We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An OK hotel”
Review of Royal Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I try to stay as close to the centre of Busselton as possible when I am on business so I do prefer to stay here as long as the price is right - which needs to be $120 for 1 night or less.

Busselton is expensive to stay at and I prefer the Ibis or others but then they ask around $150 for a night. That is an ok rate for a Perth hotel, but for country in low season...

The biggest issue with this hotel is no free wifi. A lot of country motels / hotels are now offering free wifi so others need to lift their game.

The hotel overall is good. Comfortable with plenty of room and I am glad that they have added a TV downstairs as well as in the bedroom.

Couple of things for improvement :

(a) The aircon is upstairs so it basically has little effect on downstairs which can get very, very cold.
(b) The walls are very thin - I had a family staying next door and I was "entertained" by the children late at night.
(c) The bathroom is tiny - ok for a 1 night stay but it is smaller than some cruise ship bathrooms I have encountered.
(d) Wifi...need free wifi please


The good :

(a) The food for dinner in the restaurant is typical pub food and well priced. Although note that they do not offer breakfast...
(b) Location - hard to beat. To the right of the hotel is the main strip of Busselton (walking distance). Direct right is an HJ and McDonalds. Opposite is a Dominoes and a Thai takeaway and to the left is a KFC and Red Rooster. Just convenience here but if you are in a rush to get something it is right on your doorstep.
(c) Rooms - they are large (except the bathroom). There is a microwave and utensils in the kitchen which are handy as well.

I have stayed here several times and will continue to do so as long as I can get a rate at $120 or less for one night. Over that and it becomes somewhat more attractive to look at Ibis (although being a bit further out - much nicer rooms and each room has a spa).

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (103)
There are newer reviews for Royal Palms Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

Not really a resort but nice for the 1 night i stayed. Found it extremely noisy both external road noise and drunk people noise. Is right next door to a pub so i guess that is to be expected though. Room was comfortable, clean and good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AngeOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Relatively cheap nights stay $130. We had a room overlooking the pool. The place was clean and tidy...mostly (see below) and had everything you needed for a short stay. Kitchen with utensils, small lounge area, bedroom and bathroom upstairs with balcony. As I said, you get what you pay for...not much.
Downfalls, squeaky bed (even when not doing anything apart from sleeping), every time I rolled over the squeaking woke my partner up, only three really slim pillows provided, TV in bedroom too low to watch from pillows, toilet too close to hand basin (knees are touching), noisy traffic early in the morning, and we were unlucky enough to find used condoms in the bedside table, yuk!! The receptionist was kind enough to offer us an alternative room and they were unlucky enough to have to remove said condoms. Gross! I would have welcomed a discount on the accommodation or restaurant on this fact alone, but didn't happen.
Positives, good water pressure and large shower.
Would probably look for alternative accommodation when in Busselton again...unless I was desperate.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Kristina_Rose_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

My wife and I were looking for a place to stay as we travelled thru Busselton on our way home. We saw the Royal Palms Resort as we drove past and thought it looked good so we would give it a go.
Looks can be deceiving. The check in process was fine, the guy who did it for us was helpful and friendly and we thought things were great.
Sadly the room was not as good as it looked from the outside. The complex is in the carpark of the Ship Inn hotel, an old Busselton pub with a proud history, sadly the resort that has been added on doesn't develop that history.
On entry the smell was the first thing we noticed, then the stained carpet and the dirty and damaged walls.
There was a kitchenette that was quite well appointed with oven and cooktop, fridge, microwave and tea and coffee making facilities.
Also downstairs was a lounge area with a flat sceen TV, a 3 seater couch and table and chairs.
Upstairs was the bedroom and bathroom, the bedroom was very big with plenty of room, a queensize double bed, a smaller flat screen TV and an even smaller bathroom.
The bathroom was very cramped, I realise I'm quite tall but sitting on the toilet my knees were up against the hand basin, the designers could have taken a few extra feet out of the bedroom, had a good sized bathroom and the bedroom would have still been huge.
The bed was a 'cheapie' and as such quite uncomfortable, we both woke up with aching backs and hips after the nights sleep.
The location is close to the top of the main street, but is a fair distance from the beach, (over a kilometre away).
To sum up my feelings,Would I stay here again? No Way

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mundo61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We were welcomed by a very pleasant receptionist and secured our pre-booked room with the minimum of fuss. The accommodation is on 2 floors, the ground floor having a decently furnished lounge/ dining area and a well equipped kitchen. Upstairs is a decent bedroom that should have sacrificed a foot or so to improve the width of the bathroom area in which the proverbial cat could definitely not be swung! A decent sized balcony (ours overlooked the pool) completed the unit.
We had 2 evening meals in the restaurant, (you need to book if it is Steak night) on both occasions we had what we would describe as 'good pub grub' with friendly but slow service.
Surrounded by roads and fronting a busy one it is not the quietest place we have stayed but it is comfortable. A small swimming pool and palm trees do not, in our opinion, constitute a resort and the beach being a kilometre or so away through the town makes the inclusion of 'beach' in the name questionable. That said, it is a pleasant place to stay for two or three days whilst exploring the area. Border line 4 stars but the hyped named marked it down a tad for us.

Room Tip: Probably the rooms in the centre block facing the car park are the quietest? For outlook choose one...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BQ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Situated in the middle of this beautiful town, and very close to the famous wharf and beach. Sadly the bed was rock hard, many things like lights didn't work and the bathroom is very tiny. Staff friendly, food in the bistro is good. While we stayed there we were unable to use the pool. Traffic noise starts early in the morning. Staying midweek it is relatively quiet but as this hotel is attached to a historical pub I would suspect it is rather noisy in some rooms on weekends.

We would stay there again, midweek, if a better mattress was on the bed. No bedside lights, no curtains, only venetians which allowed all the lighting in at night and hot sun in the afternoon. Big frence doors open to balcony but no screens and windows do not open for ventilation at night. Choice of opening doors to allow sea breeze in or running air conditioner.

Discount at the bistro for those staying at the hotel (it is not a resort).

Bedroom, bathroom upstairs, living area downstairs. Not really child friendly.

Easy to hear neighbours talking. Furniture rather cheap and massed produced. Lounge very uncomfortable to sit in.

Room Tip: Rooms facing carpark get morning sun. Rooms facing pool get afternoon sun and winds, making them hot...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014 via mobile

In Busselton location is everything, and this plae, though clean and friendly, is quite literally on the wrong side of the tracks. Everyone wants the beach. The apartments here overlook either a cat park or a busy road and car dealership.

But for what it is, an adjunct to the core business of a busy family hotel, it provides comfortable, modern and clean accommodation.

And it was, admittedly, a last minute choice.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
645 reviews
3.8 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
479 reviews
19.3 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,424 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
1.9 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort

Address: 8 Albert St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range: £78 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms Resort is part of the Ship Inn, one of Busselton's oldest pubs, dating back to the early 1840's. Our rooms are perfect for short or long stays with spacious apartments complete with the luxury of fully contained kitchens and balconies. All are conveniently located close proximity to the hotel's pool, with easy access to all of the hotels facilities, such as our family friendly bistro, Public Bar, Restaurant Beer Garden, and Lounge Bar. Situated in Busselton, known as the gateway to the Margaret River Wine region, guests are a short walk away from a host of activities such as the towns shopping precinct and local movie theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing