We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cosy country charm”
Review of Norman House

Norman House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Albany
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Norman House
Ranked #12 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“cosy country charm”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

this is the second time I have stayed here and I love the homely feel. its not flashy and new but it is exceptionally clean. Bert and Sheila are friendly and helpful and Bert's cooked breakie is a treat. probably easily the best location for accommodation in town as everything is walking distance and the grounds are picturesque.
I note that a few reviews below go on about the dated look, I think eccentric is probably a better description :)
I'll definitely stay again and can recommend to anyone looking for an unpretentious old fashioned hospitality experience.
well done team!

Room Tip: some rooms have private ensuite and some have their own across the hall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stew68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    18
    4
    2
    0
See reviews for
10
19
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2014

My wife and I travel to Albany at least twice a year for mixed business/vacation. We have stayed at a number of places but the last several times have booked with Norman House. Bert does the breakfasts in a quiet and unassuming manner. It does not pretend to have all the modcons of say a modern hotel but we find it a great place to stay and to be excellent value for money. It is clean and comfortable. Located just off the bottom end of the main St of Albany it is close to shops, restaurants, and local attractions.

Room Tip: There are bedrooms with ensuites and some with a shared bathroom which are obviously cheaper. We gen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Needs a massive re-do and new owners! People who like other people as guests! Do not advertise fresh fruit salad and serve horrible tinned stuff! The place is rundown! Did not enjoy myself and felt miserable there! Had been so looking forward to my stay there! Felt the owner really did not want me there and have to serve me breakfast! He hardly spoke and never smiled! A depressing stay! Please buy the place someone and make it a joyful place to be!

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank PJJ44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This Bed and Breakfast is in an excellent location, near the Tourist Bureau. it is however very pricey for a bed and breakfast, we paid $190.00 for 3 people in one room per night, The property has large bedrooms that can accommodate a family of 4 and have an ensuite bathroom, together with tea and coffee making facilities, a bottle opener and refrigerated glasses if you have a bottle of wine with you.
The rooms are very english in style, and the house was built in 1852, The property is slightly tired, though comfy. They offer a lounge with port and chocolates to relax in, offering a variety of reading material. The included breakfast really was very good and includes home made bread, fruit, cereals, juice, and a substantial cooked breakfast to order. You will get a good start to your day with this.
There is a fabulous place for dinner 100 metres away that was very popular.
The owners were slightly abrupt, but don't let this put you off, it would just be more pleasing and enjoyable if you could exchange pleasantries.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bella6055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
235 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed here recently and what an interesting b&b. Yes it's old (1850), quirky and dated but we enjoyed our stay. Beds and linen were both comfortable and everything was very clean. Our bathroom was separate from the room and there is no tv except in the 2 sitting rooms. Breakfast was either fruit, cereal, toast or fully cooked bacon and eggs with the extras. Location is excellent, very close to the main street, but still nice and quiet, would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodnJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgetown, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Norman House is in a great location - an easy walk to the main street, and with views across to the bay. That alone makes it a good place to stay. The accommodation was comfortable and well presented, but just looked a little tired and in need of some tlc. Bert was a fairly subdued host, but he cooked a nice breakfast.
Overall I would say it is a good mid-priced choice for Albany.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gillian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My friend and I visited in September 2013. The house is very old style, large and roomy. It is decorated old style too. I think it could be renovated a bit. It was immaculately clean and the beds were comfortable. The area was quiet.
Bert still runs the place. When you first meet him he seems cold but he quickly thaws and enjoys a good chat. He has interesting life stories that reflect the way life was in Australia in the 60s and 70s.
Breakfast was spot on. Well cooked and plentiful.
Location is great. Easy access to many places.
I would go here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dip69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.1 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
3.5 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
0.1 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Three Chimneys B&B
Three Chimneys B&B
#5 of 17 in Albany
28 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
2.7 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 17 in Albany
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Norman House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Norman House

Property: Norman House
Address: 28 Stirling Tce, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing