We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food!”
Review of York Street Cafe

York Street Cafe
Ranked #35 of 131 Restaurants in Albany
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Serving breakfast and lunch, casual atmosphere offering fresh juices, cold drinks, full range of coffee and teas. Home made scones, muffins, slices and cakes. Large portion meals at great prices.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food!”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal here. Great atmosphere and quick and friendly service. Glad we chose York Street. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ELB1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    54
    14
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Waiting waiting waiting”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Typing review between courses, am sure will have plenty long enough... Soup monday at 11.55 took 35 minutes to come in empty cafe apart from couple of pensioners having coffee... Delightful waitress, place is high on groove factor, but pumpkin soup pallid tasteless, serve small, WHAT are they doing out back...still mashing the spud for the gnocchi?!! Oh & expensive for the standard of food...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great country town restaurant !”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We had dinner at York Street Cafe on Friday night and we will definitely call again. The food was amazing, made with fresh produces and a very pleasant and helpful waiter recommanded some delicious housebaked bread.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Get new staff!”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Went here for dinner last night, food was amazing, a little expensive however! But the man running the show -terrible! Rude, obnoxious and just in general shouldn't be working with people

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidG6905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A definite no-go”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We were at the York Street Cafe at Easter, however it was definitely not busy with a number of empty tables and staff far from flat out.
We ordered mains for three - eye fillet beef (medium), risotto and lamb rump and steamed veggies on the side. Our mains took 1 hr, 10 mins to arrive. Once, during this time, the maître'd approached and reassured that ours would take a while because lamb takes time to cook (but really, over an hour?).

Our steamed veggies arrived ten minutes before the mains, therefore no longer hot and raw-crunchy.

Our mains looked good. The risotto was nice. The eye fillet was dry and chewy, well-past being well done. The lamb was cold, sinewy and raw -not rare - raw.
The wait staff did not do the customary check if everything was okay, the waitress spent most of the time in the kitchen talking to the cooks and the maitre'd was busy behind the bar organizing the sugar sachets.

We ate quickly, now too late to leave and go elsewhere and no longer keen to try the desserts. At the till, the maitre'd asked if the meal was good and we expressed our concerns, and got an 'oh really?' - no offer of apology.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R0siePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VH184, Owner at York Street Cafe, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
C’mon Rosie… raw lamb rump! It was under-cooked and unacceptable, no question… but not raw! And, you have expressed a number of points that are simply incorrect. So, for the record the entire steak dish was eaten despite your description of it, as were the steamed vegetables and the risotto and the table docket confirms it did not take an hour and ten minutes to serve your meals.

We just had the busiest Easter week ever here in Albany and our small café served 25 guests that Saturday night and was still quite busy when the three of you walked in. You sat at Table 2 and ordered one beef fillet, one risotto with steamed vegetables and the lamb. Loic, the waiter who served you the meals, informed you that the meals would take some time to arrive as you did not order any entrees in the meanwhile. He told you the lamb would take approx 25 to 30 minutes, letting you know that you would have to wait, and he reported that the meals actually took 35 minutes. The vegetables arrived 3-4 minutes before your mains. You ate your meals and when finished immediately came up to the till to pay. When Loic asked if you had enjoyed the meal you complained about the lamb but not the beef. He was surprised because people really enjoy the lamb and it is a very popular dish, and in his French way he said “oh really” and his report on the matter stated that he apologised. You were quite rude to him and left the Café. When the kitchen checked the lamb it was definitely under-cooked, and unfortunately sometimes a cut of meat may not be up to an expected standard – meat is a natural product.

Loic in not a maître de, he is a French traveller but an experienced cafe waiter. He is also very popular with our guests and well liked for his professional approach. In response to your reference to the “cooks” … Louis is the kitchen hand/dishwasher; Joel is not a cook but a head chef, and the waiter “in the kitchen” was a young girl new to the job.

You have complained about everything to do with your dining experience but did not bring any of it to Loic’s attention even though he was always at the ready to address any concerns, and then you have expressed a number of opinions that are simply incorrect. The best apology I can offer, as Marco Pierre White said about such situations, is … go tell your friends.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed York Street Cafe also viewed

Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 
Albany, Western Australia
Albany, Western Australia
 

Been to York Street Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing