We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unfriendly and unhelpful”
Review of Dolphin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dolphin Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“unfriendly and unhelpful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were allocated an inferior apartment to the one we had pre booked and paid for. We were looking forward to a good nights rest after a long day driving but ended up with single beds instead of queen beds(not good if you are 6'4" tall). Self contained apartment didn't even have a dishwasher. Kitchen floor was not even. Host rude and couldn't have cared less. Nice position but unfortunately very poor hotel. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We do apologize that we could not allocate 2 queen beds-I did explain the following-
1. we were fully booked
2.we could not allocate another apartment
3. you arrived around 6 pm to stay in a 2 bedroom apartment , bedding provided was- 1 queen and 2 large single beds .
4.the rest of your review is simply false.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    46
    22
    3
    10
See reviews for
41
55
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Vic
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We could only get one night here but that one night was excellent. Room great, plenty of room disappointed we could not stay the extra night nor meet the owners. Great place. A very quite part of Albany and a clean part of town. Very handy to all places.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day break at this fantastic place. We had so much room and were charged just the basic rate. There was nothing that we did without as everything was provided. This was a real luxurious stay for us as we usually have to stay in a place that caters for dogs – but not this time. Attention to details was excellent there was nothing was missed, from tissues, salt and pepper (not usually found), needle and sewing kit and I was even able to polish my shoes (something I have never found anywhere I have been), soap, shampoo and conditioner.

We had two bedrooms, a kitchen a lounge room and a balcony. Just a shame that we could not use that more but with the horrid weather a storm front every night!!! We were up stairs at the end of the accommodation and it was really very quiet and there was no one to bother us and lucky for us there was no one underneath us either as they were doing renovations at the time. It was really clean and neat and very comfortable. My only gripe was that the shower dripped no matter how hard I tried to turn it off. As there were so many doors we did not hear the constant drips. We did everything online, one of the easiest ways of doing accommodation, we arrived, collected our key and from then on came and went as we pleased.

If you are looking for a delightful place to stay in Albany area – or Middleton beach area then Dolphin Lodge is the only place to stay. It is very close to the beach and some of the best walks are so very close. We were able to get a couple of 10klm walks in and of course at present the wildflowers are spectacular. Just a fantastic time and I am sure that the people I have already told about this will be coming and booking Dolphin Lodge. Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Anywhere there is a balcony nice breezes and fun to watch everyone go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Manager at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review- sorry we were fully booked and could not accommadate you for the extra night-thanks again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Not having booked accommodation in advance of our trip to Albany we chose the Dolphin Lodge because of the appealing location when we drove to Middleton Beach. We found the owner Dave to be a friendly courteous man and very determined to find the ideal unit to meet our request for peace and quiet.The third unit he showed us suited our requirements exactly with privacy been the main focus.The only negative ...the mattress is very firm ( some folk prefer it a little softer) and the towels are on the thin side ( we prefer thick bath sheets ) However overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 5 day stay and loved the proximity to the beach and boardwalk. Also the convenience to eat at the nearby restaurants if we desired a break from the self catering side of things

Room Tip: Apartment 5 suited us even though we only required one bedroom. The lounge area felt more like home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The self contained apartments are clean and comfortable with everything you need for a lovely stay. The attention to detail in the rooms was amazing. Even had needle and thread or shoe polish if you needed it. Would highly recommend staying here. Close to beach and shops.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed two nights at the Dolphin Lodge and this is my first review after travelling from NSW. Had a 1 bdrm apartment which was fantastic with the room very clean and modern. The owner was very friendly and helped out any way he could with booking tours etc. Cloae to a great restaurant/bar called Three Anchors where we had an amazing meal. Would highly recommend Middleton Beach and also Albany Whale Watchers. Russell and Maureen 21/6/13

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bulgandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We do apologize that we could not allocate 2 queen beds-I did explain the following-
1. we were fully booked
2.we could not allocate another apartment
3. you arrived around 6 pm to stay in a 2 bedroom apartment , bedding provided was- 1 queen and 2 large single beds .
4.the rest of your review is simply false.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WESTERN AUSTRALIA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2013

My wife and I along with another couple, all of us golfers spent six night in a two bedroom self contained unit. Unfortunately our room was located up stairs , which was a bit of a pain when we first arrived carrying up our cases, eskys and foodstuffs up the steps. However we were late in booking our accommodation and were prepared to accept the slight inconvenience. From the outset we were very happy with Dave, the owner, who was generally on hand during the day if any issues arose. We also received very good service from other house staff. As seniors we also received Seniors discount on our tariff. The lodge has a small gym, guests laundry with all facilities and a nice bbq area. Generally the area is quiet and well situated. Within a couple of hundred metres are two coffee shops and restaurants and bar. The beach is a further few hundred metres.
Our unit had foxtel and a second TV in the main bedroom .
Overall a most enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 38 in Albany
153 reviews
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#5 of 13 in Albany
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge

Property: Dolphin Lodge
Address: 32 Adelaide Cres, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Lodge offers a variety of fully self-contained apartments located in the centre of Albany's beachside suburb of Middleton Beach and at the base of Mt Adelaide.We are a 3 minutes drive to the City centre. Facilities include a fully equipped modern kitchen with microwave, electric stove, a large fridge, separate lounge/dining area, LCD TV, DVD player, DVD hire, in-house movies, FOXETEL, alarm clock radio, hairdryer, electric blankets, ironing equipment, air conditioning (heating and cooling), telephone and WiFi.A laundry mat and tourist information booth, BBQ, GYM, a vending machine providing drinks and snacks and a fully enclosed children's play ground are all available.Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments and our 4 bedroom house are 200 metres from beautiful Middleton Beach-we are told our location is the best in Albany. All apartments have their own courtyards (ground floor) or bacony (first floor). There are stunning swimming and surf beaches, walk trails, wildflowers, bird life, wineries, Mount Romance sandalwood factory and the award winning Whale World Museum to visit. Golf and Bowling clubs are near by. Breakfast baskets(cooked or continental)are available delivered to your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dolphin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing