We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“never again”
Review of Dolphin Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dolphin Lodge
Ranked #10 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“never again”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

I stayed there in December 2013, I had booked a spa room through hotel club, When we arrived there was no-one at reception there was a white board with a list of names and room numbers and a bunch of keys in a tub below it.....sort yourself out....initially the room seemed ok, I filled the spa and discovered mould coming from jets once it was turned on, there is a curfew time on the use of the spa so emptying it and starting again was not an option, the following morning when I went to use the shower the shower head was covered in mould, my husband went to reception a lovely lady kindly offered us another room for a shower but this was mouldy too, the lovely lady at reception then bleached the shower head and returned it for use, she tried hard to help us but was limited as management was away, I have an severe allergy to mould, if I have contact I require an epi pen as my throat rapidly swells shut and my face swells up, I thought after the bleach cleaning I would be ok, I was not, I required my epi pen and further treatment in hospital. I did contact management to raise the issue over the mould and the lack of care in cleaning, in particular the bathroom as there was mould in other areas and both bathroom and kitchen had not had its corners on benches and floors cleaned, this could have been fatal for me but the response was "it was the water corps fault as they had made them change to water saver heads", also the second response was"they didn't make enough money off me" I booked a spa room but hotel club booked it as a room upgrade which gave me a good price, not once did this man enquire about my health. NEVER AGAIN

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank dilligaf6733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 29 January 2014
The staff at Dolphin Lodge take pride in the presentation and cleanliness of our apartments.Unfortunately due to your health issues we could not meet your requirements..Dolphin Lodge Albany has been confirmed by Booking.com based on customer satisfaction over a period of not less than 12 months as a "great place to stay".Booking.com has advised Dolphin Lodge and I quote"Less than 10%of properties working with Booking.com all over the world will be awarded and you are one of them! Your property met all requirements to receive an award.Congratulations".In closing we always listen to criticism and address issues raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    45
    22
    3
    10
See reviews for
38
53
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Our family of five recently stayed in a three-bedroom apartment for two nights, on our way to Esperance. We found the Dolphin Lodge clean, tidy, well-maintained and in a great location - a few minutes walk to Middleton Beach and a block from a number of cafes/bars. Despite staying in peak season (between Christmas and New Year), we thought the room rates were good value for money, especially as it is very difficult to find hotel/motel family accommodation in Albany. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Itch-4-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment by calling this establishment directly, for 3 nights 6 weeks in advance of a stay. My credit card was charged for the first night as agreed. I received no confirmation email or letter.

I rang 2 weeks before my stay to amend the booking, as travelling from the east coast we decided not to bring the children and therefore wanted to change to a smaller room, and cut back a night.

I was told in no uncertain terms that this was not allowed as there is a 28 day booking change only, and that regardless of what we did or how many nights our credit card would be charged the balance of the stay. This is despite the fact I called and never received any 'policy' or warning! The excuse was 'peak time', and the person I spoke to also added that 'wotif wouldn't let you change if you booked through them'.

This is not good enough and consequently am not looking forward to our stay and dealing with the unpleasant owner.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank gb145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dolphin Lodge Albany is an accredited tourism business with an industry accepted cancellation/amendment policy.The cancellation policy is stated on many pages of our website-www.dolphinlodge.com.au .I would like to ask the question-"Would Qantas airlines give a refund for 2 airline tickets 2 weeks before you are due to fly- with the reason-My children decided not to fly??"
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunsborough, Australia
Level Contributor
228 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We were in town for a family function, and looking for a place just for the night.

I’d booked a 2 bedroom apartment, as I thought that another couple might be staying with us. We arrived to find we’d been allocated Apartment 7 – which as it turns out happens to be a fully fitted out 3 bedroom house – I guess the original building on the site.

We didn't really do it justice – we arrived, we got changed, we went to our function, we came home, we slept, we got up, we checked out!! So we rather missed out on the delightful accommodation. If I was staying in Albany for 2 or 3 nights or more, I would definitely stay here again, on the proviso I could get Apartment 7.

How we managed to score this remains a mystery. The proprietor told my wife that we were that last people to book for that night, and it was the last left, so we got it. That doesn't entirely make sense to me, but, hey, we struck it lucky!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thankyou for the positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We were allocated an inferior apartment to the one we had pre booked and paid for. We were looking forward to a good nights rest after a long day driving but ended up with single beds instead of queen beds(not good if you are 6'4" tall). Self contained apartment didn't even have a dishwasher. Kitchen floor was not even. Host rude and couldn't have cared less. Nice position but unfortunately very poor hotel. Would never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lillian2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Owner at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
We do apologize that we could not allocate 2 queen beds-I did explain the following-
1. we were fully booked
2.we could not allocate another apartment
3. you arrived around 6 pm to stay in a 2 bedroom apartment , bedding provided was- 1 queen and 2 large single beds .
4.the rest of your review is simply false.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Vic
Level Contributor
173 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We could only get one night here but that one night was excellent. Room great, plenty of room disappointed we could not stay the extra night nor meet the owners. Great place. A very quite part of Albany and a clean part of town. Very handy to all places.

Room Tip: Any room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busselton, Australia
Level Contributor
219 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We have just come back from a 4 day break at this fantastic place. We had so much room and were charged just the basic rate. There was nothing that we did without as everything was provided. This was a real luxurious stay for us as we usually have to stay in a place that caters for dogs – but not this time. Attention to details was excellent there was nothing was missed, from tissues, salt and pepper (not usually found), needle and sewing kit and I was even able to polish my shoes (something I have never found anywhere I have been), soap, shampoo and conditioner.

We had two bedrooms, a kitchen a lounge room and a balcony. Just a shame that we could not use that more but with the horrid weather a storm front every night!!! We were up stairs at the end of the accommodation and it was really very quiet and there was no one to bother us and lucky for us there was no one underneath us either as they were doing renovations at the time. It was really clean and neat and very comfortable. My only gripe was that the shower dripped no matter how hard I tried to turn it off. As there were so many doors we did not hear the constant drips. We did everything online, one of the easiest ways of doing accommodation, we arrived, collected our key and from then on came and went as we pleased.

If you are looking for a delightful place to stay in Albany area – or Middleton beach area then Dolphin Lodge is the only place to stay. It is very close to the beach and some of the best walks are so very close. We were able to get a couple of 10klm walks in and of course at present the wildflowers are spectacular. Just a fantastic time and I am sure that the people I have already told about this will be coming and booking Dolphin Lodge. Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Anywhere there is a balcony nice breezes and fun to watch everyone go by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keza_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albanydolphin, Manager at Dolphin Lodge, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Thank you for your review- sorry we were fully booked and could not accommadate you for the extra night-thanks again .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 38 in Albany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.1 mi away
Albany Holiday Units
Albany Holiday Units
#12 of 38 in Albany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolphin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Lodge

Property: Dolphin Lodge
Address: 32 Adelaide Cres, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Dolphin Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dolphin Lodge offers a variety of fully self-contained apartments located in the centre of Albany's beachside suburb of Middleton Beach and at the base of Mt Adelaide.We are a 3 minutes drive to the City centre. Facilities include a fully equipped modern kitchen with microwave, electric stove, a large fridge, separate lounge/dining area, LCD TV, DVD player, DVD hire, in-house movies, FOXETEL, alarm clock radio, hairdryer, electric blankets, ironing equipment, air conditioning (heating and cooling), telephone and WiFi.A laundry mat and tourist information booth, BBQ, GYM, a vending machine providing drinks and snacks and a fully enclosed children's play ground are all available.Our 1, 2 and 3 bedroom self-contained apartments and our 4 bedroom house are 200 metres from beautiful Middleton Beach-we are told our location is the best in Albany. All apartments have their own courtyards (ground floor) or bacony (first floor). There are stunning swimming and surf beaches, walk trails, wildflowers, bird life, wineries, Mount Romance sandalwood factory and the award winning Whale World Museum to visit. Golf and Bowling clubs are near by. Breakfast baskets(cooked or continental)are available delivered to your apartment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dolphin Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing