We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BIG4 Emu Beach Holiday Park
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany(Albany)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Park Avenue Holiday Units(Albany)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dog Rock Motel(Albany)(Great Value!)
US$120
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$99
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$105
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
332
153
25
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
332
153
25
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjumping pillowholiday parkmini golfablution blockkids activitieskids clubpowered sitebedroom chaletduring school holidayswalking trackfishing spotsbbq areaamenities blockcamp kitchenclean amenitiesensuite sitegreat facilities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
470 - 475 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2014

My husband and I have just had a wonderful stay at Emu Beach - can't recommend it highly enough. There seemed to be a lot of people in the park but it was always so clean and tidy, no rubbish anywhere and the gardens just look amazing. It was nice to be able to wander out the back gate and look at the ocean or go for a swim. Our accommodation was spot on with everything you could need for holiday cooking. Thank you to Karen and all other staff I was in contact with - everyone was so friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble to make our stay lovely. Well done!

Room Tip: Tell the staff what type of holiday accommodation you like so they can help you choose.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pamela W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We've been camping at this holiday park for over 7 years as a family, and we love the time off, as it is just a 30 second walk to 'back beach' and has some of the loveliest regular people, whom we have become very good friends with over the years.
The park is in a perfect position, with a 10 minute walk to the family beach at Emu Point and about a 15 minute drive into the heart of the town of Albany, everything is very accessible.
However, recently there have been very noticeable changes which have somewhat reduced our enjoyment staying here. There is a man who we believe hasn't been working here before, who showed us to our regular campsite and, in a gruff and very unimpressed tone, told us we must NOT go outside the lines of our dedicated areas. We let him know we were regulars and we knew the rules, which caused a very aggressive reaction from him.
As a family with three kids, who have grown up into young adults, we often would encourage them to take their bikes, scooters, skateboards and, back in the day, ripsticks. There has always been the "wear a helmet" rule, which was encouraged by us. The "no skateboarding" rule has also always been in place to prevent noise and damage to the property, which we just accepted and skated outside the property. As our kids grew older, we trusted that they weren't being stupid with their forms of transport and became more leniant with our rules. As they are older, on the odd occassion they rode a bike, they often didn't wear a helmet for the 30second ride to the toilet and back. This encouraged the new man and other staff to threaten our children of banning their bikes and/or evicting us from the park, which we thought was a bit extreme. This year we have come back with no bikes, scooters or ripsticks (which have been strictly banned), and instead only use the skateboards to ride to middleton or emu point. Another change is the very strict "shut up after 10pm" rule, which we have never heard of, which, at 9.55 every night, is endorsed by the new man and a team of sercurity guards, going to any campsite who seem to be having a good time and scolding them as if they are 3 year olds. This happened to us more than once when we were sitting with a group of friends laughing and talking. If there were complaints from our neighbours we were more than happy to quiet down, however, our neighbours had become our friends and were up laughing with us.
Many trees have also been chopped down around our campsite and haven't been replaced, giving us less shade on hot days.
A positive is the regular, twice a day clean of the ablution blocks, although they seem to always be cleaning at the worst times.
This year the park seems very empty and many of the regular and blow ins leave much earlier than usual, and we strongly believe it is because of the unwelcoming nature of this man. We still intend on returning, but it's becoming very hard to enjoy ourselves with so many rules and changes.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank letski11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We enjoyed 4 days here and loved it. Emu Beach is a great place to stay, our medium chalet was very spacious, very clean, we had 2 bedrooms, 1 with 2 single beds, and 1 with a queen. Also a seperate bathroom and toilet. Lounge and kitchen/dining were combined. Very close to Emu Point, and a nice little beach, where you can walk out quite far at the water is only waist high. Very beautiful.

Only short drive away from a few shopping centres, very easy to get around. \

Very friendly staff, little shop on site and DVD's to borrow.

We stayed in May and got 4 nights for $236, which was a bargain! Will go back again this year.

Would definitely recommend for couples like ourselves and also families with children, as outside our chalet was a huge jumping pillow.

Room Tip: Medium chalets have a jumping pillow right outside for kids.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeighC89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This is our second time at this caravan park and you can't beat the location. The beach is just over the sand dune and falling asleep listening to the waves is amazing.

It is really well set up for kids with a playground, jumping pillow and mini golf in the park itself. Nearby is Oyster Bay with a great swimming beach and a jetty with lane ropes for dedicated swimmer. The bay is great for kayaking, fishing and jet-skiing. There is also a pretty decent cafe nearby for your caffeine fix. Just a warning for visitors - the water is freezing even in the middle of summer.

The bathrooms were very clean and well maintained but during busy shower time the water pressure in the first two shower cubicles is terrible. I showered in the last cubicle and had good pressure and steaming hot water the whole time.

The tent sites are mostly grassed and there is lots of shade. The camp kitchen is very well set up but gets busy during meal times and the fridge was overflowing. I suggest bringing your own icebox and gas stove (no fires allowed).

This place is hugely popular (and rightly so) especially during school holidays with families booking a year in advance. It is very busy and very expensive over Christmas and New Year ($64 for an unpowered tent site). Keep this in mind when booking (and I would definitely make a booking for Dec or Jan).

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank KrysH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

Yes, summer holidays are peak season, but $64/night for a powered site for 2 is still a rip off. Even big4 is cheaper !
Also they have two amentity blocks of which they close one each for cleaning during the busiest times: morning and evening. This leads to people lining up in the remaining one, waiting for a shower. How cleans during the busiest times?? All other parks do it after check out and before check in. The sites themselves are fine if you can deal with the occasional kid riding their push bike over your site and a weekly kids disco from 7-9. Also note that while the park is next to the beach there is no view - dunes and bush land between park and beach.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nique10115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews