We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old and needs repair”
Review of Emu Beach Chalets

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Emu Beach Chalets
Ranked #19 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Over priced, under cleaned and the whole place needs a revamp!
Nothing has been done to maintain these places since 70s
Disappointed in accommodation, dog hair on carpet, beer bottles outside, BBQ half hanging off patio with a broken leg, filthy extractor fan in kitchen, spiders gallor in the light fittings, grout all in kitchen manly, woke up every Morning to an ant infestation.
Shower yuk!
This is not what we expected for the price, yes the price is cheap but not that cheap.
Maintain the accommodation and they could have a nice chalet, In stead they are getting the money and not using it to maintain the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wboogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downunderAlbany, Manager at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2013

We are so sorry your chalet was not up to our usual standards.

We have taken on board your comments and taken the steps to remedy so it won't happen again. I'm disappointed that you didn't let us know at the time of your stay so we could have fixed those issues immediately for you. We do get many compliments on our cleanliness so it was distressing to read of your personal experience

We have been badly let down recently by our contractors ( pest control especially) and this has been addressed and fixed. The chalets were sprayed for ants and spiders but obviously the job was not done very well and has been corrected.

Previous guests had taken the BBQ from the carport and broken the wheel trying to get it on the patio. This has been repaired and replaced. I do aplogise that the cleaners had not reported it to maintainance before your arrival.

Finally, we are constantly upgrading the chalets with new stoves, fridges, couches and mattresses being purchased so far this year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2013

First, I will outline the good things about this place.... The location is superb - no view of the water but that's only because of the sand-dune between the chalets and the beach. You can hear the surf clearly and smell the ocean which is very close. The grounds are neat and I found the staff to be pleasant and polite. It allows pets (we took our well behaved Chihuahua). There were lovely Peppermint trees, nice lawns, and well equipped communal barbecue area. The double bed was comfortable and the linen was clean.

Now to the bad points... The minute we stepped inside, we noticed the floor were dirty and dusty. The promised free wi-fi didn't work on the first day, nor the 2nd, 3rd, or 4th. While the woman at reception was trying to be helpful, it seemed clear she couldn't do much to help. The "help desk" phone number we were given didn't answer on any of the 4 days we tried it. The oven was worn out. The seals on the oven had obviously never been replaced and even 5 hours on the high setting was not enough to roast a chook. The tray for the grill was the wrong size and a gentle pull on the tray was enough to send out steaks tumbling to the floor and splashing my legs with hot fat. The bunks in the 2nd room were saggy and only suitable for small and light children. Overall the chalets are tired, worn, ugly, and obviously haven't had any real money spent on them since they were constructed in the 60's or 70's.

Save your money because there's better value to be had than this place. I should add that the owner and/or manager, and not the staff, is to blame for the sad state of this establishment.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downunderAlbany, Manager at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our chalets and your positive comments on the location and grounds.

We are extremely disappointed to read of your experience and apologise for the poor condition of your chalet. It was the only one left that weekend, and was one we hadn't updated as yet. We do have new appliances (including a new stove awaiting a date from the plumber) and new mattresses, lighting, etc ready for that chalet and will be getting it finished asap.

I did check the stove and fired up the oven but could not find any bad seals or heat leaking. The grill tray was the correct size, but may not have been set in the frame after cleaning.

The wifi help desk is outsourced so I was unaware your calls were not answered. We have spent a lot trying to provide a reliable wifi service, but some areas can be iffy, perfect one day and not the next - very frustrating for us as well and something we are desperate to fix. Some areas are 100% reliable and I hope one of these areas were pointed out to you


I was surprised to read your comment on the dirty floor as we do get lots of compliments on our cleaniness, including the carpet cleaner who does a lot of motels and commented how clean under the beds were. I have passed your comments onto the cleaners.

Finally, we also have plans in progress for new additional luxury chalets but various govt department approvals are taking time. As relatively new owners, it is taking time to get things how we want them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012 via mobile

Good location to go to the beaches and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The rooms were fairly clean,but they donot usually change bed sheets, towels and all the rest. You have to wash it yourself using the laundry machine.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheokiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auzpower, Owner at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2012

Hello, thank you for writing a review on our chalets.
We have a lovely location -100m from the ocean surrounded by bushland and our three star fully self contained chalets are an opportunity for an affordable beachside holiday very suited to families, and their well behaved pets are welcome as well.

We do not offer serviced chalets but try to meet all our guests requests where possible. A courtesy phone is provided to facilitate such requests.

Clean linen isalways available on request, I am sorry you were not informed of this on check in. I would have liked to have been given the chance to meet your request for more clean linen while you were staying with us and enhanced your visit..

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

I have stayed at the Emu each chalets and not only find the rooms clean neat and affordable but the staff excellent in service and providing any of our needs. They were more than willing to attend to anything we asked for and friendly offering assitance whenever we called. Would highly recommend these units to anyone.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cloudbreak61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downunderAlbany, General Manager at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. So happy you enjoyed your stay with us. and very pleased to hear you found our staff so helpful in responding to your requests'
'
Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We have stayed at Emu Beach Chalets on a number of occations, this Easter was just one of those occations. We find it a perfect place to holiday with the family. Chalets are affordable considering they are very very close to the beach (100 mts or less!!), they are always very clean, well equipped, and comfortable, been able to bring our dog is an added bonus. Staff have always been extreemly friendly and helpful. We don't care what other people think we would have no hesitation to recomend it to other families and travellers.

Room Tip: EBC are located in a very quite part of Emu Beach there are only 12 Chalet we'd recomend Chalet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downunderAlbany, General Manager at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our accommodation. It is always a pleasure having you stay with us. So glad you enjoyed your Easter holiday in Albany and hopefully we will see you again soon. Don't forget the Whales will be back again in June.

I will also pass on your comments on to our staff, I'm sure they will be tickled pink to know their efforts are appreciated'
'
Thanks again - Julie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

For all the pictures that hide what these chalets are truly like then look before you even pay. I believe prices should be a third of what is offered. As to the management of the chalets this is poorly organised with no attempt other than when taking your money to be helpful. I found their care and overall attitude to be lacking and the owner needs to be aware or he will continue to lose customers the longer he leaves this business the way it is.
Be aware all new travellers and look around for far better value and more professional approach to your holiday needs......

Room Tip: Don't stay here...We fought to get our money back and went else where.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
downunderAlbany, General Manager at Emu Beach Chalets, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, even though you did not stay with us.
Wow what an amazing experience you left us with – truly memorable

We welcome inspections of our chalets prior to booking as many of our regular guests have their favourite. We are 3 star budget family accommodation and pride ourselves in offering clean, comfortable, well equipped family chalets at Emu Beach in a bushland setting. We also welcome well behaved pets.

However when confirmed bookings are made and the room held for you –this time our popular 3 bedroom chalet –our cancellation policy is clearly stated on the website at the time of booking. Short notice cancellations carry a one night cancellation fee as is the normal practice throughout Australia.

Diane offered to cancel the other three nights and suggested you stay the one night to avoid any out of pocket expense for you.
You have also neglected to mention that we did give you a full refund for all 4 nights initially booked. We made an significant exception as you thought you were booking elsewhere

I think your suggestion of $56 a night for a 3 bedroom, fully equipped (inc linen) chalet is unrealistic and far less than the cost of a backpacker room

There is so much to see and do in Albany and we enjoy seeing families having a great holiday. Cleanliness and customer service is our top priority and we always try and accommodate guest requests where possible.


Finally I was proud of the professional attitude Diane managed to maintain throughout the colourful language and hand gestures. We receive many comments from guests on the helpfulness and pleasant attitude of both Ben and Diane, personally, via the guest comments book in each room and on our website.

Whale watching season is June to October in Albany and we can help you book either of the two whale watching boats that operate during the season

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

We stayed here for 3 weeks and didn't have a problem until after we left. They charged extra cleaning fees because of the dog urine and dog hair in the unit.

Ummmm we don't own a dog..... go figure!

Room Tip: Small but comfortable.
See more room tips
Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
3  Thank jmojnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
Emu Point Motel & Apartments
1.3 mi away
HideAway Haven
HideAway Haven
#2 of 17 in Albany
221 reviews
0.3 mi away
Havana Villas
Havana Villas
#12 of 39 in Albany
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Beach House at Bayside
Beach House at Bayside
#1 of 17 in Albany
431 reviews
3.3 mi away
Best Western Albany Motel & Apartments
2.2 mi away
Pelicans Albany
Pelicans Albany
#7 of 39 in Albany
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emu Beach Chalets? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emu Beach Chalets

Address: 9 Medcalf Pde | Emu Point, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Price Range: £82 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Emu Beach Chalets 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in the heart of the Great Southern, Emu Beach Chalets sets you within easy reach of the most beautiful scenery in Western Australia.Take a stroll through natural coastal bushland down to the picturesque Emu Beach, literally within a stones throw from your chalet, or take a leisurely drive around some of the local natural and historic wonders in the area.Our three star self catered, air conditioned, fully equipped chalets are a perfect way to help you relax and unwind during your stay in Albany. Fall asleep to the sound of the waves and awake to the bird song. We are Pet Friendly and offer FREE WIFI ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Emu Beach Chalets reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing