump of dust in bed sheets.

Provided Tea and Coffee but NO Milk.

TV reception was playing up had to move the aerial cord around a lot to get clear channel to view.

Very noisy with other Bathrooms showers running, other guest entertaining friends & and people walking around stomping feet could hear them outside.

We did even go to the Tourist Information Centre and informed them of our bad experience, and would not be staying here again and not recommending it to any of our Family or Friends. We even will be forwarding a complaint to the Best Western Chain Head Office.

Room Tip: We had the top Room and this what we got, so maybe Spa Suite about all could say to try upgrade mayb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spatch73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlbanyMotel, General Manager at Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.

Your review is our second 1 star review and it is always extremely disappointing to hear we have not met a guest's expectations so fully. I am very sorry that we didn't meet and better your expectations of us.

Firstly, I would like to express my regret that your concerns were not dealt with during your stay with us. We care deeply about your experience and do everything we can to respond promptly to any issues. We have a 24hour reception number and I am personally on call to deal with emergency issues.

Personal privacy of our guests is of the utmost importance to us. I assure you that the small glass bathroom window is 100% opaque and can not be seen through. I would hope any security concerns such as someone looking through windows would be reported. However, it is a very quiet town and I have never received anything more than the occasional noise complaint.

Our restaurant closed permanently less than 3 weeks before your stay and while we have tried to remove the information from the many websites and 3rd party outlets. This is an ongoing project and we continue to correct any site which we find or is reported to us. Thank you for bring this to our attention.

I do not take your feedback lightly. Even though we are a 3.5 star motel, it is a very good opportunity for us to "double our efforts" and to further our commitment to excellence.

I sincerely hope you can forgive us for any mistakes which were made with your stay. I hope you will give us another opportunity to look after you on your next visit to Albany.

Please contact me personally if I can assist you in any way or if you wish to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,
Ubik Freeman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.9 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#6 of 13 in Albany
234 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western The Clarence on Melville
1.4 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
0.5 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#8 of 13 in Albany
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments

Address: 41 Frederick St, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Price Range: £76 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments is located in the centre of Albany, a scenic coastal regional town 400km south of Perth in the Great Southern of WA. This Albany accommodation features 3.5 star AAA-rated rooms which cater for families, couples and the business travelers alike. It boasts of being the only motel situated in town with rooms on the top level and apartments with views overlooking the Princess Royal Harbour and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing