We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly despicable”
Review of Albany Discovery Inn - CLOSED

Albany Discovery Inn
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 19 April 2013

Our family of 10 adults and 5 children asked to be seated inside for dinner at 8 pm, but were advised we had to sit in the inner courtyard, which we didn't mind too much as the decor is quite pleasant. Unfortunately less then an hour later, nearly 9pm, just after delivering the barely edible fare(dry steaks & pies with no sauce), the waitress informed us to quiet down as guests were trying to sleep. We were still eating our meals and thought it was rather rude however she came back 5 minutes later with the same request. Apparently they were happy enough to give us a table and take our money but failed to mention on arrival that we would be served average meals and would have to ensure we ate them and keep the noise level to bare minimum inside the hour! What a joke. The waitress continued to argue when we pointed out that we too were paying customers not just the guests supposedly sleeping at 9pm at night in the guest rooms next to the courtyard (which wasn't even our choice as they'd placed us there!). Very average food and terrible service. Don't support businesses like this. They give their town a bad name. Never again!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TheOnlinePorcupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Thank you for your review, it always helps us to identify areas that need to be addressed.
However we can only do this if the review is a truthful reflection of what occurred, in this instance it is not. On Friday evening as we were closing our Cafe a young man came in and asked if we could provide some meals for a few people who had just arrived from Perth we said how many he said 14 this group included 5 children. We explained that the kitchen was being cleaned and closed as we spoke, he said there was no where in Albany that would take such a group at short notice, given that he explained your group had 5 children that were tired and hungry we said okay but you needed to understand that we had sold out of many items. He was happy children and Adults a like started going through to our internal courtyard so we quickly placed some tables together. The young man came to us in the kitchen and asked if we could get the children some bowls of chips, pizza fingers etc as quickly as possible whilst the Adults chose what they wanted. Whilst doing this he came back again and asked if there were any coloring books and pens that the children could use, we said to him there is a cupboard right there which contains coloring books, pencils and board games just help yourself. He was very happy. We done the order for the children and served it, then the Adults ordered which we served within 15 mins. The response for the food was it was lovely. The only problem was when we asked if the children could keep the noise down. The lady's in the group were not happy with this. We did have to ask again as the noise levels increased very loudly and the lady's became very angry at no time did a member of staff argue or was rude she just pointed out that as we have accommodation as well there were some guests trying to rest as they themselves had had a long journey all we were asking for was some courtesy be shown to others. When leaving the young man who had come in first actually came and apologized for the groups behavior, we kindly said not to worry as it must be fraught traveling with children especially when they are tired and hungry. When leaving in your vehicles you did not show any consideration to anyone in the local area as you constantly sounded your horns loudly and it would be very obvious to anyone we are situated in a semi residential area where there are family's that have children who go to bed early. If you consider this despicable then we would like to know what is acceptable. We are proud to be part of the City of Albany and welcome many tourist who want to enjoy our beautiful city. Hope you have a great holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2013

inner room was quirky and different, service was average and food was extreamly dissapointing with one meal sent back for refund.attitude of staff left much to be desired, with no apologise for returned food.would we go back, no way

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank caycad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for the review. We are surprised that you said food was sent back for a refund - we really keep an eye on what comes back into the kitchen and if we feel that we have not offered the best we can we are the first to Not Charge for the meal when it comes to payment as I believe this is what happened on this occasion. Sorry you had a bad experience

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

never stayed here but called for breakfast a couple of times, food was great . ate in an inside courtyard, friendly couple who run the place, wanted to put a percentage on the bill because paying with credit card so paid by cash, the only thing they need to look at is the toilet situation, if your table is near the toilet block we could hear a guy having a leak while we were aeting , a bit off putting, they need to have self closing doors fitted to the toilet entrance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank perthstevePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
discoveryinn6330, Owner at Albany Discovery Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your review, it is good to have some positive feed back along with some feed back on areas we need to work on. So yes we are looking on Self Closers for the toilets.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

I couldn't quite put my finger on what was wrong with the food here, but now it realise it was warmed up, pre-heated. I also had breakfast here as I was staying here, but after the first couple of days I went to the local cafe for brekky, much to the disapproval of the owners. There is far better food to be had at the cafes a short walk away - but try not to let the owners see you going there.

Thank BellePerth_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Came across this little 'gem' when we were looking for lunch at 2.30pm (when everywhere we went had stopped serving). This place was more than happy to cater for us and provided a great meal in comfortable surroundings. Very friendly service.

Thank Sharron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albany Discovery Inn also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing