We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Madcarr”
Review of Pelicans Albany

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelicans Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Madcarr”
Reviewed 23 October 2011

I took my wife,mother in law & her friend to Albany in October 2011 and we stayed at Pelicans for 5 nights.The 2 bedroom unit was excellent and we were impressed by the cleanliness.The staff were very friendly & helpful. We really could not fault this place as it really was a home away from home with all the necessary amenities. My wife and I are in our 60's and mother in law and her friend are over 80.Location was excellent only 5 minutes to middleton beach.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Standard 2 bedroom unit which we felt was excellent value. You could choose a delux...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    66
    10
    5
    3
See reviews for
36
78
3
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, LA
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

There were just two of us, and we stayed in unit #10 for $130/night. I think rates can get as low as $110 a night if you book with them directly. There were two bedrooms, one with a queen bed and one with two singles. There was a spacious living area with a full kitchen. Ceramic flooring in the living area, carpets in the bedrooms. All very clean and modern. There was a sizeable flat-screen TV with an attached DVD player. Out front was a small overhang and two chairs, if you wanted to sit outside.

The area has a neighborhood-like feel, and it's about a 5-minute walk to the beach. There was a small cafe around the corner called Bay Merchant that opens early for breakfast. The drive into the center of Albany takes about 5-10 minutes.

This was a very comfortable apartment that would be great for families and great for an extended stay.

Room Tip: We were in unit #10 which is at the end of a row of units. #10 doesn't have an upstairs unit, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaryXYZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 6 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

We booked into this place using Wotif based on reviews from this site.
We booked the 1 bedroom unit over the weekend 16-18 Sept.
Firstly I have to say I really love Albany. I had always thought it was too far from Perth but at just over four hours' drive its not as bad as I'd always believed.
So, the resort had rated highly on TA for 'Specialty Accomodation". I always like a little latitude for self-catering, even if (as this time) we don't actually eat in much.
The resort is well located on Golf-links Rd - just a block or so back from the beach. The accomodation near the road seems to be newer. Perhaps those units might have been different to ours
Our 1 bedroom unit seemed to be in a slightly older style but had been done up. It had the weatherboard feel of an old style beach cottage but was clean and fresh.
Minor issues - privacy was a bit of a concern. We were at the front of a three unit block - with the main path going right across the front. The front door to the unit was a glass sliding arrangement with a fair bit of glass at the front - and hanging vertical blinds all that seperates the main living areas of the unit (lounge/dining/kitchen) from the footpath.
I have stayed in two different places in Albany and the water pressure in the showers in both places have been abysmal. What is up with that?
The Foxtel is somewhat limited and there was no ironing board in the unit.
Other than that, it was neat, clean and comfortable. The unit represented reasonable value and other than the minor gripes above it was just fine.

Room Tip: I'd probably look at the newer 2 storey units near the road - I suspect they are multi-bedroom u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnpaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2011

Recently spent three nights at the Pelicans at the end of a three week holiday in WA. Great location and very clean, comfortable and nicely furnished apartment, with everything we needed. Free wireless internet and Foxtel as well. The grounds were very well maintained. The owners were particularly friendly and helpful particulary as I arrived with a broken ankle - and they did all they could to help. Definitely recommend for a stay in the lovely town of Albany.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney_traveller2031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

This was my third stay at Pelicans holiday village in a deluxe 2 bedroom (2 storey) Villa. The Village is in a great location just a short stroll to the beautiful Middleton Beach and the excellent Bay Merchants Store. Pelicans is clean and tidy and the office staff very friendly and helpful. The units are adequate with large screen TV (with Foxtel), upstairs deck (off the main bedroom) and a full kitchen. I'd certainly recommend the 2 bedroom deluxe units to families looking for affordable accommodation in the Middleton Beach area.

Room Tip: For a little extra book the deluxe 2/ 3 bed villas
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daren L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2011

We stayed three nights at Pelicans in a standard unit which was spotless and comfortable, especially the armchairs! Everything you needed in the kitchen and a parking space right outside. Laundry and BBQ available for all guests to share, again spotless. Hosts were very helpful. Only a short walk from Ellen Cove which is one end of Middleton Beach and an even shorter walk to Bay Merchants, a lovely deli/specialty food outlet which is open for breakfast, lunch and tea. We could only find one restaurant (on the beach) which was pricey and the Squid Shack at Emu Point had been recommended but we were disappointed with the food. Lots of restaurants in Albany itself which is about 3km away. Beautiful area - Whale World is well worth a visit as is The Gap and the Natural Bridge which are both close by. Another lovely beach was Little Beach in Two Peoples Bay east of Middleton.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UKBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2010

Stayed here for 2 nights while in Albany. Clean apartment, sunny clean kitchen.
Friendly owners who were seen planting flowers in the compound. The place shows that care has been given. Car can be parked right next to the unit.
Apartment with large living space and 2 bedrooms had good space for 4 of us.
5 minute walk to beach with good restaurant Calamari by the Sea. Good food. pleasant area to stay in.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSL96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.4 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
1.4 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
2.4 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
2.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
2.4 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelicans Albany? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelicans Albany

Property: Pelicans Albany
Address: 3 Golf Links Rd, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia (Formerly Pelicans Holiday Village)
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelicans Albany 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Middleton Beach Albany, in the Great Southern Region of Western Australia, where pristine beaches are lapped by warm, clear ocean, Pelicans Albany creates an inviting ambiance for an unforgettable stay.Set on magnificent grounds and tranquil surroundings that feature a spacious garden and barbecue area, each beautifully appointed air-conditioned unit has a host of features. A private courtyard or balcony, dining and lounge area, private bathroom and in some cases two. The modern kitchen includes large fridge, oven and microwave. In addition, each unit boasts a flat screen TV, DVD player and free Wi-Fi internet and Cable TV. Laundry facilities and free on-site car parking are also provided.All these luxuries ensure you have the independence and flexibility of your own self-catered home, together with the comfort and service of a hotel.While being just minutes away from the stunning Middleton Beach shoreline, Pelicans Albany is within close proximity to all the major tourist attractions, popular local activities, shops and restaurants that Albany is renowned for.Our exclusive units are also available for short and long term rental on a self-catered basis, making them an ideal accommodation solution for Corporate Consultants, Government Contractors, Diplomats, Renovators and Re-locators. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Pelicans Albany reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing