We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Years eve at the Busselton observatory”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Observatory Guest House
Ranked #3 of 15 Busselton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

My husband and I spent one night here on the 31st December 2012. Great location just a couple of minutes walk from the beach and the iconic Busselton Jetty plus a great hotel, The Esplanade, just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable and air conditioned with tea and coffee facilities.
Breakfast is continental and you help yourself which means you can go at any time. We did not get to meet the owners as he is fly in fly out and does not live on the premises but we did get to meet the cleaning lady who was lovely, friendly and would be happy to advise non locals about the area.Everything you could want is available but it is a matter of helping yourself which as far as we are concerned is no problem at all. Heaps of parking available out the back and on the verge.

Room Tip: We had room 2 which is at the front and upstairs with easy access to the balcony. There is a caravan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Shelley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2013

Shelley J

Hi

Thanks very much for staying with us for New Years Eve. We are very glad you enjoyed your accommodation and trust you had a very enjoyable evening to see in the New Year as well? We certainly did hence why I wasn’t down at the property early enough New Year’s day to meet you before you departed. I’m very sorry I didn’t get to catch up with you before you left as I make a point of meeting every guest that stays with us. So thanks again for choosing to stay with us, we are very happy you enjoyed your stay.

Oh and by the way the caravan park are the just the best neighbours ever, we often get surprised comments from guest on how peaceful and quite our location is.

Thanks again Shelly J, we hope you guys have a very happy new year.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We were quite disappointed with the Observatory Guesthouse. It looked very nice on their website, where it is advertised as "small family owned b&b". In fact, we did not see the owners at all - the key was in the mailbox and also on the next day there was no one there at all. The room was ok, but the walls are paper-thin - you could here the voices & TV noise from all the other rooms. What's more, you could also here a lot of noise from the huge caravan park, which is 5m across the street. Would not stay there again. One more thing: There was a "for sale" sign outside, so you might want to check if it still operates or if there is new ownership.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philipp H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2012

Phillipp H

Hi

We are very sorry to hear you did not completely enjoy your stay with us in October. Yes we are a small family run business and as a family we have all the usual running around that most other families do, school drop off and pick up, after school sport, etc. We do not live at the property full time so we make a very concerted effort to meet and talk with all of our guests during their stay, and are successful on a large majority of occasions.

There is a bit of background noise between the rooms, but the property is a house not a concrete style hotel so a little bit of homely ambience is to be expected. As for the caravan park, it is very unusual to hear any noise out of them at all. And most certainly I have never experienced an issue with noise from there any later into the evening than 9 or 10 O’clock on the very odd occasion!
By far the most popular comments recorded in our guest book are comments on the quite and comfortable rooms and the beautiful restful sleep our guests have.

We are at the property everyday so as you only stayed for the one night I can only suggest that unfortunately our timings were out to be able to meet you properly. And if there was noise from the caravan park after the normal 10 O’clock curfew I can only apologise.

Yes the property is for sale if anyone is looking for a beautiful Busselton property in a fantastic location? The business has continued through the previous 4 owners and will be sold as an ongoing business. All bookings whether for next week or next year will be honoured so no one needs to check before booking.

Once again we are very sorry you didn’t completely enjoy your stay with us Phillipp. I wish you all the best in the rest of your travels around Australia.

Cheers

Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Very disappointed with breakfast as only had cereal and toast but stated cooked breakfast and that was confirmed with fellow guests while having breakfast. Other than that it was good

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Philome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Philome
Hi
We are so very disappointed that you received the incorrect information regarding breakfast options during your recent stay with us.
We had previously offered a cooked breakfast option but we are a very small business and have been affected particularly hard by the global recession. Late last year we took the decision to restructure our business.
We removed the cooked breakfast option and reorganised the continental into a self service. We believe the continental menu we offer is extensive and as it is an “eat until you are full” arrangement it is great value when combined with our highly appointed and comfortable rooms.

We have our property advertised online across dozens of online booking engines. After our restructure we changed our property descriptions and list of services to suit our new arrangement on all of our online booking engines.

After your review I checked every one of these sites and found one that has remained unchanged and still quotes our old breakfast options. I had submitted a change to this site previously and had been replied by them that the change was completed but once I rechecked my page on their site I see that this was not the case.
I have of course resubmitted the change and have made contact directly with the website owners regarding this matter.

We are once again deeply distressed that you had an issue with your stay with us at our beautiful property. But we are also happy to see you enjoyed everything else while you were with us.

Please accept our deepest apologies, we felt and little powerless in this situation but ultimately we are responsible the accuracy of our advertised descriptions; the rouge misinformation will be changed as soon as the website owner can attend to it.

Thank you very much for staying with us and for your comments.

With thanks
Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Great location, only several mins walk from the beach & jetty, 2 blocks from the main strip. Clean, quiet & relaxing. Dining room & kitchenette facilities downstairs that is available anytime. Brad is an excellent host, very friendly, helpfull & he even let us park our motorbikes in the garage as it was wet outside. Would definitely return next time im in Busselton.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moj0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

MojO
Hi
Thanks for staying with us.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, despite the weather. May is probably getting into the weather that’s not all that flash for bike riding but it all turned out OK in the end. How was the ride back home, a little wet maybe? You obviously got back OK.
Thanks again guys, hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Clean, comfortable and quiet, yet close to the main drag & the waterfront. Perfect for a weekend away.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MandGC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

MandGC
Hi
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your comments.
Yes our location is one of the things that sets us apart from the rest, like you said “Perfect”
Thanks again
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Decent location.. and quiet .. easy parking, well equippred room.. Don't go if you want pampering.. The hosts are off site and they set up breakfast in advance so its fairly standard fare but perfectly adequate. Nice area to sit including verandah and a just over five minute walk from town centre and the famous jetty.

Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank alanCheshireEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

AlancheshireEngland
Hi
Thanks for staying with us and thanks for your comments.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay. And it’s a hard one to pick with the “pampering” thing. Some people would sit and talk all day where others prefer to keep to themselves. We try and gauge it either way and accommodate both styles if we can. We always like to connect with our guests and what ever level they are comfortable with.
Thanks again for staying and for you comments.
Cheers
Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

I stayed in 6 B&Bs across southern WA in 7 days and this one was my favorite. Sandra was the perfect host - welcoming, friendly and efficient. The room was stylish and comfortable with every little guest need being thought of (the ice bucket a case in point). The outdoor deck areas both on the ground floor and upstairs provided a nice place for an outdoor takeaway dinner. The jetty and main street are in easy walking distance. I wish I could have stayed a little longer.

Stayed: March 2012
1  Thank mjhSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ObservGuesthouse, Owner at Observatory Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

mjhSydney
Hi
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your comments. It means a lot to us when we get compared to our peers in the region and come out on top. We believe we have quality accommodation and provide an efficient friendly service and your review has confirmed it. It’s so nice to hear that you are doing things right.
Thank you again. Hope to see you again some day soon?
Brad & Sandra Walker

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Busselton hotels
4.1 mi away
The Sebel Busselton
The Sebel Busselton
#3 of 14 in Busselton
650 reviews
4.4 mi away
Abbey Beach Resort
Abbey Beach Resort
#4 of 14 in Busselton
1,435 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amalfi Resort
Amalfi Resort
#2 of 14 in Busselton
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Gale Street Motel & Villas
Gale Street Motel & Villas
#5 of 14 in Busselton
136 reviews
1.1 mi away
Baudins of Busselton
Baudins of Busselton
#1 of 15 in Busselton
491 reviews
4.0 mi away
Inn the Tuarts Guest Lodge Busselton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Observatory Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Observatory Guest House

Address: 7 Brown St, Busselton, Western Australia 6280, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Western Australia > Busselton
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Busselton
Price Range: £81 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Observatory Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Observatory Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing