We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its in a car park!”
Review of Royal Palms Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Royal Palms Resort
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Reviewed 5 November 2010

I found this hotel on wotif and fortunately got a pretty good rate. Thats the upside. No one mentioned that the 'resort' ( and I use that word loosely) is in the middle of a pub car park!! A pub that had a DJ blasting away until one on the morning, with the bass on overdrive, the doof doof vibrating through the room and patrons coming and going until all hours, car doors slamming, yelling, you get the picture. Rooms are quite nice and clean, although not as roomy as the pics suggest. The bed was a killer, I had back pain for 3 days afterwards.
I was hugely disappointed as we had planned a nice weekend away but it was spoilt by no sleep and way to much noise.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieMeadows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 146 reviews

Reviewed 24 September 2010

We were passing though Busselton on the way back to Perth and decided to stay the night at the Royal Palms. They gave us a great rate for the night which was far cheaper then anything else comparable in town. The room is like a small town house with the bedroom and bathroom upstairs. Downstairs is the kitchen and lounge room setup. The building is very new and clean. We found the design somewhat awkward but for an over night stay it didnt really matter. The location is perfect with the main street a short walk away and Mc Donalds with free internet. Internet at the room is expensive although for western australia this is normal. The state is a internet dead spot unless you want to pay a lot for access. Really not much to complain about at the Royal and we would stay again if we ever find ourselves in Busselton

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carshamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2010

we stayed here for 3 nights . the rooms are new and very comfortable with foxtel. all the rooms have balconys and our room had a poolview.
we had a meal at the restuarant and the food was excellent i would reccomend the lamb shanks.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LacabanaBali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2010

We paid $200 for a 'deluxe' townhouse for one night only to find there was no hot water. Tried to ring Reception but there was no answer. We were due out at a function, and had to use a shower at a relative's house. Tried to phone Reception the following morning without result, and had to resort to phoning the external number to get an answer. The response was that possibly other guests were showering at the same time, however despite the fact that a 'deluxe' hotel should be able to provide hot water each and every time, I was able to demonstrate clearly that in fact the room had no hot water. Was then given a key to another room so we could shower. My friends staying next door had booked a room and asked for two beds, only to find a bed upstairs and a sofa bed downstairs - which she was expected to make. I found the manager's attitude rude and unapologetic and we would certainly never stay there again. Luckily I have been able to tell my relatives in the town, so they can pass our experience on to others.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JosGibson1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2010

I shortlisted this place after looking online at many hotels in the area. Seeing it had been recently refurbished, it seemed like it would be a nice place to stay and would suit our needs. It was in a convenient location in Busselton, close to the main strip and close to the beach. However, over the course of our two night stay, we discovered several little things that were missing from what we'd expected. For example, there was no hairdryer in the room, despite the room description stating there was one. The bathroom was also very tiny and although I'm not a big person, I had to sit sideways on the toilet to avoid banging my knees on the vanity as it was so close! We also did not get handtowels or facewashers; only two bath towels and a floor towel. One of the lamps in the bedroom was not working and despite removing the globe and leaving it on the bedside table, it was not replaced when our room was serviced. The bed was very hard as well, so a good night's sleep was not so good. I found the service at reception very brief on the two occasions I dealt with them. Overall, this was a disappointing hotel stay and we won't be staying there again, nor would we recommend it to others. It turned what was supposed to be a relaxing trip into quite a disappointment.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tinktink22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

My partner and i stayed in room 21 for the long weekend. The room was nice, clean and newish.
However the service at hotel was shocking, it seem like they had no experience on how to treat guests or run a hotel.
The 1st night we wanted to cook our steaks on a bbq, i remember seeing a bbq in a outdoor area near the reception. We went down to use the bbq that night and just after we put our steaks on were approached by a waiter who was in the restaurant just near the outdoor area. He asked if everything was going ok.
Then after about 10 mins the hotel manager and receptionist had come out saying we were not allowed to use the bbq and wanted us to take our food off. They asked us who said you could use this?
We said no one, its in a outdoor area so we thought we could use it. we have been to resorts and hotels before where there is a public bbq for the guests to use as they wish. The manager said it was a $200 charge to use the bbq because they wheel it around to peoples rooms and they can use it for the weekend. we said there was no sign so how were we supposed to know?
$200!! We could not belive it, we thought it was a joke. Then they asked us who is going to clean the bbq? We said its not our problem. This went on for a good 5 mins until - we refused to take our food off and we deffinatley were not going to pay $200 to use it. we could buy our own bbq for $200! it was just Ridiculous! they then told us that we could not consume the food in the bbq/outdoor area and that we had to take it back to our room.

we thought it was fine that they didnt want us to use the bbq but the way they approched us and spoke to us was really rude.

The next day after we had drove to Margaret river for lunch i got a call from the receptionist saying we havnt checked out yet and that the cleaner has checked out room and our bags are still in there. She asked if we could come back to the hotel and get our stuff out so that the room can be cleaned. I told her i had booked 2 nights and we still had 1 night left. We paid $400 for 2 nights. She said she will check her bookings and call me back.

She called me back half an hour later and said that i was correct and that i still have 1 night left. The service was disgusting, shouldn’t she have checked the booking before calling me and telling me to get my stuff out of the room?

We had gone for a walk the next morning and had a laugh after seeing the bbq. they had put a sign on the bbq it said “please dont not use” haha!

i would not recommend staying here, the staff have no idea about customer service.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank robboyobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2010

The hotel is brand new refurbished. We had rooms on two floors right next to the pool and the rooms were awesome. The restaurant is excellent and the service outstanding. Unfortunately we had not been told, that breakfast is only available if ordered in advance. The pool was not serviced very well and full of little mosquite larves. The bathroom was very nice and extraordinary clean but may be a little bit small.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caipimichl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Busselton
3.8 mi away
Bayview Geographe Resort
Bayview Geographe Resort
#8 of 14 in Busselton
495 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
663 reviews
19.3 mi away
Pullman Bunker Bay Resort Margaret River Region
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,484 reviews
3.6 mi away
Broadwater Beach Resort Busselton
4 mi away
Aqua Resort Busselton
Aqua Resort Busselton
#1 of 14 in Busselton
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Palms Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Palms Resort

Address: 8 Albert St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Busselton
Price Range: £89 - £154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Royal Palms Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Palms Resort is part of the Ship Inn, one of Busselton's oldest pubs, dating back to the early 1840's. Our rooms are perfect for short or long stays with spacious apartments complete with the luxury of fully contained kitchens and balconies. All are conveniently located close proximity to the hotel's pool, with easy access to all of the hotels facilities, such as our family friendly bistro, Public Bar, Restaurant Beer Garden, and Lounge Bar. Situated in Busselton, known as the gateway to the Margaret River Wine region, guests are a short walk away from a host of activities such as the towns shopping precinct and local movie theatre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Royal Palms Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing