We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very satisfied-comfortable room, obliging hosts, great breakfast” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #8 of 17 Albany B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very satisfied-comfortable room, obliging hosts, great breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My friend and I were very satisfied with our experience at this B & B. The hosts were very hospitable, helpful and obliging. They even went to Emu Point to retrieve a lost cap for me and then mailed it to me at their own expense! I was extremely impressed with that-that's what I would call 'going the extra mile'.Those little personal touches are what you remember about a place.

Also the room was spacious and comfortable. The covered patio area was an enjoyable if unexpected feature and gave the feeling of extra 'roominess'

The lovely breakfast overlooking the harbour was also a most enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
These two ladies were an absolute joy to have. The hat was obviously an old favourite - no trouble at all to go and pick it up. We hope they come back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    6
    2
    4
    2
See reviews for
4
28
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

I see a few people found the owners unwelcoming. They were the rudest people I have ever met. It was an unpleasant experience from when we rang to say we were arriving at 7pm and were told that it didn't suit as that was when they had dinner. We rang them again to say we'd come at 9pm so as not to disturb their dinner.
The next day we saw on another website that they didn't take arrivals after 6pm. We had booked on wotif and paid $395 upfront (unrefundable) totally ignorant of their no after 6pm arrival rule in the fine print.
Why didn't they tell us when we rang from Perth at 3:30pm that they don't take after 6pm arrivals?
If they didn't want to be disturbed after 6pm why didn't they say 'We don't wish to be disturbed after 6pm. Thank-you for your upfront payment. We have left the key x, your room can be found x, please be quiet when you enter and we'll see you tomorrow-enjoy your stay.'
They also left a nasty phone message 15 minutes after our due arrival time because we were late. We were sorry we didn't answer. The only time we left our phone was after driving around the suburb for 15 minutes trying to find the location when we went back to the map outside the tourist information centre to check again where to go.
Thankfully we found lovely accommodation elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unhappy t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 24 November 2012
As mentioned in the press recently accommodation operators do not have a leg to stand on when reviews such as this are printed it is very detrimental to your business and there are always 2 sides to any story. These people obviously had some domestic problems as she was out of control when she arrived at 9.45pm. She refused to get out of the car and jumped into the driving seat to try and take off. Her husband was very apologetic and tried to calm her down but to no avail. It was a most unpleasant experience and she did ring and apologise for her behaviour about half hour later. We have over 600 guests per year - 99% are very nice and considerate. Our policies on all travel sites do state that arrivals after 6.30pm must be arranged with owner and the latest time for arrival is 8pm. Wotif were advised of these problem guests next morning. We have a 48Hr. cancellation policy and I agreed to allow Wotif to refund them 1 night's accommodation. Incidently we do not get paid until December.
I would point out that they could not possibly show a review for our rooms as they did not enter the premises. I would not have these people back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Absolutely loved this B&B, it was exactly what a B&B should be like - friendly, personal and welcoming. Probably the best place we stayed in during a 2 weeks trip across the country.
First the rooms - we stayed in Suite 2 which is underneath the breakfast area. The room was warm, well furnished, clean and comfortable. It had everything we needed and we could have happily stayed here much longer.
The location - 2 minute drive or 10 minute walk into the central area of town - Had a wonderful dinner at Nonna's on York Street, we had found the menu in the guest compendium at the B&B and we were delighted to find out later on that it was a favourite restaurant of my in laws over 20 years ealier!
The hosts - Absolutely loved Margaret and Lew. They took the time to chat and get to know us a bit whilst they were checking us in, and told us all about themselves too. This makes a big difference when staying somewhere like this and we were delighted to be made to feel so welcome. In regards to the noise, yes there is some, as the hosts are making YOUR breakfast which is kindly included in the price of the room (And a marvellous breakfast it is too by the way) It didn't bother us at all as we were already up and about ... who wants to sleep in on holiday anyway? Get out there and enjoy I reckon!
Highly recommend this place for the personal touches and the warm welcome.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

If you like a traditional B and B, you will love Albany View Street Lodge. We have been visiting Albany for over 10 years and would not stay anywhere else. All the rooms are spacious and spotlessly clean, with every amenity you could need. We love the tasty cooked brekfasts and that it is walking distance into Albany town. The owners, Margaret and Lew could not be more pleasant and helpful. For a relaxing break in Albany we would definately recomend Albany View Street Lodge.

Room Tip: All rooms are very good but room 3 has garden views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graphic Designer from Perth
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2012

I'm happy to report that despite being a light sleeper I didn't notice any unwelcome noise and the bed was truly comfortable! The ambience was quiet and peaceful throughout my stay. More importantly I was made to feel very welcome by my hosts and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was very nice and the room had everything in it that I needed. In my opinion, the convenient location and the value for money will far outweigh any issues people might have with personal decor tastes. Thank you Margaret and Lew.
Nick

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank creativepage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

stayed for 3 nights- rooms basic , dated and lacks the welcome feel but it was adequate. breakfast good , last sitting is 8.15am. Thats ok as you can't sleep-in anyway once the owners start moving around as they are right overhead the rooms, can start as early as 5.30am.
all 3 rooms are underneath the main living areas.

Room Tip: not sure if there is a better choice of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DolB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Again it is hard to respond unless we know a name and can work out which suite they stayed in. Comment "last sitting is at 8.15am" - If they read the breakfast menu form they are given that is the latest time for a "cooked breakfast" . We try to be extremely organised & stagger individual guest's breakfast times as we have an extensive menu and like to serve it to a top standard.
Cannot understand who it could be who travelled with family as we don't cater for families.
We do explain to guests that we are one level at road level and two at the rear and the 3 guest suites are on the lower level. Upstairs has wooden floors that are carpeted(but they do creak sometimes) and we make every endeavour to ensure that noise is kept to a minimum. Suite 1 is under the kitchen and as there is quite a bit of prep. work early morning then that suite would have the most noise.
The main point is guests are getting VERY GOOD VALUE FOR MONEY as we keep our TARIFFS DOWN!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Albany View Street Lodge is located in an older part of Albany half way up a hill. Margaret ,one of the owners, is an artist with a gallery of colorful and creative paintings at the entrance of the accommodation. We stayed in Room 3 which was clean, light and functional. Outside the unit was a table and 2 chairs, many potplants and a well tended garden. Breakfasts were served by Lew and Margaret and there was plenty of choices of tasty food. The breakfast room is very tranquil with good views of Albany. The only negative about the whole stay is the noise from the dining room upstairs in the morning. Overall it was a very relaxing stay with lovely hosts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARGARET D, Owner at Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 January 2012
Comments noted but it would be handy to have a name in order to obtain more information as to how we can improve - we do our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.7 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
0.3 mi away
Albany Harbourside Apartments and Houses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Harbourside Motel
Harbourside Motel
#7 of 17 in Albany
4.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
0.7 mi away
Three Chimneys B&B
Three Chimneys B&B
#4 of 17 in Albany
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albany Foreshore Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast

Property: Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast
Address: 35 View Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have a Bed & Breakfast catering for a maximum of 6 adults. The guest suites are located on the lower level and each has its own entrance. At the present time guests come upstairs into the sunroom (with views of Albany's natural harbour) where they are served breakfast. Two of the guest suites have kitchenettes. Reception forms part of the owner's Art Studio & Gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Albany View Street Lodge Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing