We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Basic but nice enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Motel Le Grande

Motel Le Grande
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Motel Le Grande
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Basic but nice enough”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Nice enough place but very basic and about 10 minutes out of town.

We stayed in a standard room. It had all the basic necessities but our towels were dirty and had to be replaced. The walls are very thin and so be prepared to wake up when your neighbours have a shower or go to the loo in the morning.

Service is great and room service are around each day to replace towels and top up tea and coffee etc.

I would book through Albany tourist site though as we got the room for over $40 a night cheaper than when I called the hotel directly!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kerry V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    25
    6
    2
    0
See reviews for
18
26
1
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Business motel with a pleasant big feel to the rooms
Exceptional cleanliness
Modern furniture and bathroom updated and modern looking
Decent size TV
A comfy arm chair would make it even better
Only stayed in a room so used the restaurant 2 nights
Special menu defiantly better than the ordinary fare
Prices local fish and steaks around $26-32 big portion

Room Tip: 16 to20 are at rear away from Main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arlene Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this motel. Few minutes drive to Albany town. It is very easy to find heading into Albany town while driving from Perth.
We stayed in a room with 1 double and a single bed, attached bath. As we have a baby they have generously arranged us a microwave inside the room, which was very convenient. The room had tea arrangements, big screen TV, freezer etc.
The toilet was reasonably clean condition. The Parking space was available at doorsteps.
Very competitive price and great value.
Would be nice if they have any swimming pool or spa for free. Prefer the room away from highway, reception and restaurant for quite nice sleep.

We really enjoyed our stay there. Highly recommend.

Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank 4ME_786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
82 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We spent a couple of nights here recently.
Easy to find heading into town after driving from Perth.
Our room was a generous size with modern fittings.
Bed was comfy and bathroom large.
Staff very friendly and helpful.
Could not fault this motel at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JellyBWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

We stayed here for a week over Christmas with our 2 children. I know this place is popular with corporate travellers but I think it was well suited for families also. We stayed in a 2 bedroom executive room which was very spacious, even with a portacot in our bedroom. Even the bathroom was roomy with a full tub plus separate shower and the small kitchenette had everything we needed to keep a few snacks / baby food on hand and to rustle up brekky before heading out. Yes, it's a little out of the town centre but if you have a car that's hardly a problem and we're only talking about a 10 minute drive. Room was serviced every day, even Christmas Day which I wasn't expecting. I think this place was great value, would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank narelle_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

Because we've had a great time at this motel before, we stayed there again last weekend.We were upgraded to the spa suite which really was fantastic. The room has a massive tv, huge spa and then you get the little touches like bikkies, milk (as with all the rooms), air con/heating etc. As usual, it was exceptionally clean, comfortable and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and it is worth every cent! Can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: All rooms are really good, but pay the extra for the spa! If you are seeing the REAL Albany, you wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tomandsallyCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

Stayed 2 nights in a 2 bed room. Rooms were very generous in size, one queen bed seperated by door with own wardrobe and desk with the bathroom located inbetween so gave us the feeling of space more so. The other queen bed was located as you entered the room and was equipped with flat screen tv, small chairs and table and sink with bar fridge. They kindly provided us also with a microwave, basic crockery, toaster and kettle although we couldn't use the kettle due to it's shedding of bits in the water( we couldn't clean it as it had a fixed lid). I'm sure if we asked they would of brought us in a replacement as they were extremely helpful but we had a portable stove and kettle so used that instead.
The beds were very comfortable and the electric blankets worked well. The room was cleaned every day with fresh linen and soaps and coffee/tea/milk provided. The bathroom was large but could of done with an extra towel rack, there was certainly room for one, and a bit more bench space would of been handy. The hot water was a bit tricky, it was hard to get it just right.
Apparently there are rooms of the same sort as we stayed in but with a lounge area but when we tried to book they had been taken. We stayed with another couple so this would of been an advantage. We ate at their restaurant and the food was really enjoyable, I wish I had room for desert, the pork belly is recommended and we would eat there again on our next visit to Albany. We had two car bays allocated to our room which I found to be very generous and unusual in our travels as both couples had there own cars. The suggestion I would like to make to the motel is that they add another flat screen TV to the other room so that all guests staying there could watch when they wanted too.
We would stay here again.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway side if possible and if staying in a two bedroom room try and g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozchick5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
1.2 mi away
Ace Motor Inn
Ace Motor Inn
#7 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn Albany
Comfort Inn Albany
#9 of 13 in Albany
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
1.8 mi away
Quality Suites Banksia Gardens Albany
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
4.7 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
3.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Le Grande? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Le Grande

Property: Motel Le Grande
Address: 479 Albany Hwy, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Albany
Hotel Class:4 star — Motel Le Grande 4*
Number of rooms: 53

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing