We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Whaletastic”
Review of Albany Whale Tours

Albany Whale Tours
Ranked #2 of 18 Tours in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Boat Tours - Sail and powered. Its not what you see when you are out on the water, it's what you feel during the experience...At Albany Whale Tours, we care about your needs and that your voyage with us is an experience that you will remember forever, whether you are on Sail-A-Way, our motor sailing catamaran or on Waverider, our high-powered rigid inflatable boat. Ocean and sheltered water tours focusing on wilderness, wildlife, natural and cultural history of this ancient and fascinating land and sea scape. We even run delightful Twilight Sunset Cruises on our motor sailing catamaran.
Reviewed 21 July 2014

How do I begin to explain the exhilaration of watching two whales cruise towards the bow of our boat then turning just before (see photo) so they glide past tantalizingly close to us . Absolutely stunning trip - saw around 8-9 whales, some close and others further away - took amazing photos of whales, birds, seals and the gorgeous granite - but nothing I can say can convey the excitement of actually being there. Our good Captain of the day shared his interesting facts and great knowledge of the area and it's inhabitants, and his lovely 'Chief Mate' served a very tasty morning tea. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who loves being close to these wonderful creatures of the sea and who also would like a completely different perspective of Albany and its ocean inhabitants.

Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you Diane for your wonderful comments. You certainly have expressed the wonder and excitement of being close to these giants of the ocean...one really needs to be there to appreciate their superb presence. Thanks for coming with us. (John says he wishes he had been there). Cheers, Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Albany Whale Tours
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 176 of 238 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

Had such a good day. Love being out on the water but seeing whales and seals was a bonus!! My 2 girls aged 9 and 6 thought it was amazing and even my one year old son had an awesome time. My mother also enjoyed her time. The staff were top guys, and the food was delish. Best jam on the scones too hehe.thanks guys. We will definately be back!!

Thank Erana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

It was great to meet you and your lovely family Erana. Thanks for choosing us. So glad your experience was such a happy one. Glad you liked the jam. I certainly love making it. We look forward to seeing you again. Cheers, Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

Wonderful experience. The boat crew were very friendly and helpful and the skipper was full of interesting information. We were lucky enough to see 5 beautiful whales, would highly recommend taking a trip on the Sail Away!

Thank kugles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Thank you kugles for your review. It is extra special for us when the crew are mentioned as they all do such a wonderful job and so contribute to our own enjoyment of this job we do. Very glad your trip was so successful. Cheers Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We joined the afternoon tour on 23 June 2014 but we only managed to see about two whales at distance. John offered us to come back again the next day. Initially we were a bit hesitated as we need to rush back to Perth on the next day. However, the tour on the next morning proved that it was totally worth to spend a little longer in Albany. We were greeted by fine weather and at least 10 humpback whales! We were extremely excited as some of them were so close to our boat! We highly recommend the tour to anyone who visit Albany.

Thank TeckWee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

We are so glad you decided to take up your free return ticket. Seeing whales is such a special experience, we really want all our guests to have these special times. Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Cheers, Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

A thoroughly enjoyable and uplifting experience. The weather was perfect, not as cold as we thought and the crew was friendly, entertaining and knowledgeable. Over an hour into our three hour journey around King George Sound humpback whales were sighted and we began our pursuit. The whales didn't let us down and there were three of them tossing high in the air, crashing back down and flapping their fins on the water to the delight to all those on board. It really looked similar to the whales featured on the main page of the Albany Whale Tours website - whales lunging out of the water and showing off. We were told best display of whales frolicking this whale watching season so far so felt honoured to be part of it. Fantastic afternoon and the kids were delighted. Afternoon tea provided comprised of hot nibbles, scones and hot drink of choice which was more than adequate. We even got to see dolphins and seals up close as part of the adventure. Mother Nature really is beautiful and these creatures are truly remarkable. Thoroughly recommend and new Albany Marina impressed and very accessible. Thank you John for your commentary and Forrest for organising it. Basini/O'Riley family.

Thank SharonBasini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Forrest W, Owner at Albany Whale Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Hi Sharon. Thanks so much for your review. We were very pleased you were able to change your originally booked time for this one, given that the weather turned so rough today. John loved the trip and as you say, mentioned that it was the best whale activity he has seen for a long time. So lucky us! Enjoy the rest of your stay in Albany.
Cheers, Forrest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Albany Whale Tours also viewed

 

Been to Albany Whale Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing