We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty cool hostel in ideal location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Albany Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Albany Backpackers
Ranked #13 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pretty cool hostel in ideal location.”
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Brendan is an excellent host and gives everyone a warm welcome and helpful advice upon arrival.

This is a good place for socialising, although there are designated areas and times for noise, so you can have your quiet time too. There were quite a few long term guests, so quite a community atmosphere.

Our private room was clean, bathrooms were fine, but maybe a little more privacy would be good - nowhere to get dressed after shower except for the cubicle or out in the general bathroom area.

Overall I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LuluCrookson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    17
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
Families
0
8
33
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Very nice place, coloured and full of life, each luminous room is painted with murales of different artists! excellent service regarding cleaning (every morning) sheet, laundry and reception, where a friendly staff always take care of your necessity about everything! staying here for 2 months already...

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

I didn't have too high expectations given my first experience to a hostel. However, Albany Backpackers exceeded our expectations especially with the smiley reception we received when we first arrived.

We scored a good deal for two people, getting a 4-person room which we thought was great. Even received a discount with our student ID. Might get a little crowded as the property is rather small but it comes with the good and bad. The rooms were great and clean but bathrooms were little less than great.

With some sprucing up and cleaning, this place would be as good as new!

It's a great location given its nearby amenities such as the grocery store and other good eats.

We took the whale watching trip and was rewarded with a second trip when the first one failed to give us any whales! There was rain and wind but it was good nonetheless. Tea and scones on the boat was a real treat!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OccasionalTravelBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
1,472 reviews
191 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 857 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We took a double room and it is bright and clean and had very interesting brightly coloured murals on the wall!

I didn't get an overly friendly vibe from the place but I thought it served its purpose fine.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Waddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darmstadt, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 June 2012

I stayed in this hostel for a couple of weeks and fell in love with it! My favourite were the uniquely painted rooms, each with its own character thanks to the artwork. Staff were friendly and they even found me some work which counts towards my 2nd year visa (thanks Brendan). The hostel has a great atmosphere, you can relax in the upstairs common room, or socialise in the games room downstairs. Hostel was always clean and well looked after. If you're in Albany, i definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maja357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
261 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2011

I stayed here for one night with a group of 12. The room was ok, just bunk beds but nothing to complain about.
The bathroom was not ok though. There is only a shower curtain separating you from the other people in the bathroom. So no privacy at all. There are also not enough showers and certainly not enough toilets for the number of guests staying there.

There was also a drunk guest being very rude in the TV room.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaNLCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dinah R, Owner at Albany Backpackers, responded to this review, 20 February 2013
We acknowledge that some guests would like more privacy whilst using our shower facilities. Here at Albany Backpackers guests requests don't fall on deaf ears! We have addressed this problem and the shower privacy is no longer an issue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2009

I stayed in this hostel during the working part of my backpacking time in Australia. I really loved this place!! The staff was great, and there was a good atmosphere between al the guests. I stayed here for three months!

The hostel feels like a little maze ;) the first time you enter it, and almost all walls are painted by artists!! I was given a personal tour through the hostel when I arrived. Kitchen and laudry are good and clean. Showers upstairs kept clean but are a bit old. They started renovating them at the end of my stay.

During the time I stayed here the guests were severel kind of backpackers. People who found a temporary job around here and stayed a while like myself, people visiting Albany for a few days that travel on their own, and people from tours visiting Albany and Albany backpackers for a day. The ambiance between al the guests was great.

I would recommend this hostel to anyone, especially if you are a backpacker

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr_Lupo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Albany hotels
0.2 mi away
1849 Backpackers Hotel, Albany
0.4 mi away
Albany Bayview YHA
Albany Bayview YHA
#15 of 38 in Albany
94 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Albany Motel & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Country Comfort Amity Motel Albany
0.6 mi away
Dog Rock Motel
Dog Rock Motel
#4 of 13 in Albany
214 reviews
1.7 mi away
BIG4 Middleton Beach Holiday Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albany Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albany Backpackers

Property: Albany Backpackers
Address: | Corner of Stirling Terrace and Spencer Street, Albany, Western Australia 6330, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Albany
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Speciality Lodging in Albany
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Albany Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the centre of Albany, overlooking Princess Royal Harbour 1 minute walk from the visitor centre and bus stop, Albany Backpackers newly renovated hostel offers the most private dormitory style accommodation in Albany. All our dorm beds are fitted with custom made privacy screens. If you are just looking for a room by yourself we have cosy private rooms at a very competitive price. Our hostel features free WiFi, free basic breakfast and free parking. Albany Backpackers has two guest lounges on two levels, one big movie theatre room and one cosy lounge room. Perfect for those days where you can use a rest from your travels. Both rooms have reverse cycle heating and cooling in whatever the weather may bring. Winner of the 2015 tripadvisor excellence award, our property offers two kitchens for our guests to cook up a scrumptious dinner or we are conveniently located to Albany’s best restaurants, pubs and cafes. Our guests can relax and recharge in our courtyard and take advantage of our free BBQ facilities. For your entertainment we hold free open pool table nights on the weekend. All rooms at Albany Backpackers offer access to shared bathroom facilities, laundry facilities and client computer terminals. When booking ask for a room on the Southern wing which features beautiful views over the harbour and the entertainment centre at night. Perfect if you come to Albany to catch a show, as it is in short walking distance to our hostel. As the longest running backpacker hostel in Albany we have the best local knowledge and inside information on where to go and what to do during all weather conditions. Ask our friendly staff for a complementary map and their recommendations for things to do in Albany. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Albany Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing